We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (436)
Filter reviews
436 results
Traveller rating
214
158
45
8
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
214
158
45
8
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews train station street view large luggage tiny lift arriving by train bathroom shower breakfast room family room checking out excellent location night's sleep ponte vecchio balcony supermarket furniture city firenze
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
46 - 51 of 436 reviews
Reviewed 29 August 2016

Florence is a city which can be explored on foot. We specifically wanted to stay in a hotel which was close to the station because we wanted to visit Pisa and Cinque Terre while staying here and did not want to walk a lot to the station. We chose Berna based on the reviews here and we were not disappointed. The room was very clean and air conditioned, something that we missed in Switzerland. The staff was polite, kind and helpful. The breakfast was good also. Overall, this is a good hotel. The only downside is that there are no street signs for this hotel so we were sort of lost trying to find it until one local Samaritan showed us this hotel.You will not find any signs of hotel and do not expect people to know Hotel Berna (as they recognize Marriott or Hilton here in the states) because Florence has hotels on virtually every street.

Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Logophiile
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Nadia D, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Berna, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2016

We have no words to thank you for this wonderful review.
We always try to pamper our customers so that they feel a bit 'like home, and know that this has helped to make your weekend special is a great pride for us.

Your warmth and your sweetness comforts us and encourages us to improve even more.

We hope to have in the near future, the pleasure of welcoming you again :-)

Thank you again!
Nadia & Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2016

Arrived in Florence and started looking for this place. No sign outside. Light fixtures hanging on wall by one cord. Keys to room hard to use. Close to main train station and restaurants and Academia gallery as well as Duomo. BEWARE OF TAXI drivers in Florence, THEY ARE CROOKS.

Date of stay: April 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Barry N
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 10 June 2016 via mobile

If you have nothing nice to say, keep your mouth shut. Don't stay here! No air conditioning even though they said they had it. Mini fridge not working. Girl at desk gave excuse after excuse. Very flippant about our inquiries. At least Hotels.com gave us a credit back for this stay.

Date of stay: June 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank KatyVBQueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 6 May 2016

My first impression upon stepping into the building, was 'Oh, no. Did I make a mistake?' The building also houses 2 other B&Bs and the lobby was really bare and cold. The lobby was old and the elevator tiny. We had to go up 1 at a time with a bag each. But, at least, there was an elevator!! But once you get to Hotel Berna's lobby, everything changes. The receptionist was all smiles and helpful. The room we got was nice and clean. The furnishings were antiques I think. Looks old but good condition and really nice. It gives the room a quaint, rustic feel. Only complaint I have is that because it was April, they did not operate the air-conditioning. That meant we slept with the windows slightly open. But that's when the street noise gets to you. I am not a light sleeper and yet, I did not get a good night's sleep for the 3 nights we stayed. Looking at their floor plan, I suspect most of their rooms faced the street. I would suggest you request for a room away from the street, if possible.

Breakfast was simple and nice. A selection of breads and cereals. The lady serving was really nice.

There is a supermarket just one or two shops away from the hotel if you need to pick up anything.

The hotel is also location near the SMN station which makes it very convenient.

Date of stay: April 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LibraGalSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Nadia D, Responsabile reception at Hotel Berna, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2016

Dear LIBRAGALS
Thank you for choosing "Hotel Berna" for your holidays in Florence.
We would like to express our sincerest thanks for the words you wrote regarding our b/b.
We always hope that our friendly and informal way to help our clients is appreciated.
Thank you agian for your collaboration.
Kindest regards
Nadia & Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2016

This hotel is a five minute walk to the train station, convenient to longer distanced trains, and the airport. It is also a very short ride on the metro to the central square. They front desk even sells tickets so you don't deal with lines and machines at the station.
There are a few nice restaurants within walking distance of the hotel for dinner recommended by the hotel desk,
Included breakfast was one of the best, many choices of fruit, cheese, breads and pastries, and juices.
We choose the cheapest room since our stay was only 2 days, but there are several types of more expensive rooms which looked nice for longer stays.
There is water, tea, and coffee available in the lobby, and there is a free mini bar in the room with soft drinks and water. These are not amenities usually found in American hotel.
You get choices of pillows, mattresses, etc., not always necessary in my opinion.
The room was a little small, but those who want a little more luxury, go for the fancier room.
conceriege was,excellent and desk staff pleasant.
I see no reason not to book this hotel while in Venice.

Room tip: Reserved directly from the hotel, they send you emails welcoming you and asking you pillow and mattress choices.
Date of stay: April 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank helsmith23
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews