We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Stay”
Review of Hotel Berna

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Berna
Ranked #119 of 657 Florence B&B and Inns
Reviewed 29 October 2011

This is the best hotel I have stayed on my trip in Italy. Very spacious room and clean bathroom. The bed is large and comfortable. The room is so clean. The location is excellent as it is close to the train station, supermarket, SITA bus stop and other attractions. It is located in a pretty safe area. Francesca and her team are excellent. She is always so helpful. There was one morning that we had to catch a very early train to Cinque Terre, and Francesca prepared some pastry and yogurt in our room the day before. So that we could have our breakfast before leaving for the train.

If you can always let her know the estimated time of arrival ahead of time on the email, she and her team will try to get the room ready for you.

Francesca, you are amazing! I will definitely come back to Florence and stay at Hotel Berna next year.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ottimo_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bernahotel, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Berna, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2011

The location is good, close to the central station ..thank you....it's true..!
Francesca (the crazy ) to solve any problem.
any problem...????wowo
bacio da Firenze

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (352)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

119 - 123 of 352 reviews

Reviewed 28 October 2011

Stayed at the hotel for four nights and it was a wonderful experience! Rooms are reasonably sized with adequate facilities. Location of hotel is fantastic as it is right beside SMN station. Francesca is extremely helpful and provides great service! Thanks and keep up the good work.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SC_LEE09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2011

The hotel is a great place to stay in with it's great location near santa maria novelle station and a supermarket located beside it. Francesca and her team were very friendly and hospitable making our stay in Florence very enjoyable. There is free wifi, kettle, fridge and hair dryer available in the room.

They were the only hotel that we stayed in Europe that served brownies and drinks upon our check in and have a mini bar with coffee and tea that is free for hotel guest. Breakfast was good with a range of pastries and beverages for guest to select. My dad enjoyed the Cappuccino which Francesca would delight in making a good cup of coffee for their guests. Overall is an excellent hotel to stay in.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank meips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2011

When we checked in, they wanted us to treat the hotel as our home for a few days and gave us the keys. They could not have been nicer. The morning breakfasts are great. The location is nice, right around the corner from the train station and within walking distance of everything in the city.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mary K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2011

Francesca and her team are what really make this B&B as special as it is. From the moment we rang the bell and she answered greeting us by name, it didn't disappoint. The rooms are on the third floor of a modern office type building one block from Santa Maria Novella train station. There is a small lift, with enough room for one person and luggage. The rooms are very nice, clean and comfortable and ours had a lovely balcony. They have in room safes and excellent WiFi. When we arrived Francesca came in personally and showed us how to use everything, like the remote, air conditioning and hair dryer. She then brought in beverages and cakes for us. She provided great advice, with maps and directions to major sites. Breakfast was excellent, all homemade with a choice of delicious food and coffees. I would come back here in a minute!

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank sunnyalberta27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Hotel Ester
Hotel Ester
#171 of 410 in Florence
432 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Cosimo de' Medici
Hotel Cosimo de' Medici
#83 of 410 in Florence
1,196 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Montreal
Hotel Montreal
#195 of 410 in Florence
701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Maria Novella
Aurora Hotel
Aurora Hotel
#169 of 410 in Florence
395 reviews
San Lorenzo
La Residenza dell'Orafo
La Residenza dell'Orafo
#58 of 657 in Florence
583 reviews
San Lorenzo
Affittacamere Alba
Affittacamere Alba
#194 of 657 in Florence
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Berna? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Berna

Address: Largo Fratelli Alinari 11 | Santa Maria Novella, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #119 of 657 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price Range: ₹ 4,740 - ₹ 12,461 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Berna 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in the Heart of Florence – Great location – show map Just 275 m from Florence's Santa Maria Novella Station, Hotel Berna features spacious rooms with free Wi-Fi, parquet floors, and an electric teakettle. You can walk to the cathedral in 10 minutes. Air-conditioned rooms come equipped with classic furnishings, double-glazed windows, and a flat screen TV. Each features a private bathroom, complete with shower, hairdryer, and toiletries. Breakfast at Berna Hotel is buffet style including freshly baked croissants, pastries, and fresh fruit along with juices. It is served daily in the breakfast room with hardwood floors and red fabrics The Uffizi Gallery is reachable by foot in 15 minutes, as is Ponte Vecchio. The Medici Chapel is a quarter mile away. San Lorenzo is a great choice for travelers interested in cathedrals, food and art. This is our guests' favorite part of Florence, according to independent reviews. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Berna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berna Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing