We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“3 star hotel? 2. Maybe.” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel La Gioconda

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel La Gioconda
Ranked #392 of 422 Hotels in Florence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“3 star hotel? 2. Maybe.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2011

A quiet hotel, if your room is not on the street, but one that needs a total refresh. While the room was clean the carpets in the halls and stairs were disgusting. Breakfast was adequate. Florence is small so of course the location was convenient. No elevator and limited lighting. Beds need new mattresses and the tv could offer at least one non-Italian station. Okay for youngsters but adults deserve better.

Room Tip: Go for a low floor, away from the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tuktukcanuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

422 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    47
    102
    110
    147
See reviews for
66
220
7
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Geelong, Victoria, Australia
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2011

We recently stayed 5 nights at la Gioconda , via Panzani in Florence. Although it was very conveniently located close to the Duomo and the San Lorenzo area, it offered very little other than basic cleanliness. Everything about the hotel was tired and rundown.The breakfast was very ordinairy, there was no lobby or communal area for conversing with our travel companions,and there were many mosquitos, despite keeping the windows closed.There is a charge for wi-fi and we were charged 5 euros just for asking for the password even though we didn't access the internet. This is not a hotel I would recommend to other travellers.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Florence hotels

Sacramento, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2011

My boyfriend and I stayed 4 nights at this hotel and LOVED it! The breakfast included a lot of options but the best part was that the hotel had a deal going where we got 30% off if we stayed more than 3 nights (as our plan was already 4 nights, it was perfect for us. As broke college students, the discount made it possible for us to stay here) =)

The air conditioning worked wonderfully too, which was a lifesaver in the August heat.

The staff provided excellent service- they were incredibly nice, outgoing and one of the night staff members taught us some Italian.

While everything was amazing, the best part was definitely the location! If you want to be in a centrally located hotel, this is the place to go. After spending the weekend in Rome at a hotel way out in the middle of nowhere, this hotel was paradise. We were 2 minutes from the Santa Maria Novella Basilica and train station, and 3 minutes in the other direction from the Duomo. Literally-- we could lean out of our room window and see the Duomo.

It was an incredible hotel and I would recommend it to anyone traveling in Florence.

Room Tip: Room 20 is the room where the stolen Mona Lisa was recovered in 1911.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kantner12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2011

The hotel is display as 3 stars but an hostel is better. I have booked a 3 stars in order to enjoy a nice holiday with parents and in-law but this hotel was a disaster, better a cheap B&B in Rome.
Hotel says 3 stars, so I was expected to have some confort but:
- shower was just a courtain in the bathroom and/or a dirty tube with no antidrops.
- no hairdryiers available,
- lots of mosquitos and no repellent plugs
- breakfast very poor with a jar of milk (supposely warm) on a small table and another jar of burned coffee (NO ITALIAN TYPE!!!)
- cheap food
- carpet very old and dirty
- air conditioners very noisy.
- The hotel says to have parking but I had to pay 24 € per day!!!
- Plus at 8:45 I went for breakfast and cleaner was already cleaning, so when we come back we had to wait: they should wait i give the key to the porter!!!!
All inclusive with the kindness typical of Italian people (or some of them)!!!!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mezzalaira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2010

We got an amazing deal on this hotel and therefore I can say that we really got good value for our money. It is a no frills hotel, but is clean and there is A/C in the rooms (which we were happy about). Very close to the city center and to the train station. We enjoyed our stay. It was exactly what we were looking for: a bed to sleep at night once our legs were exhausted from walking all day!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elanou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Hotel Delle Tele
Hotel Delle Tele
#222 of 422 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
Relais Firenze Stibbert
#107 of 647 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
Chez Moi
#175 of 647 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Piazzale Michelangelo
B&B Soggiorno Petrarca
B&B Soggiorno Petrarca
#475 of 647 in Florence
3.5 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
B&B A Casa di Virgilio
#102 of 647 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
Soggiorno Madrid
#530 of 647 in Florence
3.5 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Gioconda? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Gioconda

Property: Hotel La Gioconda
Address: Via Panzani 2, 50123, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #392 of 422 Hotels in Florence
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,591
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Gioconda 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the historic heart of Florence, at a few steps from the Duomo and from Santa Maria Novella, at 3 minutes from elegant Via Tornabuoni and San Lorenzo, the refined and historic rooms of Hotel La Gioconda welcome guests with typical Florentine friendliness but also with very modern comforts and impeccable services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your Hotel La Gioconda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Gioconda Hotel
La Gioconda Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing