We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“small and friendly”
Review of Hotel River

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel River
Ranked #95 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
highlands of scotland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“small and friendly”
Reviewed 31 March 2012

We took a taxi from Santa Maria Novello Station (12 euros) to the hotel as after travelling we really didn't want to waste time negotiating the bus/tram system. The reception staff were friendly and we were given a room in the 'garden' which is actually part of a little courtyard with several rooms leading off it, very handy for the breakfast room.
The room was clean and nicely decorated, typically Florentine and is part of the Best Western Chain. The hotel is quite small (38 rooms) which was nice as the staff got to know you. Only thing lacking was tea/coffee making facilities in the room but these can be requested FOC at reception. The shower was amazing and the bed was large but firm. Could have done with more pillows though. If you do book a garden room be sure to check the TV instructions as these are different to the main hotel rooms as we found out after 2 days! If your return flight is later in the day, leave your bags at the hotel and enjoy your final hours in Florence. Upon check in reception staff gave us a map and marked our hotel on it and highlighted the main sites of interest.
Breakfast was simple but ample, fresh fruit, yoghurt, coffee/tea, croissants and meat/cheese selection.
Its a 10 minute stroll along the River Arno to the centre of Florence where all the main attractions are within easy distance of each other. Sensible, comfortable shoes are a necessity as the pavements and roads are very uneven which all adds to the rustic charm of the city. If you plan to visit the Uffizi then its worth booking your ticket a day or 2 in advance if you can and get there early. We arrived on Tuesday and bought our tickets for 10am Thursday and pretty much walked straight in.
Along the river and between the Vecchio and the Uffizi there are lots of artists selling local paintings, be prepared to negotiate them down in price as they can be pricey. The Baldovino restaurant which is a couple of streets behind the hotel is nice and reasonably priced. Not the fastest but gives you plenty time to sample the Chianti. If you want to push the boat out a little then I strongly advise Trattoria Il Porcospino, a fantastic restaurant with briliant waiters and amazing food, well worth the money!
If you want to invest in a guide book we found the Lonely Planet version to be more detailed in its descriptions of the works in the Uffizi as the information supplied in the musuem itself is quite sparse and deals more with the artist than about the piece of art itself.
We packed most of the major sights in over 2 and a half days but would love to return to spend more time there and find the little places we didn't get the chance to see. If you are in need of a coffee after a museum trip, coffee in the Gucci Museum was BETTER priced than the little cafes around the square.

Room Tip: If you are a smoker then request a room in the garden where there is a dedicated smoking area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank soulsister331
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simone C, Direttore at Hotel River, responded to this review, 28 May 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at the Hotel River and for posting such a nice comment.

Please know that we have recently renovated the Hotel, its facilities and services and in case you return to visit us we will be able to make your stay even more pleasant.
Sincerely

LHP - Hotel River
Florence
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

798 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    301
    345
    106
    33
    13
See reviews for
152
394
18
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Andover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
265 reviews
146 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2012

Very friendly and helpful reception. Nice location at the river. Old building, but clean. No restaurant or extras in the hotel. Room was clean, though carpeted. Temperature adjustable: window could be opened and heater regulated. Bed fine and silent room. Bathroom fine, nothing special.
All in all nothing special, but fine and for a good price.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank squizz20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simone C, Direttore at Hotel River, responded to this review, 28 May 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at the Hotel River and for posting your comment.

Please know that we have (03/2016) completely renovated the hotel, many facilities and services.

Sincerely

LHP - Hotel River
Florence
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andalucia, Spain
Level Contributor
66 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2012

I do not have much bad as such to say for the hotel, it is a little basic but then it is not 5*, the welcome was polite and helpful, parking is a little problem as outside the hotel the charge is 3 euros per hour flat rate, although the hotel can arrange for your car to be collected and parked in secure parking for 25 euros per day. The room was a little small and a slight odour that enimated from the bathroom; when having a shower the water came out of the shower onto the bathroom floor soaking it. Breakfast was a little basic but not bad. Do not get any laundry done, the hotel sends it out and the prices are crazy; we had been travelling so needed to get some washing and it came to more than a night in the hotel!

It's about a 20 minutes walk to most of the main attractions in Flroence, good and bad I guess, as was in a quite area but meant a walk to the sites.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PhilVon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simone C, Direttore at Hotel River, responded to this review, 28 May 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at the Hotel River and for posting your comment.

Please know that we have (03/2016) completely renovated the hotel, many facilities and services.

Sincerely

LHP - Hotel River
Florence
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2012

We stayed here as a family. The triple room had a nice tall painted ceiling and a view of the Arno. The bathrooms were nicely appointed as well.

The breakfast was decent. The staff helped us pick restaurants in the area.

Even though it was a short walk from the sites of Florence, we could drive our car to the hotel and get it parked.

Room Tip: Get a river view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank monkAustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simone C, Direttore at Hotel River, responded to this review, 28 May 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at the Hotel River and for posting such a nice comment.

Please know that we have recently renovated the Hotel, its facilities and services and in case you return to visit us we will be able to make your stay even more pleasant.
Sincerely

LHP - Hotel River
Florence
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shelton, Washington
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2011

Despite being under construction on the Arno river side this hotel was a pleasure to stay at. The lobby has warm woodworking and marble to great you besides some cherubs dangling from the ceiling. The staff has good English and is warm and informative.The rooms are of nice size and well appointed with a nice courtyard within the building. The breakfast was in the lowest level but had a sunroom nearby connecting to the courtyard if the weather was nice and the food was very good. A balky shower door was our only complaint but the towels and heaters for them were great and the location is a nice walk to restaurants and shops. We really enjoyed Alessio and Fabrizio, who makes a great drink in the bar.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gregoryA60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simone C, Direttore at Hotel River, responded to this review, 28 May 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at the Hotel River and for posting such a nice comment.

Please know that we have recently renovated the Hotel, its facilities and services and in case you return to visit us we will be able to make your stay even more pleasant.
Sincerely

LHP - Hotel River
Florence
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Croce
Hotel Home Florence
Hotel Home Florence
#90 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 633 reviews
Santa Croce
Plaza Lucchesi Hotel
Plaza Lucchesi Hotel
#52 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,476 reviews
Cosmopolitan Concept Hotel
#116 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Croce
Hotel Privilege
Hotel Privilege
#164 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
Pitti
Pitti Palace al Ponte Vecchio
Uffizi
Hotel Hermitage
Hotel Hermitage
#71 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel River? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel River

Property: Hotel River
Address: Lungarno della Zecca Vecchia 18, 50122, Florence, Italy (Formerly BEST WESTERN Hotel River)
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Croce
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#58 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#108 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#125 Family Hotel in Florence
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,985 - ₹ 20,814
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel River 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, ACCOR and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel River reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing