We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel River
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Lungarno(Florence)
US$ 600
US$ 581
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$ 306
MGallery
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
US$ 493
US$ 372
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Orto De Medici(Florence)
US$ 217
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$ 935
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Hotel David(Florence)
US$ 279
US$ 236
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel dei Macchiaioli(Florence)(Great Value!)
US$ 194
US$ 188
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
San Firenze Suites & Spa(Florence)
US$ 470
US$ 457
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
US$ 253
US$ 228
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$ 364
US$ 337
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (961)
Filter reviews
961 results
Traveller rating
372
404
130
36
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
372
404
130
36
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsminute walkoverlooking the riversanta croceroof terracesmall courtyardlovely hotelthe hotel staffair conshort breakpastriesfourth floorcontinental breakfasttrain stationsuperior roompiazzale michelangelomain attractionsquiet location
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
474 - 479 of 961 reviews
Reviewed 12 February 2012

Very friendly and helpful reception. Nice location at the river. Old building, but clean. No restaurant or extras in the hotel. Room was clean, though carpeted. Temperature adjustable: window could be opened and heater regulated. Bed fine and silent room. Bathroom fine, nothing special.
All in all nothing special, but fine and for a good price.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank squizz20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simone C, Direttore at Hotel River, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2016

Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at the Hotel River and for posting your comment.

Please know that we have (03/2016) completely renovated the hotel, many facilities and services.

Sincerely

LHP - Hotel River
Florence

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2012

I do not have much bad as such to say for the hotel, it is a little basic but then it is not 5*, the welcome was polite and helpful, parking is a little problem as outside the hotel the charge is 3 euros per hour flat rate, although the hotel can arrange for your car to be collected and parked in secure parking for 25 euros per day. The room was a little small and a slight odour that enimated from the bathroom; when having a shower the water came out of the shower onto the bathroom floor soaking it. Breakfast was a little basic but not bad. Do not get any laundry done, the hotel sends it out and the prices are crazy; we had been travelling so needed to get some washing and it came to more than a night in the hotel!

It's about a 20 minutes walk to most of the main attractions in Flroence, good and bad I guess, as was in a quite area but meant a walk to the sites.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PhilVon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simone C, Direttore at Hotel River, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2016

Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at the Hotel River and for posting your comment.

Please know that we have (03/2016) completely renovated the hotel, many facilities and services.

Sincerely

LHP - Hotel River
Florence

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2012

We stayed here as a family. The triple room had a nice tall painted ceiling and a view of the Arno. The bathrooms were nicely appointed as well.

The breakfast was decent. The staff helped us pick restaurants in the area.

Even though it was a short walk from the sites of Florence, we could drive our car to the hotel and get it parked.

Room Tip: Get a river view room.
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank monkAustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simone C, Direttore at Hotel River, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2016

Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at the Hotel River and for posting such a nice comment.

Please know that we have recently renovated the Hotel, its facilities and services and in case you return to visit us we will be able to make your stay even more pleasant.
Sincerely

LHP - Hotel River
Florence

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2011

Despite being under construction on the Arno river side this hotel was a pleasure to stay at. The lobby has warm woodworking and marble to great you besides some cherubs dangling from the ceiling. The staff has good English and is warm and informative.The rooms are of nice size and well appointed with a nice courtyard within the building. The breakfast was in the lowest level but had a sunroom nearby connecting to the courtyard if the weather was nice and the food was very good. A balky shower door was our only complaint but the towels and heaters for them were great and the location is a nice walk to restaurants and shops. We really enjoyed Alessio and Fabrizio, who makes a great drink in the bar.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank gregoryA60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simone C, Direttore at Hotel River, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2016

Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at the Hotel River and for posting such a nice comment.

Please know that we have recently renovated the Hotel, its facilities and services and in case you return to visit us we will be able to make your stay even more pleasant.
Sincerely

LHP - Hotel River
Florence

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2011

After viewing this hotel's website, I had great expectations of this hotel, but I was somewhat disappointed. Perhaps I was expecting too much.

When we arrived we were impressed by the exterior, the foyer and lounge areas which were very charming, and better than expected for a 3 star hotel. However our room in the basement area, even though it faced a pleasant courtyard, was dark and consequently felt dingy. Rooms with a river view may be much nicer, and there was a small terrace facing the river but this was very bare, unshaded and not very welcoming. They could do a lot more with this area.

The reception staff were polite and very helpful. Some were very nice, but others were rather aloof and lacked warmth. When you were asking for information, they gave the impression that they thought you were somewhat ignorant, and that they were putting themselves out to help.

Breakfast was quite good, but the breakfast room was small, and it can be difficult to find a table. Also the one staff member appeared to have problems coping with the demand.

Being located across from the river is good if you have one of the few rooms facing the river, or you sit on the very hot terrace, but is of little value otherwise. The hotel is on the edge of the tourist area, and it is a long hot walk to the main tourist attractions. However there is a bus stop outside for those who do not want to walk. There were no restaurants in the immediate area.

This hotel was the starting hotel for a tour we we taking. We booked extra pre tour accommodation, and possibly paid more than the market value for one of the basic rooms.

Room Tip: Try to get one of the river view rooms
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Philip K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simone C, Direttore at Hotel River, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2016

Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at the Hotel River and for posting your comment.

Please know that we have (03/2016) completely renovated the hotel, many facilities and services.

Sincerely

LHP - Hotel River
Florence

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews