We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 am - 4:30 pm
Save
Michelangelo' House and Santa Croce Basilica Private Tour
0 reviews

Book in advance
from
$176.93
per adult
Check availabilityView full product details
  
Ways to Experience Casa Buonarroti
from $294.58
More Info
from $516.84
More Info
Reviews (192)
Filter reviews
192 results
Traveller rating
53
75
44
17
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
53
75
44
17
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews early works young michelangelo michelangelo works second floor battle madonna drawing sculptures museum art galleries
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 192 reviews
Reviewed 10 October 2018

The house was owned, but never inhabited, by the great artist and now is converted to the museum dedicated to his work. The collection includes few of his earliest works, but more importantly this is the huge archive of his drawings, letters and sketches. For me, it was very interesting visit, where I felt a bit of a history and master’s geniality.

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank Borzov
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 30 September 2018

This house was built by Michelangelo's family AFTER his death. There are a few art pieces from Michelangelo's youth, a lot of paintings OF Michelangelo, some rooms decorated with period artwork and a room with lamps/pottery/statuary from ancient times.

One room is covered with large paintings of Michelangelo meeting with famous people during his life. The center ceiling shows him ascending to heaven. I guess the family was proud.

Unlike many of the attractions in Florence, this one is uncrowded and quiet.

I don't think I would have made the trip to this museum but we were in the neighborhood because we stopped for an excellent brunch at Le Vespa Cafe, which is just west of the Museum. Both are on Via Ghibellina, which is the street just north of the Bargello Museum. It's also just one block north from Santa Croce.

Date of experience: September 2018
1  Thank KarenfromChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 2 September 2018 via mobile

This museum is the house where Michelangelo was used to live and die for many years and this townhouse was turned into museum by his great grandson with many paintings, sculptures, and relics related to this great artist of all time. You also

Date of experience: September 2018
1  Thank Suwatss
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 19 July 2018

The house has been restored to the way it looked when his family owned it, so the rooms themselves are worth seeing. There are several of Michelangelo's clay models for large statues that he made later using marble. Of special interest are two small reliefs in marble, The Madonna della Scala, his first known work (1490-92), and the Battle of the Centaurs, which he considered his best early work (1492). It is done in his "Non Finito" style. He considered himself unattractive, and there is a certain roughness to his face in a famous portrait by Venusti.

This is a quiet museum in a calm neighborhood, so take your time there.

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank Ron D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 7 July 2018

Somewhat off the beaten track (or perhaps we were lucky to be alone there). This house was owned for a short time by Michaelangiello. It is filled with some of his art (see the Madona of the Stairs) and other's as well. But it was the house itself that gave us the feeling we were back in history. Recommended!

Date of experience: June 2018
1  Thank dorons713
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews