We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Locanda Orchidea
Ranked #195 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 November 2011

I went to Firenze with friends for the weekend. We are students and so we try to optimize a tight budget. Staying in the Orchidea was the best choice of the weekend. We were 3 girls and paid 25 euros per person for one room with 3 beds. We did not make any reservation beforehand and just booked the hotel by arrival. The hostess was very kind and took care of our bags while we were discovering the beautiful city. The hotel has a good location and so we came back to enter our room at 17.00 rest a bit and went out again. Check-out time was also very reasonable at 11.30 am. The only obstacle was that there are 2 shared bathrooms for all of the guests staying there. Although neat and cleaned one of my friends had trouble getting over that obstacle. Ans if you want to take a douche, you best bring your own towels.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaximeMarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (180)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

77 - 81 of 180 reviews

Reviewed 22 September 2011

This was the second time that we stayed here. Miranda, the owner of the hotel, was extremely helpful with whatever question we had. She was also able to get us into the same room we had last time. There is also a lot of information in the hotel foyer about trips that you can do, and a communal fridge. The hotel is situated right in the heart of things. It is a small walk to everything in Florence. The shared bathroom was always clean. We couldn't really find any faults for the value of the room. Other reviews have said that it is by a back alley and unlit. This is completely untrue as it is a pedestrian only area. Rooms have fans and huge windows.

Room Tip: If you want a quieter room, just request one away from the main pedestrain street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gralice1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2011

Nice location with cute, clean, character-filled rooms. In room basin, but all other bathroom facilities shared. I had a single overlooking the street which was a little noisy at night (lots of restauants/bars around here) but not an issue once I put some ear-plugs in. The rooms near the back of the hotel would be much quieter I imagine. I would definitely recommend to others looking for comfortable, budget accommodation in the center of Florence. Would be nice if they had a kettle with tea/coffee available.

Room Tip: Quieter rooms are doubles at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claire F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2011

Hotel was situated in a great location near the Duomo in a fabulous old building, lending an authentic feel to the stay. Room clean and functional and with a bathroom. Great service from Miranda and I would recommend this Pensione to anyone wanting accommodation in this wonderful, ancient city.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CaberraKerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2011

My wife and I are budget travellers and stayed at the Orchidea for two nights and very much enjoyed our stay. The rooms are large and comfortable. The owner is very nice and can assist your with booking tours / finding restaurants etc. The greatest aspect of this place is location, it is a five minute walk from the Duomo, which is a must see...and you have to walk to the top (8 Euros) you will not regret it as it provides a panoramic view of Florence / Tuscany. From this location you also are very close to all of the major museums and literally a five minute walk from the Statue of David (replica).

There are plenty of great restaurants around and you really can't go wrong. A word of caution for those who are travelling on a budget, try to avoid the cafes in the square surrounding the Duomo, you will be paying a premium for the atmosphere (as with anywhere). As well, if you are looking for real Italian leather goods, purchase them here in Florence, there are many stores within walking distance of the Orchidea. My wife and I did Rome and the Amalfi Coast as well and we did not find the same prices and selection as Florence had to offer, very nice stuff.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Travelbug155004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
Hotel Dali
Hotel Dali
#132 of 410 in Florence
671 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Il Poeta Dante
Hotel Il Poeta Dante
#186 of 410 in Florence
315 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Bodoni
Hotel Bodoni
#181 of 410 in Florence
649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Hotel Benivieni
Hotel Benivieni
#204 of 410 in Florence
598 reviews
Duomo
Ferdinando II dei Medici
Ferdinando II dei Medici
#257 of 410 in Florence
74 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Cardinal of Florence
Hotel Cardinal of Florence
#174 of 410 in Florence
318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Locanda Orchidea? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Locanda Orchidea

Address: Borgo Degli Albizi 11, 50122, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Duomo
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #195 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Price Range: ₹ 4,710 - ₹ 9,226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Locanda Orchidea 1*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Hotel Locanda Orchidea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Locanda Orchidea Florence
Locanda Orchidea Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing