We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful property, great location. Felt like we could have been living there in Firenze!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Cimabue

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Cimabue
Ranked #322 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Beautiful property, great location. Felt like we could have been living there in Firenze!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2012

This was our favorite of the three hotels we stayed at in Italy. The hotel was very small, quaint, authentic and antique feeling. Our view out beautiful wooden shutters was of an alley courtyard, but it was that kind of authenticity that we loved. Our favorite part was the location-- sandwiched between staying in very remote hotels in both Rome and Venice, we could finally walk everywhere. In fact every night we would come back prior to dinner to have a hot shower and relax before going out to eat.

In addition, this was the only hotel that offered FREE in-room wifi-- honestly something that should be standard in every hotel in this day and age. It was very helpful in letting us look up reviews for restaurants and maps. The staff was also very nice. We used the laundry service and although expensive they did an impeccable job.

We only ate breakfast there once-- one day we slept in too late and the other day we arrived at the end of breakfast time and there was virtually nothing left. When we did eat there the selection was small (fitting of the small size of the hotel) but everything tasted good. However everything is so close in Florence you may not feel the need to eat in the hotel.

A couple things to note though, although this did not ruin our experience in any way:

1) The elevator is not always accessible, as the doors to the elevators have signs saying "Alarmed do not open". My friend's knee was temporarily out of commission and he had a slow time with the stairs.

2) The mattress was very firm and the staff had no extra pillows. If you have back pain like me you may want to bring an extra pillow. However my friend loved the bed and had no problem with it.

3) Watch out for that shower-- very slippery! I fell and both busted my behind and hit my head on the wall. Quite the epic 6"x3" black bruise on my butt cheek!

But all in all, we loved it and we'd stay here again!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Danielle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

477 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    130
    132
    99
    67
    49
See reviews for
106
214
7
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
california
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2012

We had an amazing stay at this Hotel. Great location which was a 5-10 min walk from any of the sites Our rooms was spacious, clean and comfortable.
The items offered for breakfast were also very good, and it was free!! There was a nice variety of things offered to get the morning started
Another great perk with this hotel was free and secure wi-fi. They give you user names and passwords for up to three devices. Without hesitation will come back to stay.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paul g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2012

This Hotel was wonderful. Our room was very spacious and in excellent conditions. Staff very helpful and corteous. Breakfast was included and was pleasent and delicious. We also received a welcome drink that was lovely. This hotel is within easy walking distant to the major attractions in Florence. The staff helped us find various sites around town, suggested great restaurants, and helped may our stay as comfortable as possible. I will most certainly stay here anytime I am visiting Florence in the future.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank simon c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2012

I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights while I stayed in Florence. Florence is small enough that you don't need to buy a bus card. I walked everywhere! In fact, when taking the train into Florence from Rome, the train station in Florence is only a 20 minute walk away from the hotel! There is a tourist information station right across the street from the train station.

The hotel is well situated. I had no problem checking in at 1:00 in the afternoon. The staff was very nice. Only thing to note is that the hotel locks its doors at 11:00pm, so make sure you know the password for the keypad to get back inside! Breakfast starts at 7am, and I think ends at 10am. There's a guy who makes your coffee in the morning, so that was something I always enjoyed (other hotels have a machine that spits out your cappuccino). Food served at breakfast is very basic, and somewhat bland; cereal, toast, yogurt and pastries. You can do better outside if you want something more.

Beds were comfortable, and room was clean. There's a small little TV in the room, but has limited TV stations. Of the three nights I was there, there was no hot water for two nights. Staff told me that there was a technical problem, and they are waiting for someone to come fix it. I survived, but it certainly was inconvenient!

Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank lth1031NewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2012

The reception when we arrived was terrible... the man who checked us in was completely unfriendly, not willing to help us solve problems, and truly soured the trip. The rooms are meager at best.... not 3 star quality at all!! The bathroom looks like it is a converted closet and in general it looked like the hotel has deteriorated.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 214UKtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Florence hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Hotel Kursaal Ausonia
Hotel Kursaal Ausonia
#127 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 983 reviews
San Marco
Albergo Hotel Panorama Firenze
Hotel Annalena
#216 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Hotel de la Pace
Hotel de la Pace
#179 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
Hotel Meridiana
#276 of 421 in Florence
3.5 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Gioia
Hotel Gioia
#163 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cimabue? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cimabue

Property: Hotel Cimabue
Address: Via Bonifacio Lupi 7, 50129, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #322 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,590 - ₹ 13,639
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Cimabue 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Hotel Cimabue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cimabue Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing