We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great little hotel”
Review of Hotel Cimabue

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Cimabue
Ranked #334 of 420 Hotels in Florence
Liverpool, England
Level Contributor
176 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“Great little hotel”
Reviewed 9 February 2012

Hotel Cimabue was a lovely little find for our recent trip to Florence. I'm not sure if there has been a change of staff but other reviewers missed out on some lovely, knowledgeable staff that we encountered from the moment we arrived. Nothing was too much trouble for them and they were happy to provide maps, restaurant recommendations, corkscrews, quick art history lessons about Cimabue... the list goes on.
Rooms are typically Italian with wooden floors, painted woodwork and shutters on the windows. The bathroom wasn't the most luxurious but the shower was good and it was all very clean.
Breakfast is simple and, again, typically Italian but we were keen to get out and about in Florence from early anyway so this didn't pose a problem.
It's about a 10-15 minute walk from the station on foot and about 10 minutes in a taxi from the airport. Nearby, there are some really good local bars- we had a lovely evening in one called Nabucco with great wine and a lovely buffet for 7euros- recommended.
The Duomo is not far- well, nothing is very far in Florence- and the main sights are all within walking distance yet you feel like you're in a nice, residential area when making your way back at the end of the day.
Would recommend Cimabue for an authentic, value for money hotel experience in this beautiful city.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the hotel, away from the road, are probably quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christabelle04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

479 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    130
    132
    99
    68
    50
See reviews for
106
215
7
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 February 2012

Everything about this hotel was lovely, the decor, the location&the woman on reception was beyond helpful. But the only downfall was that our room was on the ground floor overlooking the street and it was so noisy it was a terrible nights sleep. Nothing the hotel could do to avoid but if you're a light sleeper then worth asking for a room away from the main street if possible. If we'd been staying longer than a couple of nights then I would have asked for a different room and have no doubt they would have sorted one out for us. Otherwise an A+ hotel which I would happily visit again.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erica2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2011

This hotel is great value for your money. If you need a nice, clean and quiet place to stay in Florence, Cimabue is the place..The rooms are very clean and neat, the staff, friendly and helpful. Overall, it's top quality service for what you pay. I'd definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nrcpn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2011

Thank you kindly to all staff of this wonderful hotel. The hotel staff were very friendly, polite and always ready to assist if needed. It's within walking distance of everything you need or want to see. It is also very close to the train station. The rooms are very clean large and with frescoes. The breakfast had a wonderful selection.
We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jolie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2011

I wouldn't say this was an 'amazing' place, but everything we needed was there including the free wifi (although I've read about the others who weren't so fortunate). It's close to the sites but far enough that you'd see locals hanging out in the vicinity. We stayed in one of the smaller double rooms and it was comfortable and cozy. The bathroom had a stand-up shower, toilet and bidet, sink, small bars of soap, shampoo packets, and shower caps.

The staff was not helpful. Upon arrival at around 1:45 pm in the afternoon, the gentleman at the front desk told us, 'You are early.' He told us to come back at 3:00pm and handed us a map without an explanation of how to get to the sites or the city centre. A 'welcome to the hotel' would have been nice, along with a smile perhaps? It felt like we were really bothering them if we had any simple questions. I really don't understand where the helpful staff comments are coming from. Even upon check-out, there was no acknolwedgement from the same gentleman on our arrival. He simply took the key and proceeded to make what sounded like a personal call. He did not thank us for our custom. I suppose it's a 3- star establishment, so that's what you get for 3 stars.

Other than the unhelpful staff, the accommodation was actually pretty comfortable and I enjoyed my stay as it was very close to the city centre. Breakfast was ok, no hot foods available as it was only continental with, breads, toast, jams, yoghurts, and cereals. Coffees and teas available upon request, breakfast served only from 7am-10am.

Overall just an OK stay at an OK place. Nothing amazing.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Hotel Kursaal Ausonia
Hotel Kursaal Ausonia
#135 of 420 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 991 reviews
San Marco
Albergo Hotel Panorama Firenze
Hotel Annalena
#215 of 420 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Hotel de la Pace
Hotel de la Pace
#176 of 420 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
Hotel Meridiana
#274 of 420 in Florence
3.5 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Gioia
Hotel Gioia
#163 of 420 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cimabue? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cimabue

Property: Hotel Cimabue
Address: Via Bonifacio Lupi 7, 50129, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #334 of 420 Hotels in Florence
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,330 - ₹ 15,445
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Cimabue 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Cimabue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cimabue Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing