We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Palazzo dal Borgo Hotel Aprile
Nearby Hotels
US$ 307
MGallery
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Hotel Alessandra(Florence)(Great Value!)
US$ 147
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Orto De Medici(Florence)
US$ 219
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$ 239
US$ 222
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Bar/Lounge
Grand Hotel Minerva(Florence)
US$ 318
US$ 282
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$ 378
US$ 283
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel dei Macchiaioli(Florence)(Great Value!)
US$ 219
US$ 213
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Brunelleschi(Florence)
US$ 507
US$ 423
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$ 378
US$ 316
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Villa Cora(Florence)
US$ 1,708
US$ 1,233
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (775)
Filter reviews
775 results
Traveller rating
345
279
89
40
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
345
279
89
40
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssanta maria novellatrain stationfour poster bedincluding eggsour room was spaciousthe hotel staffwithin walking distancethe ground floorhistoric buildingfamily roomstreet noisefive minute walknice staywonderful cityon footbreakfast was excellentmini bar
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
221 - 226 of 775 reviews
Reviewed 1 March 2012

I stayed in Palazzo dal Borgo in February, during a spell of very cold weather, and appreciated very much the location this hotel enjoys: right in the centre of Florence and next to the train station without that seedy "station-area atmosphere".
Sure enough, the rooms overlooking the street are quite noisy because of traffic and are to be avoided. But the rooms on the back have great views on Santa Maria Novella church. The decoration is very elegant and I found the staff particularly friendly.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank francesco p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2012

This is a wonderful hotel! Yes, it's old (which we loved!) Yes, it's out of the way (but within walking distance of everything!). And the staff are wonderful. Ignore the 'bad' reviews. If you want bright and shiny then go and stay at a Best Western. If you want 'Real Florence' then you can't do better then here. Will definitely be returning!

Room Tip: Room 18 is very romantic! Haven't downloaded any photos but I will
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SandNick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
palazzodalborgo, Responsabile reception at Palazzo dal Borgo Hotel Aprile, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2012

Dear Guest,
thanks for your comment. We are pleased you had enjoyed the atmosphere of the typically Florentine Renaissance building of our Hotel, and our hospitality.
The satisfaction of our Guests is the most important incentive to improve ourselves day after day.
We hope to see you again in Florence.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2012

i originally stayed here back in December 2009 with my family and it was fantastic, however, when I came for my honeymoon in January 2012, I was sorry I ever booked that place again.
while the room was clean and the loction was very good, the staff and the general feel about the place turned us off quite quickly.
In fact, I booked and pre-paid online for 6 nights, but we decided to cut our losses and leave a night earlier (staying only 5 instead of the original 6) ... even though we had already paid the full rate for all 6 nights. We couldnt handle the depressing nature of the staff!! I couldn't believe that the older lady at the front desk (who seemed so sweet up until the point of us checkign out) ... who actually yelled at us as to why we didnt inform her that we would be leaving 1 night earlier ... I had to tell her to settle down as we have already paid for the room and so they technically could have another couple in there and collect 2 lots of payment for the one room as we wouldnt be in there obviosuly.
The breakfast was terrible, watery eggs and cold oily bacon ... not what a 5 star hotel should be presenting. The staff at breakfast was just as rude. They were cold, served us when THEY were ready and made us feel like a scum bag when we ordered a 2nd coffee with our breakfast.
The hotel knew it was for our honeymoon however there was no effort to make our stay pleasant let alone romantic. However, the hotel we stayed at in Rome (Hotel Canada on Via Vicenza) was amazing, making us feel VERY special and even surprising us with a complimentary bottle of champagne and baci chocolates!

DO NOT STAY HERE ... we should have stayed at the best western (hotel rivoli) across the road!!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank chloenrexy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
palazzodalborgo, Proprietario at Palazzo dal Borgo Hotel Aprile, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2012

Dear Guest,
we were very disappointed to read your comment, especially as you had stayed with us before and had chosen to return for your honeymoon, a fact of which however we had not been made aware.
This said we feel the comment unjust and not fully objective.
You stayed in room 67, one of our best rooms, with a wonderful view of the Church of Santa Maria Novella, a 5 star room (even if we are a 4 stars hotel).
As a matter of fact your complaint does not concern the hotel but our employee who, you quote “seemed so sweet up until the point of us checking out”. A different language and different culture may cause an exclamation of surprise to be misunderstood.
As for the staff at breakfast: it’s the same as when you enjoyed your stay with us before.
Our clientele, a great part of which is Australian, has always appreciated our staff’s friendly and helpful attitude, as proved by so many of the comments on Trip Advisor’s. This is a point of honour with us, for 60 years we have strived to do our best to make our guests feel “at home” and make their stay as enjoyable as possible.
It is therefore a great disappointment to see all our efforts nullified by one exclamation of surprise!
We hope you will decide to stay with us again in the future so that we may be able to prove our hospitality: our reputation is our livelihood and this is an extremely unpleasant incident for us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2011

After reading other reviews on difficulty of locating the hotel I looked on streetview before travelling. We arrived at 11.30pm and had no difficulty at all in finding it. The hotel was less than 5 minutes walk from the SMN station. All the main attractions were just short walks from the hotel so it is very central. We found the hotel to be spotlessly clean and our room was well furnished in tuscan style and the bathroom was quite modern with all amenities. I had requested a room at the rear of the hotel and they duly obliged. There was no noise at all from outside except on Monday at 7.00 am the bells were ringing at the church. That was no problem after all we were on holiday in Florence!! The staff were very pleasant and helpful and all spoke good english. The breakfast was from 7.30 till 10.30. 2 of the 4 mornings we were there we went for breakfast just before 10.00 and were very pleased how quiet it was but everything was still available. The range and quality of breakfast was fantastic. You could be really set up before a long day sightseeing! One of the staff at the hotel recommended the Osaria Ceropoveri, on corner of via Della Porcellana / Palazzuolo - great food at a very fair price. We have travelled to Tuscany numerous times and hotels can be quite 'hit and miss' unless you pay a fortune. The Aprile was a fair price and we were very happy with it. It is not an international modern type hotel with loads of amenities eg lounge, gym etc but it is an extremely old building, well furnished and decorated and best of all very clean. There is a small bar which we didn't use as we were out all day and evenings, only coming back to change and then to bed!!

Room Tip: Rooms at the back overlook the Santa Maria Novelli church - you get no street noise but you may get the bells (that's an added bonus!)
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank joyem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2011

I took my wife to Tuscany for our 30th anniversary--the weather was perfect, the hotel was great, the food was fabulous, and the wine was Chianti. The Aprile hotel was centrally located to all the major cathedrals, the major train terminal, and the Arno River. If you want a great location for a vacation to Florence this is a terrific choice.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the back side of the hotel. You can see the Santa Maria cathedral out your window and the tuscan hills in the distance. Also, you will avoid the street noise on the front of the hotel
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GeoWashington1787
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews