We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“weekend in florence”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Palazzo dal Borgo Hotel Aprile
Ranked #146 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Milan, Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“weekend in florence”
Reviewed 1 March 2012

we spent a long weekend at Palazzo del borgo at the beginning of February. It was a great choice , just the place for people like us who love a romantic hotel with a special antique touch!
It's spotlessly clean, the atmosphere is very pleasant, the staff really friendly, everybody goes out of their way to be helpful. Location is convenient too, plenty of good restaurants nearby. Don't forget to visit the oficina Santa Maria down the road, it's worth the trip to Florence

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank bhel c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
palazzodalborgo, Responsabile reception at Palazzo dal Borgo Hotel Aprile, responded to this review, 17 March 2012
Dear Guest,
thanks for your kind comment.
Is really a pleasure when our guests feel the passion we put into our work every day.
We hope to see you again in Florence and welcome you in our Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

719 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    324
    255
    80
    38
    22
See reviews for
153
331
26
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bruxelles
Level Contributor
95 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2012

I stayed in Palazzo dal Borgo in February, during a spell of very cold weather, and appreciated very much the location this hotel enjoys: right in the centre of Florence and next to the train station without that seedy "station-area atmosphere".
Sure enough, the rooms overlooking the street are quite noisy because of traffic and are to be avoided. But the rooms on the back have great views on Santa Maria Novella church. The decoration is very elegant and I found the staff particularly friendly.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank francesco p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2012

This is a wonderful hotel! Yes, it's old (which we loved!) Yes, it's out of the way (but within walking distance of everything!). And the staff are wonderful. Ignore the 'bad' reviews. If you want bright and shiny then go and stay at a Best Western. If you want 'Real Florence' then you can't do better then here. Will definitely be returning!

Room Tip: Room 18 is very romantic! Haven't downloaded any photos but I will
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SandNick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
palazzodalborgo, Responsabile reception at Palazzo dal Borgo Hotel Aprile, responded to this review, 27 February 2012
Dear Guest,
thanks for your comment. We are pleased you had enjoyed the atmosphere of the typically Florentine Renaissance building of our Hotel, and our hospitality.
The satisfaction of our Guests is the most important incentive to improve ourselves day after day.
We hope to see you again in Florence.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2012

i originally stayed here back in December 2009 with my family and it was fantastic, however, when I came for my honeymoon in January 2012, I was sorry I ever booked that place again.
while the room was clean and the loction was very good, the staff and the general feel about the place turned us off quite quickly.
In fact, I booked and pre-paid online for 6 nights, but we decided to cut our losses and leave a night earlier (staying only 5 instead of the original 6) ... even though we had already paid the full rate for all 6 nights. We couldnt handle the depressing nature of the staff!! I couldn't believe that the older lady at the front desk (who seemed so sweet up until the point of us checkign out) ... who actually yelled at us as to why we didnt inform her that we would be leaving 1 night earlier ... I had to tell her to settle down as we have already paid for the room and so they technically could have another couple in there and collect 2 lots of payment for the one room as we wouldnt be in there obviosuly.
The breakfast was terrible, watery eggs and cold oily bacon ... not what a 5 star hotel should be presenting. The staff at breakfast was just as rude. They were cold, served us when THEY were ready and made us feel like a scum bag when we ordered a 2nd coffee with our breakfast.
The hotel knew it was for our honeymoon however there was no effort to make our stay pleasant let alone romantic. However, the hotel we stayed at in Rome (Hotel Canada on Via Vicenza) was amazing, making us feel VERY special and even surprising us with a complimentary bottle of champagne and baci chocolates!

DO NOT STAY HERE ... we should have stayed at the best western (hotel rivoli) across the road!!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank chloenrexy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
palazzodalborgo, Proprietario at Palazzo dal Borgo Hotel Aprile, responded to this review, 18 February 2012
Dear Guest,
we were very disappointed to read your comment, especially as you had stayed with us before and had chosen to return for your honeymoon, a fact of which however we had not been made aware.
This said we feel the comment unjust and not fully objective.
You stayed in room 67, one of our best rooms, with a wonderful view of the Church of Santa Maria Novella, a 5 star room (even if we are a 4 stars hotel).
As a matter of fact your complaint does not concern the hotel but our employee who, you quote “seemed so sweet up until the point of us checking out”. A different language and different culture may cause an exclamation of surprise to be misunderstood.
As for the staff at breakfast: it’s the same as when you enjoyed your stay with us before.
Our clientele, a great part of which is Australian, has always appreciated our staff’s friendly and helpful attitude, as proved by so many of the comments on Trip Advisor’s. This is a point of honour with us, for 60 years we have strived to do our best to make our guests feel “at home” and make their stay as enjoyable as possible.
It is therefore a great disappointment to see all our efforts nullified by one exclamation of surprise!
We hope you will decide to stay with us again in the future so that we may be able to prove our hospitality: our reputation is our livelihood and this is an extremely unpleasant incident for us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2011

After reading other reviews on difficulty of locating the hotel I looked on streetview before travelling. We arrived at 11.30pm and had no difficulty at all in finding it. The hotel was less than 5 minutes walk from the SMN station. All the main attractions were just short walks from the hotel so it is very central. We found the hotel to be spotlessly clean and our room was well furnished in tuscan style and the bathroom was quite modern with all amenities. I had requested a room at the rear of the hotel and they duly obliged. There was no noise at all from outside except on Monday at 7.00 am the bells were ringing at the church. That was no problem after all we were on holiday in Florence!! The staff were very pleasant and helpful and all spoke good english. The breakfast was from 7.30 till 10.30. 2 of the 4 mornings we were there we went for breakfast just before 10.00 and were very pleased how quiet it was but everything was still available. The range and quality of breakfast was fantastic. You could be really set up before a long day sightseeing! One of the staff at the hotel recommended the Osaria Ceropoveri, on corner of via Della Porcellana / Palazzuolo - great food at a very fair price. We have travelled to Tuscany numerous times and hotels can be quite 'hit and miss' unless you pay a fortune. The Aprile was a fair price and we were very happy with it. It is not an international modern type hotel with loads of amenities eg lounge, gym etc but it is an extremely old building, well furnished and decorated and best of all very clean. There is a small bar which we didn't use as we were out all day and evenings, only coming back to change and then to bed!!

Room Tip: Rooms at the back overlook the Santa Maria Novelli church - you get no street noise but you may get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank joyem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Maria Novella
Croce di Malta Hotel
Croce di Malta Hotel
#170 of 421 in Florence
3.5 of 5 bubbles 730 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Rivoli Boutique Hotel
Rivoli Boutique Hotel
#70 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,567 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Roma
Hotel Roma
#108 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Maria Novella
Domus Florentiae Hotel
Domus Florentiae Hotel
#194 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Adler Cavalieri
Adler Cavalieri
#80 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 814 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Club Florence
Hotel Club Florence
#134 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 772 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palazzo dal Borgo Hotel Aprile? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo dal Borgo Hotel Aprile

Property: Palazzo dal Borgo Hotel Aprile
Address: Via della Scala 6, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Maria Novella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#46 Business Hotel in Florence
#86 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#110 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,709 - ₹ 18,071
Hotel Class:4 star — Palazzo dal Borgo Hotel Aprile 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Palazzo dal Borgo Hotel Aprile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Dal Borgo Florence
Aprile Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing