We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic hotel in an excellent location”
Review of De Lanzi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
De Lanzi
Ranked #221 of 409 Hotels in Florence
Reviewed 13 June 2011

De Lanzi is brilliantly located near major attractions and is across the road from GROM, an amazing gelati shop! The hotel rooms and breakfast are basic but comfortable, the reception staff are very friendly and helpful. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lozzie87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (527)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

162 - 166 of 527 reviews

Reviewed 13 June 2011

I stayed here with elderly family members. My first impression was not positive as parts of it looked rather in need of renovation, and my single room was so small I could touch both walls at the same time. However, it was clean, and the location was very convenient. My bathroom had been recently renovated and was a reasonable size. The breakfast was fine for a day or two but dull after that. The coffee was disappointing; we look forward to having really good coffee while in Italy, but this came from a machine. The staff were generally helpful. It was a good choice for us in the end because its location meant that we did not have far to walk to many of the sights and could easily return between activities . The bells of Giotto's tower woke us up early in the morning, which was fine for us as we wanted to get an early start, and it is a much nicer way to wake up than an alarm. I would recommend it for young people, the elderly or others who don't have much money to spend, but would not recommend it for those who really want to enjoy the time they spend at the hotel or want to feel a little pampered while on holiday.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RandR52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2011

Very convenient location. Directly across the street from GROM (the BEST gelato you will ever taste). Walking distance to all attractions. The front desk staff are the gems in the crown that is hotel De Lanzi. They are incredibly helpful. They will make reservations for you at all of the museums (a must if you wish to avoid long lines). Breakfast is included with your room. It is nothing spectacular but it is free (which can't be said for most hotels) and was a pleasant way to start the morning.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank europetravel2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2010

We were heading over for a wedding in Florence and did not book the recommended hotel in time but the wife found this place. I then had a look here after that and we were a bit nervous that some of the reviews were not great.

In a nutshell, you get what you pay for. This was half the price of the recommended boutique hotel and not as plush, however, we were provided with a helpful reception, good sized, quiet, clean room. For those how wish to fall out of the hotel into the centre of Firenze but do not wish to pay through the nose this fits the ball. I would not book it for a romantic anniversary weekend nor recommend it to silver surfers spending the inheritance but for professionals practising fashionable austerity this works fine.

One note we found the staff fine. The receptionists dealt with our booking irregularities very well, considering we had booked via my wife's work email which uses her maiden name and turned up without the planned babe in arms as we had left her with the grandparents.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LondonMooToo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2010

My friend and I decided to head to Florence for a long weekend. FInding a hotel was tricky because most of them are expensive! Though the reviews were mixed for De Lanzi, the location could not be beat plus I booked directly on their website and pre-paid to take advantage of a 10% discount. Well, we were perfectly satisfied with our stay! Everyone was so nice to us at the reception, the room had a gorgeous view of the Duomo, and the beds were comfortable. It was a typical Italian city hotel in my opinion. No perks, but a great stay. If you are looking for good price for a great location without frills, I would recommend you stay here. Plus the best gelato shop, "Grom" is right across!! You must try to gelato here!!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank twilightjasmine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
Hotel Bigallo
Hotel Bigallo
#172 of 409 in Florence
406 reviews
Duomo
Costantini
Costantini
#348 of 409 in Florence
215 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Benivieni
Hotel Benivieni
#207 of 409 in Florence
596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Hotel Villani
Hotel Villani
#229 of 409 in Florence
113 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Maxim
Hotel Maxim
#226 of 409 in Florence
754 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Olimpia
Hotel Olimpia
#293 of 409 in Florence
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Lanzi? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Lanzi

Address: Via Dell'Oche 11, 50122, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Duomo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #221 of 409 Hotels in Florence
Price Range: ₹ 5,051 - ₹ 11,174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — De Lanzi 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your De Lanzi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Lanzi Florence
De Lanzi Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing