We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Giglio
Nearby Hotels
Corte dei Medici(Florence)(Great Value!)
US$ 193
US$ 183
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hilton Garden Inn Florence Novoli(Florence)(Great Value!)
US$ 156
US$ 120
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Alba Palace(Florence)(Great Value!)
US$ 174
US$ 164
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Atlantic Palace(Florence)(Great Value!)
US$ 199
US$ 187
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Roma(Florence)
US$ 244
US$ 209
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Rapallo(Florence)
US$ 426
US$ 271
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel David(Florence)
US$ 283
US$ 239
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 334
US$ 277
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel La Fortezza(Florence)(Great Value!)
US$ 179
US$ 159
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Bretagna(Florence)(Great Value!)
US$ 281
US$ 261
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (739)
Filter reviews
739 results
Traveller rating
436
228
50
20
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
436
228
50
20
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstrain stationvia cavourpastriesfirst floorminute walkhard boiled eggssmall lifthigh ceilingscontinental breakfastold buildinglarge bathroomvisiting florencemarcoduomoluggagelucasights
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
229 - 234 of 739 reviews
Reviewed 2 February 2012

We stayed for five nights. The staff are very friendly and could not have been more helpful. Our family room was very spacious with en suite facilities. The hotel is centrally located. We had a very enjoyable stay and would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2012

We stayed here on our honeymoon in December 2010. I know, I am a late reviewer.

Hotel Intro:
This hotel was the biggest surprise, and the most wonderful experience. Please note, this hotel is actually found on one floor of a building. There is a sign, but it is small, and unexpected. When you walk in, you see a small elevator and a large stair. On the signage for what is in the building, we saw several dr. offices, one dentist and one psychiatrist. Also, I think an interior decorator, and a private residence. Also on (as I recall) floor two is the Hotel Giglio. Yes, you are in the right place! My husband put the bags in the old fashioned lift, just big enough for my major over packing and me, and up we went! As we walked in, we were dubious. Had I made a mistake? For the price of under $100 per night with breakfast, I hoped not. We were warmly greeted at the front desk, and given a quick tour. Next to the tiny check in desk was a lovely coffee bar where we could get morning breakfast drinks. As we were offered a seat at the bar to fill out the check in paperwork, we were given free cokes, and told to relax. After the paperwork, we were showed the small library of games and books in all different languages and for all ages. They also had a DVD selection, again in all different languages, and we were told that each room had a DVD player. We then were showed the small breakfast room.

Room:
Our room was HUGE! Bigger than Rome by lots, and bigger than our Venice room. The room décor was a little sparse, and the bed was an old fashioned ornately carved wood frame. Finally, a frame that did not allow two mattresses to separate. And yes, we had a little TV and DVD player, as well as a large wardrobe for clothing and luggage, and a desk. The bathroom looked brand new with heated marble tiles, and also was quiet large.

Breakfast:
Ok, but the staff was eager to make me a cappuccino! Yogurt, lunch meat and cheese, with several different pastries. There were hard boiled eggs, a toaster and toast, and cereal.

Staff:
Nothing short of amazing. They reconfirmed our tours, and got one of the companies to come and pick us up from our hotel. They also told us that there were strikes causing the Academia and the Uffuzi to be closed, and called every day to see if they had ended so we could get in. Although the strike didn't end, we used that free rainy day to relax with the hotel's DVD collection.

Location:
The location is good, and IS within walking distance of the Duomo and Ponte Veccio (I know because we walked it), but it is a good 15-20 minute walk. What is nice is that you are away from the super touristy places, and have a chance to experience real Florence. We ate at an AMAZING restaurant nearby recommended by the hotel, and although the name now escapes me, it was the best in all of Italy. We were also close to a Laundry Mat and several markets.

This hotel is NOT Americanized, and NOT like a traditional hotel. Before you decide to book here, you need to be ok with this style of accommodation. There is a reviewer a few down that was really mad by the fact that it is one floor of a larger building, and that its not obvious to find, but for travelers who are looking for an adventure, and a NICE stay for a LOW price, choose the Giglio.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gmjpeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2012

Our family stayed for just 1 night, got a very spacious and comfortable quad room. Good breakfast - many choices, good combination of fresh and packaged foods. Very good and friendly service. Manager/owner came to say hello during breakfast. Elena was very helpful with booking of hotel and also pre-booked tickets for us for the Accademia to save time for the lineups. Great location, parking arrangement nearby, laundromat and good restaurant also 5 min walk. Clean neighbourhood, felt safe even in evening.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank endre b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2012

My wife and I had our honeymoon in Italy: Rome, Florence and Venice. By far our best room was in Florence at the Hotel Giglio. The room was clean and charming, bathrooms were clean. The best part about the hotel is the lobby and by far the employees. When we checked in the person at the front desk spent 10 to 15 minutes explaining the map of Florence were everything was, best times to visit attractions and dining recommendations along with discount cards to the restaurants. They were all terrific. My wife and I would definately go back.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tommy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2012

Not great to find or park but once in the hotel the staff were very friendly and helpful with parking options. Hotel full of character and our room was clean and spacious. Not the best breakfast we had in Italy but not bad. In a great loaction to explore Florence.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TinksA13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews