We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very pleasant surprise at a great price”
Review of Hotel Giglio

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Giglio
Ranked #130 of 420 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Brazil
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A very pleasant surprise at a great price”
Reviewed 3 February 2012

We found this place at the last minute for a two-night stay in Florence in January 2012 and we were very happy. I was traveling with my boyfriend. We had a very spacious double room, very clean, with an amazing bathroom. Wi-fi was fast and the breakfast buffet was delicious, and included in the price. The hotel is super well located, just a 10-minute walk to most important sites.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dribra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

712 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    426
    218
    46
    18
    4
See reviews for
214
300
22
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2012

We stayed for five nights. The staff are very friendly and could not have been more helpful. Our family room was very spacious with en suite facilities. The hotel is centrally located. We had a very enjoyable stay and would definitely go back.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LA, California
Level Contributor
48 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2012

We stayed here on our honeymoon in December 2010. I know, I am a late reviewer.

Hotel Intro:
This hotel was the biggest surprise, and the most wonderful experience. Please note, this hotel is actually found on one floor of a building. There is a sign, but it is small, and unexpected. When you walk in, you see a small elevator and a large stair. On the signage for what is in the building, we saw several dr. offices, one dentist and one psychiatrist. Also, I think an interior decorator, and a private residence. Also on (as I recall) floor two is the Hotel Giglio. Yes, you are in the right place! My husband put the bags in the old fashioned lift, just big enough for my major over packing and me, and up we went! As we walked in, we were dubious. Had I made a mistake? For the price of under $100 per night with breakfast, I hoped not. We were warmly greeted at the front desk, and given a quick tour. Next to the tiny check in desk was a lovely coffee bar where we could get morning breakfast drinks. As we were offered a seat at the bar to fill out the check in paperwork, we were given free cokes, and told to relax. After the paperwork, we were showed the small library of games and books in all different languages and for all ages. They also had a DVD selection, again in all different languages, and we were told that each room had a DVD player. We then were showed the small breakfast room.

Room:
Our room was HUGE! Bigger than Rome by lots, and bigger than our Venice room. The room décor was a little sparse, and the bed was an old fashioned ornately carved wood frame. Finally, a frame that did not allow two mattresses to separate. And yes, we had a little TV and DVD player, as well as a large wardrobe for clothing and luggage, and a desk. The bathroom looked brand new with heated marble tiles, and also was quiet large.

Breakfast:
Ok, but the staff was eager to make me a cappuccino! Yogurt, lunch meat and cheese, with several different pastries. There were hard boiled eggs, a toaster and toast, and cereal.

Staff:
Nothing short of amazing. They reconfirmed our tours, and got one of the companies to come and pick us up from our hotel. They also told us that there were strikes causing the Academia and the Uffuzi to be closed, and called every day to see if they had ended so we could get in. Although the strike didn't end, we used that free rainy day to relax with the hotel's DVD collection.

Location:
The location is good, and IS within walking distance of the Duomo and Ponte Veccio (I know because we walked it), but it is a good 15-20 minute walk. What is nice is that you are away from the super touristy places, and have a chance to experience real Florence. We ate at an AMAZING restaurant nearby recommended by the hotel, and although the name now escapes me, it was the best in all of Italy. We were also close to a Laundry Mat and several markets.

This hotel is NOT Americanized, and NOT like a traditional hotel. Before you decide to book here, you need to be ok with this style of accommodation. There is a reviewer a few down that was really mad by the fact that it is one floor of a larger building, and that its not obvious to find, but for travelers who are looking for an adventure, and a NICE stay for a LOW price, choose the Giglio.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gmjpeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2012

Our family stayed for just 1 night, got a very spacious and comfortable quad room. Good breakfast - many choices, good combination of fresh and packaged foods. Very good and friendly service. Manager/owner came to say hello during breakfast. Elena was very helpful with booking of hotel and also pre-booked tickets for us for the Accademia to save time for the lineups. Great location, parking arrangement nearby, laundromat and good restaurant also 5 min walk. Clean neighbourhood, felt safe even in evening.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank endre b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
106 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2012

My wife and I had our honeymoon in Italy: Rome, Florence and Venice. By far our best room was in Florence at the Hotel Giglio. The room was clean and charming, bathrooms were clean. The best part about the hotel is the lobby and by far the employees. When we checked in the person at the front desk spent 10 to 15 minutes explaining the map of Florence were everything was, best times to visit attractions and dining recommendations along with discount cards to the restaurants. They were all terrific. My wife and I would definately go back.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tommy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Hotel Rosary Garden
#115 of 420 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
San Marco
Hotel de la Pace
Hotel de la Pace
#173 of 420 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Kursaal Ausonia
Hotel Kursaal Ausonia
#132 of 420 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 991 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Hotel Gioia
Hotel Gioia
#171 of 420 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 432 reviews
San Lorenzo
Florence Dome Hotel
Florence Dome Hotel
#80 of 420 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Fiorita
Hotel Fiorita
#86 of 420 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 886 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Giglio? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Giglio

Property: Hotel Giglio
Address: Via Camillo Cavour 85, 50129, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#66 Family Hotel in Florence
#81 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,560 - ₹ 12,477
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Giglio 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Hotel Giglio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Giglio Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing