We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (102)
Filter reviews
102 results
Traveller rating
5
11
29
30
27
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
5
11
29
30
27
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 102 reviews
Reviewed 16 March 2013 via mobile

Saying it has what you need for the night is the nicest thing i can say. The best part was that there was warm water in the shower that, by the way, shares its space with the toilet. So, use the toilet before the shower so you don't slide off of it! Our toilet rarely flushed. We were too afraid to open any of the windows due to bad smells. The fan and TV did not work. You could hear everything in the hallways. If you get the double bed... well good luck! It's 2 singles shoved together and someone will fall in the crack and stay there!
The staff was nice and polite, even when i had to wake up the night/morning front desk guy who was sleeping on a cot in the lobby because we needed a cab called.
Overall this was the worse stay we had! Minus staff the room stinks! Do not stay here unless you are a poor college student or are too drunk to care about your surroundings!

Thank Kellie T
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 29 August 2012

We chose this hotel (which is more like a hostel) for its closeness to the city centre. The Piazza del Duomo is maybe 500 metres from it.

In writing this review I am in two minds what to write: on the one hand we had a nice time in Florence and did not experience any problems in the hotel. Since the rooms did not have A/C just a fan the thick walls were quite handy. And the hotel staff was extremely friendly. However on the other hand the managers of the hotel should seriously reconsider redecorating the whole place especially the bathrooms. I have seen and used more run-down bathrooms but those were mainly in Russia or post-Soviet countries. The staff of the hotel does make a huge effort to make it clean, but in this case effort is not enough money is needed. The room we were staying in was quite big though, even if it had almost no natural light in it. At least it was relatively cool while it was 42 degrees outside. Breakfast is an extra 3 euros, but probably worth it because of the convenience not finding a bar and delicious cappucino.

If I would be travelling back to Florence I would be choosing a different hotel which is a shame because I liked the staff and the location. As a recommendation for future travellers do not expect anything and than you shall have a good time if booking at this hotel...

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank regshammy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2012

The cheap price of this (hard to call it a) hotel in such a great location in Florence should have been a red flag, but we liked the look of the professional photos and went ahead and booked a room. We only saw the one room and it was nothing like the professional pictures we spotted here on TripAdvisor or any other site.

We did manage to get a spacious room. The sheets and bathroom were clean and we didn't spot any mildew, thank God, but we did have issues. Our room was located on the 3rd floor and right at the top of the stairs. It was impossible not to hear every one's comings and goings throughout the night. There is no elevator and so it can also be a bit of an arduous climb after spending all day walking around playing tourist. I would definitely not recommend the place to older individuals for this reason alone, but then I would be hard-pressed to recommend the place to anyone at all.

Ariston Hotel seemed more like a hostel than a hotel and not a particularly great hostel, either. The bathroom was very small, but stocked with plenty of toilet paper and a bit of body and hand soap. The shower was clean, but I'm a bit creeped out by plastic shower curtains in a cramped space. The main problem was the holder for the shower hose. It ceaselessly fell apart and we had to keep fixing it during our showers.

There isn't an air conditioner, but there was a ceiling fan. This wouldn't normally be an issue, but the room was very hot and the fan was exceedingly loud. We don't really care about whether a place has a television or not, but we were wishing for one in this case, if only to drown out the sound of the fan. You know that scene at the beginning of Apocalypse Now where the link between the ceiling fan and war helicopters is made? Well, that's a fairly accurate analogy to the fan in our room.

Breakfast was basic. There is coffee, tea, toast, pastries, juice and cereal. However, you can't get breakfast until at least 8am and there are a couple of little cafés around the area that open earlier and seemed to be cheaper for a coffee and croissant.

All in all, it was a very good location, but if you want to get any sleep, then perhaps spending an extra 20 euros on a different place would be worth it.

Room Tip: Bring your mosquito repellent if you are going during the warm season.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BohoPortugal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2012

The bathroom was a death trap, due to a constant leak from the toilet / bidet. We complained, but nothing done, not only that, but the shower flooded the floor. If that didn't kill you the electricity wall socket will, (see photo). Breakfast was minimal. A very very run down place.

Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2012

We were looking for a cheap accommodation in Florence and this was great. We stayed there 4 nights. The place is far from cosy, staff were really weird, breakfast was poor, BUT the room was quite big and veeeeery comfortable. So just what we were looking for.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ifigeniaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews