We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Home away from home in Florence”
Review of Hotel Alessandra

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Alessandra
Ranked #35 of 420 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Granite City, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Home away from home in Florence”
Reviewed 12 June 2012

Stay here for 4 nights and you will never want to go home!
Of the twenty nights I spent on tour in Italy this April, the Alessandra is destined to be my ONLY destination if and when I return! The location is superb and the staff is wonderful! If you have a question... no matter how obscure.. you are cheating yourself if you don't ask Andrea!! Go left out the door for a block and you can visit the ultimate names in clothing.. Go right and in one block you are at the famous Ponte Vecchio bridge of Medici fame.. gold, diamonds and precious stones, right next to wonderful gellato! Walk 2 blocks to the Uffizi and Palace Vecchio. Be sure to check around dusk.. the most wonderful classic guitarist was playing the weekend we were there, beautiful music with the most romantic backdrop!!!! Did I say we were pleased? Also, the breakfast was excellent. Cereal, pastry, meats, toast, cookies, coffee cake and hot chocolate! Lots of English speaking patrons as well!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ArcheoGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Hotel Alessandra, responded to this review, 6 July 2012
Dear Guest, we couldn't have said it better ourselves! Thank you so much for taking the time to comment. We really do appreciate it.

Kind regards - Andrea Gennarini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,706 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,167
    456
    61
    12
    10
See reviews for
351
822
149
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Miami Beach
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2012

Steps away from the Ponte Vecchio, this was an amazing little gem right in the middle of all the action. When we arrived, we mentioned we were on our honeymoon and the very helpful and friendly Andrea immediately upgraded us to a junior suite with a nice view of the Duomo. Our room was spacious, as was the bathroom (a rarity in European hotel rooms). I wouldn't stay anywhere else in Florence!

Don't worry about the fact that the hotel is up four flights of stairs - there is an elevator and the four flights are really not an issue for anyone other than people who require wheelchairs, as the elevator is quite small.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank coffeespoons8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-Alessandra, Proprietario at Hotel Alessandra, responded to this review, 5 February 2013
Thank you so much for choosing us for your honeymoon! It was great having you and we look forward to a return visit.

Kind regards - Andrea Gennarini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Reviewed 7 June 2012 via mobile

I stayed here for 4 nights. And when I arrived I didn't expect to see such a nice place! I stayed in rooms 25 and 6. Room 25 is darker and has a bit of stuffy air. I had shared bathrooms but they were also very clean, and had some florentine character in their design. Other good things about this hotel:
- super friendly staff
-air conditioned rooms
- rooms have a safe in them
- Italian tv
-nice decor
- luggage storage if you leave over night
-great great location

This hotel is a bit tricky to find! It is on the second floor and the elevator starts at the first floor!

I would recommend this for any traveler even those who are not on a budget.

Helpful?
1 Thank tararoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-Alessandra, Proprietario at Hotel Alessandra, responded to this review, 5 February 2013
We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for taking the time to comment here.

Kind regards - Andrea Gennarini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
Reviewed 6 June 2012

I generally stay at economy hotels in Europe and the Hotel Alessandra is one of the best. I had a single room with a private bath down the hall and both were immaculate. The room was of a nice size for a single. My room was very quiet, except for some street noise which is obviously beyond the hotel's control. The location of the hotel could not be better. The historic center of Florence is fairly compact and the hotel is in the historic center so everything was close. The train and bus stations are within walking distance. Breakfast was excellent and filling. The staff was uniformly nice and helpful. Special thanks to Monti who is efficient, informative and entertaining. The hotel is on the upper two floors of a 14th century palazzo. It's charming and fun and I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stacey P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Hotel Alessandra, responded to this review, 6 July 2012
Dear Guest, we very much enjoyed having you stay with us and sincerely hope to see you again in the future.

Kind regards - Andrea Gennarini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2012

We stayed for two nights in April. The location is perfect, short walk from everything we wanted to see, on a quiet street. There is few flights of stairs and an short elevator ride before you reach your room (tiny tiny elevator, we had a small umbrella stroller and it barely fit it plus one of us), but it wasn't a big problem for us. Our room was comfortable and clean with private bathroom, breakfast was very good with lots of choices, and the staff were very friendly and helpful. And then there was Monti - "old school" concierge, the friendliest person we've met, full of character, who went out of his way to make sure we were comfortable and well taken care of. He was very knowledgeable about the city, gave us excellent recommendations for restaurants and sightseeing, and took care of all of our reservations. The hotel was nice and comfortable and well located but it was Monti who made our stay a very special experience and whom we will remember the best when thinking about Florence.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank magdaitomek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Hotel Alessandra, responded to this review, 6 July 2012
Dear Guest, thank you for your comments. And a special "ciao" from Monti!

Kind regards - Andrea Gennarini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Il Guelfo Bianco
Il Guelfo Bianco
#27 of 420 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,250 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Casci
Hotel Casci
#36 of 420 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,645 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Rapallo
Hotel Rapallo
#24 of 420 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,873 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Hotel Perseo
Hotel Perseo
#40 of 420 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,700 reviews
Pitti
Hotel Restaurant  La Scaletta
Orcagna Hotel
#34 of 420 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alessandra? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alessandra

Property: Hotel Alessandra
Address: Borgo Santi Apostoli 17, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Uffizi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 420 Hotels in Florence
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,496 - ₹ 14,605
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Alessandra 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our family run hotel is right in the heart of Florence old town - near to the Uffizi Gallery and Ponte Vecchio. Without doubt, Hotel Alessandra is one of the most centrally located hotels in Florence. In this privileged position, Hotel Alessandra offers a home away from home, with our friendly team and extensive knowledge of the local area. The hotel entrance is situated on the second floor of the building. You can reach the reception floor using the lift, small but working fine (in the 1400s buildings hadn't been designed with this in mind!) But please note that there are around 30 steps from the entrance on the street level to the departure of the lift. We very much look forward to seeing you! Andrea and Anna ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Hotel Alessandra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing