We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Place to Stay in Florence”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Alessandra

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Alessandra
Ranked #35 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Miami Beach
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fantastic Place to Stay in Florence”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2012

Steps away from the Ponte Vecchio, this was an amazing little gem right in the middle of all the action. When we arrived, we mentioned we were on our honeymoon and the very helpful and friendly Andrea immediately upgraded us to a junior suite with a nice view of the Duomo. Our room was spacious, as was the bathroom (a rarity in European hotel rooms). I wouldn't stay anywhere else in Florence!

Don't worry about the fact that the hotel is up four flights of stairs - there is an elevator and the four flights are really not an issue for anyone other than people who require wheelchairs, as the elevator is quite small.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank coffeespoons8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-Alessandra, Proprietario at Hotel Alessandra, responded to this review, 5 February 2013
Thank you so much for choosing us for your honeymoon! It was great having you and we look forward to a return visit.

Kind regards - Andrea Gennarini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,697 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,162
    452
    61
    12
    10
See reviews for
348
817
149
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2012 via mobile

I stayed here for 4 nights. And when I arrived I didn't expect to see such a nice place! I stayed in rooms 25 and 6. Room 25 is darker and has a bit of stuffy air. I had shared bathrooms but they were also very clean, and had some florentine character in their design. Other good things about this hotel:
- super friendly staff
-air conditioned rooms
- rooms have a safe in them
- Italian tv
-nice decor
- luggage storage if you leave over night
-great great location

This hotel is a bit tricky to find! It is on the second floor and the elevator starts at the first floor!

I would recommend this for any traveler even those who are not on a budget.

Helpful?
1 Thank tararoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-Alessandra, Proprietario at Hotel Alessandra, responded to this review, 5 February 2013
We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for taking the time to comment here.

Kind regards - Andrea Gennarini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2012

I generally stay at economy hotels in Europe and the Hotel Alessandra is one of the best. I had a single room with a private bath down the hall and both were immaculate. The room was of a nice size for a single. My room was very quiet, except for some street noise which is obviously beyond the hotel's control. The location of the hotel could not be better. The historic center of Florence is fairly compact and the hotel is in the historic center so everything was close. The train and bus stations are within walking distance. Breakfast was excellent and filling. The staff was uniformly nice and helpful. Special thanks to Monti who is efficient, informative and entertaining. The hotel is on the upper two floors of a 14th century palazzo. It's charming and fun and I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stacey P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Hotel Alessandra, responded to this review, 6 July 2012
Dear Guest, we very much enjoyed having you stay with us and sincerely hope to see you again in the future.

Kind regards - Andrea Gennarini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2012

We stayed for two nights in April. The location is perfect, short walk from everything we wanted to see, on a quiet street. There is few flights of stairs and an short elevator ride before you reach your room (tiny tiny elevator, we had a small umbrella stroller and it barely fit it plus one of us), but it wasn't a big problem for us. Our room was comfortable and clean with private bathroom, breakfast was very good with lots of choices, and the staff were very friendly and helpful. And then there was Monti - "old school" concierge, the friendliest person we've met, full of character, who went out of his way to make sure we were comfortable and well taken care of. He was very knowledgeable about the city, gave us excellent recommendations for restaurants and sightseeing, and took care of all of our reservations. The hotel was nice and comfortable and well located but it was Monti who made our stay a very special experience and whom we will remember the best when thinking about Florence.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank magdaitomek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Hotel Alessandra, responded to this review, 6 July 2012
Dear Guest, thank you for your comments. And a special "ciao" from Monti!

Kind regards - Andrea Gennarini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newark, New Jersey
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2012 via mobile

I will first begin with the good, then explain why it was horrible overall. We came yo vacation here for our anniversary, and we thought because of all the good reviews we'd have a good time, but we didn't. First I would like to say Monti is an angel, and deserves every Euro he works for, and probably deserves more. He truly goes out of his way to try and make customers happy. He is the only reason we decided to stay after our first hour there. In addition to that, breakfast was good and adequate with a good variety of things sure to fill anyone up.

The bad:
everything else. They're located on the third or forth floor and you need to get up the first two flights via stairs, and we had quite a bit of luggage and so by the time we got up we we're sweating profusely. We get up there finally, and taken down another two flights of stairs to get to our room, like a hole somewhere. The room was clean, but very old and out of date. They walked with is there (no one even carried our luggage for us ) and we walk into a hot room with the windows open, and They had no screens on the windows. Before going we new there was a mosquito issue with this place, so we closed the windows right away, but the air conditioner had no remote anywhere. We go and ask for the AC to be put on, and Monti translated yo the lady (AND owner) and I felt some discomfort because They came back with " you want it on now"? And I'm standing there sweating like crazy, and said yes please. Monti came and turned it on and left. 5 to 10 minutes pass, and nothing is blowing out of the unit. My wife goes back this time and tells her the situation, Monti translates, and she says "No, just go back to your room, close the windows, and give it 15 minutes and it will go on". Well we got extremely pissed that we're guests who just came, are obviously hot, and get attitude about the AC. It took an additional 20 minutes before the unit goes on. Besides that, you have yo leave your key everyone you leave the hotel, then pick it up again when you come back. What's that about?! Besides that we interacted with no one else and seriously considered leaving. We went to Monti told him how we felt and how rude the old hag was, and he apologized over and over to us, and we felt he was truly sincere about it. He then had the cleaning people leave it on all the time for us, which was very nice of him to do. That first night,.low and behold, at least 4 different mosquitos are in the room, and so we had to run after them until we got them all. All in all, besides breakfast and Monti, it was not a pleasant place to stay. And if a response is written to this review, no excuse in the world will make up for it, and just as a heads up we will not give you a second chance if we ever go, and we will not accept your apology. I hope this review hits home with many so that the owner can understand the value of respect and kindness. Thanks for nothing. I generally am not so angry like this, bit if we pay for something and in the end are not respected, then I will in then turn loose all respect for you as well. If you still consider going, then just know it's not too far from most sightseeing places and you can actually walk all of it.

Thanks for reading.

RA

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Iluvemyh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-Alessandra, Direttore at Hotel Alessandra, responded to this review, 5 June 2012
Firstly thank you for your comments. We always appreciate reading everyone's point of view. Of course I was disappointed in reading about your experience with us. Monti has been employed by us for many many years, and we consider him as part of the family by now. He, as all staff members, is trained and instructed to handle all situations with the utmost courtesy, and helpfulness, I agree with you when you say it is a plus to have him on our staff. But is important for you to know that he is trained and instructed by the "old hag" (my mother, her name is Anna) and myself regards how to handle each situation at the hotel. I have of course spoken with Monti about your review and he remembers you very well indeed! He also recalls that despite you arriving before official check-in time you were accommodated directly in your room, without air-con switched on (as you were early - but that's ok, when we can receive you early it's no big problem!), and that it was activated on your arrival. By the way, our brand new ecological air-conditioning units that were installed this winter (including your room) , and are super-efficient and good for the environment.That was the only issue brought to Monti's attention. We personally only met briefly at breakfast probably, and no issues were raised with me directly.

Concerning the fact that the hotel’s entrance is located on the second (US) floor of the building, and that the lift is 30 steps after the entrance of the building I would invite you to read other reviews mentioning this (it's also highlighted on the home page of our website, and is amply talked about on our facebook page, even with photos!). We certainly don't hide the fact - and many of our guests love the extra workout they get after so many plates of pasta and icecreams!

We deeply regret the adverse impression you gained but we can see that we were not the right choice for you. All the information about us (the good, the bad and the ugly) is all easily available. We are a great budget-friendly two star family-run ultra-friendly hotel in a centuries old building right in the heart of Florence with lots of stairs. We are not swish, sophisticated, ulta-modern or up-market. And we have never claimed to be so.

Kind Regards

Andrea Gennarini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Il Guelfo Bianco
Il Guelfo Bianco
#28 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,228 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Casci
Hotel Casci
#38 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,626 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Rapallo
Hotel Rapallo
#25 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,844 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Hotel Perseo
Hotel Perseo
#40 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,683 reviews
Pitti
Hotel Restaurant  La Scaletta
Orcagna Hotel
#33 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 753 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alessandra? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alessandra

Property: Hotel Alessandra
Address: Borgo Santi Apostoli 17, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Uffizi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,655 - ₹ 13,573
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Alessandra 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our family run hotel is right in the heart of Florence old town - near to the Uffizi Gallery and Ponte Vecchio. Without doubt, Hotel Alessandra is one of the most centrally located hotels in Florence. In this privileged position, Hotel Alessandra offers a home away from home, with our friendly team and extensive knowledge of the local area. The hotel entrance is situated on the second floor of the building. You can reach the reception floor using the lift, small but working fine (in the 1400s buildings hadn't been designed with this in mind!) But please note that there are around 30 steps from the entrance on the street level to the departure of the lift. We very much look forward to seeing you! Andrea and Anna ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Hotel Alessandra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing