We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Alessandra
Nearby Hotels
US$ 491
US$ 370
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$ 599
US$ 450
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
US$ 296
US$ 268
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Degli Orafi(Florence)
US$ 358
US$ 338
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$ 409
US$ 395
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$ 417
US$ 367
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$ 601
US$ 472
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hilton Florence Metropole(Florence)(Great Value!)
US$ 183
US$ 125
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$ 366
US$ 312
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$ 324
US$ 305
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,806)
Filter reviews
1,806 results
Traveller rating
1,231
489
63
13
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,231
489
63
13
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsponte vecchiosmiley facesmall elevatorbell towerquiet streetflights of stairsview of the riverperfect locationtrain stationstay there againuffizi galleryyogurtheavy luggagehotel is locatedside streetgelatorestaurant recommendations
Filter
Updating list...
820 - 825 of 1,806 reviews
Reviewed 30 March 2012

This was our favorite place to stay during our recent visit to Italy. The staff was friendly and helpful. We felt very comfortable and safe, almost like visiting family. Our rooms were spacious and very clean. We liked the variety of rooms. (Our 23 year old son could have a room of his own.) We were confused when we first arrived since the reception area is up a few flights, but once we had it figured out and used the lift, it was no problem. Breakfast was great and a computer with internet was available for our use. We have recommended Hotel Allesandra to our friends and family who plan to visit Florence and will definitely stay there when we return to Florence.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sheli T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndreaGennarini, Owner at Hotel Alessandra, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2015

We're so honored to have been your favorite! We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2012

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
AndreaGennarini, Owner at Hotel Alessandra, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2015

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 24 March 2012

For the money you cannot beat the location, breakfast and quality. The staff are the nicest we encounterd in Italy; very helpful, nice, welcoming. i did not give this 5 stars because i am rating it as a family. We have a 16month old, so traveling means stroller and extra stuff to carry around. To enter the hotel lobby you have to climb 2 flights of stairs to a 2 person lift (not big enough for open stroller and one adult), take lift to 2nd floor (by stairs another 4 flights). once checked in you need to take another flight of stairs to room. While excersise is great the set up of hotel can be pretty scary with a little one. If you do not have litte kids in strollers this place is awesome. Unfortunately there is not much hotel could do to improve access issues as it was built like 500 years ago....

Stayed: March 2012
2  Thank mike d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndreaGennarini, Owner at Hotel Alessandra, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2015

Thanks for writing, we're glad you enjoyed your stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2012

We were there 4 days in March, 2012. The location was within easy walking distance to most everything. The two rooms our family of six had were very clean and the sheets and towels were spotless. The furniture is old--might even qualify for antiques (wardrobe rather than closet)--but serviceable. Our room (#24) had 2 twins pushed together. Since we were 2 grandmothers joining our children on this trip, we pulled the beds apart so as to have a little individual space. When we moved the beds, not a spec of dust nor a cobweb was seen on the floor or the baseboard!!! (If a guest moved a bed at my house, she mighn't be so fortunate!!!) The breakfast was quite sufficient, but the same each day--yogurt-toast-cream/jelly filled croissants-boiled eggs-cereal-cheese-bologna-various coffees & teas-juice-water. Our room did not have a fridge, but the other room did, so we could get a cold water or soda when we came in.

This hotel earned an extra point in my rating due to the staff. Everyone we dealt with was exceeding helpful and kind!!! We used a laundry service and one pair of my slacks looked better than when I packed them! We had an unpleasant smell in our room one day and the young man did not understand my English sufficiently, so he had me to spell the word and then he googled it for a translation--the maid was there shortly. We were anxious to have Italian polenta, but hadn't found it on a menu. Monty called a restauranteur friend and while he usually only served polenta in the winter, he made it specially for us that night!!! How do you top that!!!

The negatives included the 30 steps prior to the lift and no bellmen here, the noisy street sounds, and the over-used blankets and spreads. HOWEVER, the cleanliness, the location, and the staff outweighted those things.

Room Tip: Room 24: no view except wall of next building and alley-- 2 singles pushed together, but room is large enough to separate them a bit--dresser, wardrobe, dressing table w/chair and private bathroom w/shower, no tub. Room 23: large family room--one large double (maybe 2 twins) plus 2 singles--miniscule balcony that overlooked nothing appealing, but was great for fresh air--closet--dresser-dressing table w/chair--small stocked fridge--private bath with tub & shower.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 1SaraB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndreaGennarini, Owner at Hotel Alessandra, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2015

We're so glad we could be a help for you while you were traveling! We hope to have you back someday!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2012

This is an excellent location for Florence. Within steps of the Ponte Vecchio and within walking distance to everything else. The staff was friendly and very helpful. We arrived before our room was ready and they stored our bags and put them in the room later so that we could begin exploring Florence. They offered to made dinner reservations for us. They were so friendly. Just be aware that there are about 20 or so steps from the ground level to get up to the Lift. But, for anyone who travels abroad, a few steps are not uncommon in any hotel. You will not be disappointed if you stay here.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Beth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndreaGennarini, Owner at Hotel Alessandra, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2015

Thank you so much for writing for us, we're so glad you enjoyed your time with us here in Firenze! We hope to see you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews