We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service and accommodation”
Review of Hotel Alessandra

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Alessandra
Ranked #40 of 411 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 January 2012

We have just spent two weeks staying at Hotel Alessandra and would highly recommend this delightful pensione right in the centre of Florence. Andrea and Anna made us very welcome and they were always happy to assist with any questions about places to visit and local restaurants etc. The night concierge were also welcoming and helpful. The rooms are comfortable and cosy. We have stayed in this pensione before and look forward to staying there again.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gillian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndreaGennarini, Owner at Hotel Alessandra, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2015

Thank you for choosing us time and time again, we're always so glad to have you! Come back soon!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,790)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

825 - 829 of 1,790 reviews

Reviewed 14 January 2012

Clean, comfortable rooms. Extremely spacious by European standards! The furniture is a little dated but does the job. Great location. Should warn the hotel is located on the third floor of the building with a tiny, tiny lift. Also one flight of stairs leading up to the lift. Didn't bother us as staff were on hand to help us carry bags up the stairs - but may bother some. Staff were extremely friendly and helpful - rare for many italian hotels! A special thank you to Monty who's charm and service is exceptional. Highly recommended. Would happily stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Catherine1_86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndreaGennarini, Owner at Hotel Alessandra, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2015

We're glad that our stairs didn't bother you, we like to think they're part of our charm! We hope to see you here again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2012

Nothing better than telling my friend: Must not miss Florence if you travel to Italy, must not miss this hotel if you visit Florence.
Friendly, attentive and helpful staff made my trip with such a beautiful hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for lower floor in advance if required.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank xiaopengabel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndreaGennarini, Owner at Hotel Alessandra, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2015

Thank you so much for your kind recommendation! We hope you come and stay with us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2012

We spent three nights at the Hotel Alessandra at the beginning of January. The location of the hotel couldn't be better; it's in the heart of the city a couple of minutes from the Uffizi Gallery and the Ponte Vecchio. We had a nicely-furnished room, very clean, with comfortable beds. Internet use and a good breakfast were included. The staff were very friendly and helpful (just like everybody else we met during our trip). If you arrive by car, it is important to have a printout of the directions to the parking garage; otherwise, it's almost impossible to find it. We had a great stay at the Hotel Alessandra, and I would definitely stay there again. The only thing to consider if you have a problem going up stairs is that the hotel is on the second floor (U.S. third floor), and you have to climb some steep stairs to get to the elevator.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JuKaB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndreaGennarini, Owner at Hotel Alessandra, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2015

Thank you so much for writing, we hope that you decide to come and stay with us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2012

We had a wonderful 2 night stay at the Hotel Alessandra. The walking directions from the train station were perfect. There are around 30 steps up to a 2 person (barely!) old fashioned elevator which for us only added to the charm of the place. We were greeted warmly each time we entered and exited the hotel. We were upgraded to a room with a view of the Arno River which was unexpected and very much appreciated. There is a clock tower next to the hotel but did not disturb us at all as the ringing is limited to certain hours. The location is very convenient to the major sights in Florence. All the people at the desk were extremely helpful and provided us with good directions, maps and restaurant recommendations. The breakfast was included in the very reasonable room rate and gave us a good start for our long days of seeing the beautiful sights of Florence. We hope to return some day (rub the nose of Il Porcellino to insure your return!). Grazie mille!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gailruss1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndreaGennarini, Owner at Hotel Alessandra, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2015

We're so glad you love our stairs and elevator as much as we do! It certainly makes us feel better about all the pasta that we eat! We hope you come and stay with us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Il Guelfo Bianco
Il Guelfo Bianco
#26 of 411 in Florence
2,408 reviews
Uffizi
Hotel Hermitage
Hotel Hermitage
#68 of 411 in Florence
640 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Perseo
Hotel Perseo
#42 of 411 in Florence
1,870 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Hotel Orto De Medici
Hotel Orto De Medici
#39 of 411 in Florence
2,250 reviews
Orcagna Hotel
#41 of 411 in Florence
851 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Pendini
Hotel Pendini
#36 of 411 in Florence
2,073 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alessandra? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alessandra

Address: Borgo Santi Apostoli 17, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Uffizi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 411 Hotels in Florence
Price Range: ₹ 6,178 - ₹ 14,331 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Alessandra 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our family run hotel is right in the heart of Florence old town - near to the Uffizi Gallery and Ponte Vecchio. Without doubt, Hotel Alessandra is one of the most centrally located hotels in Florence. In this privileged position, Hotel Alessandra offers a home away from home, with our friendly team and extensive knowledge of the local area. The hotel entrance is situated on the second floor of the building. You can reach the reception floor using the lift, small but working fine (in the 1400s buildings hadn't been designed with this in mind!) But please note that there are around 30 steps from the entrance on the street level to the departure of the lift. We very much look forward to seeing you! Andrea and Anna ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Alessandra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing