We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eleni, Athens-Greece”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
De Rose Palace Hotel
Ranked #211 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Πειραιάς, Ελλάδα
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Eleni, Athens-Greece”
Reviewed 23 February 2012

Located in a quiet area just a few steps from river Arno, very close to the Santa Maria Novella train station and bus terminal, and within 15 minutes walking distance from the historical center. Very cute and clean rooms, very helpful and friendly staff.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 536_Eleni_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelderoseflorence, Owner at De Rose Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 24 February 2012
Dear Guest,
thanks for your valuable comments ... hope to see you again soon in florence
Regards
Osvaldo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

310 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    83
    120
    60
    31
    16
See reviews for
53
171
21
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mostar, Bosnia and Herzegovina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2012

A big deception. it doesn't deserve to have 4 stars. I would give only 2*. No parking, we had to leave our car in a public garage for 2 nights and had to pay 40€. Breakfast... I've seen better in HOSTELS around Europe.
The only positive point is the proximity of the old town (about 10-15 minutes walk). Do not trust pictures you see on the web site!!!! this hotel is just if you have no other place to sleep.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sev z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelderoseflorence, Direttore vendite at De Rose Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 7 February 2012
Dear Guest,
thanks for your valuable comment that encourages us to continuously improve our services for our guests.
Unfortunately we are perfectly aware of the excessive cost of parking in Florence but we can not help it. I'm afraid but we are not to take certain municipal decisions
In this regard, with the current new hotel management, we have activated a special offer that includes the room even with the discounted parking.
Thanking you again for your comment and hope to have you staying with us again best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Florence hotels

5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Cape Town
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2011

This was the second stop for myself and four friends enjoying a two week tour of Italy from South Africa. Having already realised from our first hotel that the Italian hotel grading system appears hugely different from that in South Africa - De Rose Palace was still quite a shock to us. To give you an idea, this would be like a two star in SA, definitely no where near a four star as advertised. Firstly the hotel is terribly old fashioned and in need of a refurb, and even has that old smell about it. As we checked in, as two ladies (our male friends were arriving a day later) - we were not once offered any help with our luggage. We eventualy found our room and once again were shocked at the size of the room. Having experienced lovely soft duvets at our previous hotel in Rome, we were now disappointed to see the return of sheets and blankets. In my mind, these should be banned in this day and age ... especially as I remember from my early hotel management training that blankets are not washed in a hotel anywhere near as often as they should be. Although the room itself appeared clean enough, it had the type of carpet where you did not want to walk around barefoot - really grubby and again that smell. The most disappointing thing for me about this hotel though, was the breakfast - it was as basic as one can get ... so much so, that on our second morning, we decided to buy breakfast elsewhere. It is also served in a downstairs dungeon room ... with smelly carpeted stairs to lead you down there. There is a toilet for guests to use down there too - but beware, it is not attached to the wall and leaks badly! The one good thing I will say about the hotel is the free wifi and not a bad location - it is two steps from the river front and about a 12 minute walk to the Ponte Vecchio.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Samantha C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelderoseflorence, Direttore vendite at De Rose Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 7 February 2012
Dear Guest,
thanks for your comment
as suggested by you, with the current new hotel management, we are making radical changes that should definitely eliminate those drawbacks.
Thanking you again for your comments we look forward to having you back as a guest.
sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 October 2011

Me and my husbund have been in Florence from September 28th to October 2nd. Florence is one of the most beautiful city in Italy and this hotel made our experience more exciting.
The hotel gives you all the comforts you need. The staff is nice and friendly, the room was very comfortable and clean.
Each morning we could enjoy a pretty good breakfast. If you're looking for some good hotel in Florence I can definetely recommend it.
Kara and Michael.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kara W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
87 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2011

I have traveled many years for business and pleasure and I would put this hotel way on the bottom of the list. The room was good and was clean, but the staff was indifferent, unresponsive, uncaring and basically I felt that I was burdening them if I asked them anything, like if the air conditioning was working (it wasn’t), where to eat, how to get somewhere, etc. Also there is no place (except the warm lobby) to sit and have a glass of wine, no terrace or patio – there were places out in the middle of the street area you could sit. Also this hotel is a long walk to anything.

Room Tip: go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank plstrobel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Palazzo Ognissanti
Hotel Palazzo Ognissanti
#175 of 421 in Florence
3.5 of 5 bubbles 926 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Executive Florence
Hotel Executive Florence
#99 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Adler Cavalieri
Adler Cavalieri
#82 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Hotel Atlantic Palace
Hotel Atlantic Palace
#137 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,104 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Ginori al Duomo - Italhotels Group
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Club Florence
Hotel Club Florence
#134 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 771 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Rose Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Rose Palace Hotel

Property: De Rose Palace Hotel
Address: Via Solferino 5, 50123, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Maria Novella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#103 Luxury Hotel in Florence
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,688 - ₹ 13,510
Hotel Class:4 star — De Rose Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Housed in a traditional Florentine mansion, in a peaceful neighbourhood just a short walk from Ponte Vecchio and Florence central train station, De Rose Palace Hotel is the ideal place to discover all the attractions of downtown Florence while enjoying a peaceful, intimate accommodation.TYPICAL FLORENTINE DECOR -Graceful ambiences decorated with handcrafted furniture reflect the traditional atmosphere of old Florence.WHIRLPOOL BATHROOMS AND MODERN COMFORTS -18 classic rooms showcase baths or showers, modern comforts including air conditioning, satellite Sky TV LCD with soccer and movie channel free. All rooms with Wi-Fi Internet connection free and kettle with tea and coffee. A PEACEFUL, UPSCALE LOCATION -De Rose Palace Hotel is located near the banks of the Arno river, in the elegant residential area of Florence's Opera House, just a short walk away from Florence's major attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your De Rose Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Rose Palace Florence
Hotel De Rose Palace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing