We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
De Rose Palace Hotel
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Corte dei Medici(Florence)(Great Value!)
US$ 182
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Roma(Florence)
US$ 246
US$ 208
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Pendini(Florence)
US$ 252
US$ 224
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Brunelleschi(Florence)
US$ 505
US$ 400
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$ 367
US$ 272
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$ 332
US$ 276
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel dei Macchiaioli(Florence)(Great Value!)
US$ 219
US$ 213
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$ 452
US$ 428
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$ 254
US$ 230
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$ 422
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (348)
Filter reviews
349 results
Traveller rating
91
135
66
35
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
91
135
66
35
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsquiet streetstay pleasantfairly quiet areatraditional italian hoteltrain stationbase to explorewalk along the riverrecommend this hotelsafe locationmain attractionsminute strollvery nice hoteltea and coffeereception stafffresh fruitwalking distanceincluded breakfast
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
145 - 150 of 349 reviews
Reviewed 27 January 2012

A big deception. it doesn't deserve to have 4 stars. I would give only 2*. No parking, we had to leave our car in a public garage for 2 nights and had to pay 40€. Breakfast... I've seen better in HOSTELS around Europe.
The only positive point is the proximity of the old town (about 10-15 minutes walk). Do not trust pictures you see on the web site!!!! this hotel is just if you have no other place to sleep.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sev z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelderoseflorence, Direttore vendite at De Rose Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2012

Dear Guest,
thanks for your valuable comment that encourages us to continuously improve our services for our guests.
Unfortunately we are perfectly aware of the excessive cost of parking in Florence but we can not help it. I'm afraid but we are not to take certain municipal decisions
In this regard, with the current new hotel management, we have activated a special offer that includes the room even with the discounted parking.
Thanking you again for your comment and hope to have you staying with us again best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2011

This was the second stop for myself and four friends enjoying a two week tour of Italy from South Africa. Having already realised from our first hotel that the Italian hotel grading system appears hugely different from that in South Africa - De Rose Palace was still quite a shock to us. To give you an idea, this would be like a two star in SA, definitely no where near a four star as advertised. Firstly the hotel is terribly old fashioned and in need of a refurb, and even has that old smell about it. As we checked in, as two ladies (our male friends were arriving a day later) - we were not once offered any help with our luggage. We eventualy found our room and once again were shocked at the size of the room. Having experienced lovely soft duvets at our previous hotel in Rome, we were now disappointed to see the return of sheets and blankets. In my mind, these should be banned in this day and age ... especially as I remember from my early hotel management training that blankets are not washed in a hotel anywhere near as often as they should be. Although the room itself appeared clean enough, it had the type of carpet where you did not want to walk around barefoot - really grubby and again that smell. The most disappointing thing for me about this hotel though, was the breakfast - it was as basic as one can get ... so much so, that on our second morning, we decided to buy breakfast elsewhere. It is also served in a downstairs dungeon room ... with smelly carpeted stairs to lead you down there. There is a toilet for guests to use down there too - but beware, it is not attached to the wall and leaks badly! The one good thing I will say about the hotel is the free wifi and not a bad location - it is two steps from the river front and about a 12 minute walk to the Ponte Vecchio.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Samantha C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelderoseflorence, Direttore vendite at De Rose Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2012

Dear Guest,
thanks for your comment
as suggested by you, with the current new hotel management, we are making radical changes that should definitely eliminate those drawbacks.
Thanking you again for your comments we look forward to having you back as a guest.
sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2011

Me and my husbund have been in Florence from September 28th to October 2nd. Florence is one of the most beautiful city in Italy and this hotel made our experience more exciting.
The hotel gives you all the comforts you need. The staff is nice and friendly, the room was very comfortable and clean.
Each morning we could enjoy a pretty good breakfast. If you're looking for some good hotel in Florence I can definetely recommend it.
Kara and Michael.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kara W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2011

I have traveled many years for business and pleasure and I would put this hotel way on the bottom of the list. The room was good and was clean, but the staff was indifferent, unresponsive, uncaring and basically I felt that I was burdening them if I asked them anything, like if the air conditioning was working (it wasn’t), where to eat, how to get somewhere, etc. Also there is no place (except the warm lobby) to sit and have a glass of wine, no terrace or patio – there were places out in the middle of the street area you could sit. Also this hotel is a long walk to anything.

Room Tip: go somewhere else
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank plstrobel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2011

We stayed for 3 nights in this hotel. Unfortunately, it fell short of our expectations. Definitely not a four- star hotel! Upon checking in, the man at reception immediately told us to write an excellent review for De Rose Palace Hotel. We thought we would do so, but sad to say, the room was dark, the bathroom was dirty and drain clogged, and on our last night, air conditioning in our room was not working and we had to sleep with the windows open. Location though, was okay, as well as the breakfast spread.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chito B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelderoseflorence, Direttore vendite at De Rose Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2012

Dear Guest,
thanks for your comment
we consider extremely important the opinion of our guests.
Now, with the new hotel management , as you and other guests suggested, we've made some significant changes to rooms, buffet breakfast and everything related to the hospitality and welcome for our guests.
Hoping to having you as a guest to give the service and reception it deserves, please accept our
Warm Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews