We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good experience.”
Review of Hotel Rex

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Rex
Ranked #341 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Reviewed 9 November 2011

Good location. Friendly staff. Clean. Decent breakfast. Decent value. Stayed there July 2009.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ccocco58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (376)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

95 - 99 of 376 reviews

Reviewed 9 November 2011

We always stay at the Rex when we are in Florence because it is right where it's at, in the middle of the city, in a street that is the "real" Florence with wonderful authentic restaurants and friendly Florentine people. Michelangelo's masterpieces are just round the corner and so is the fantastic food market. The hotel isn't plastic or bland but has the imprint of time which gives it its unique character. Some of the negative reviews stem from people who like alll hotels to be the same I suspect. It may not be the swishest place in town but when you stay here, you know you are in Florence.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Colin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2011

We picked Rex because it is close to the train station and at the same time close to a lot of places we'd visit.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Condeescu M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2011

The hotel is old and rooms rather dated. However it was clean enough, and the location cannot be beat. It is VERY central to all you could wish to see in Florence. Easy walking access to the SMN Train station and the price was right. The staff were very helpful, and polite. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank adrianyyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2011

We picked Rex because it is close to the train station and at the same time close to a lot of places we'd visit. And to what that concerns we weren't disappointed. A bit of walk and there was the Duomo, and then the Palazzo Vecchio and then the Galleria Uffizi and Galleria della Academia and Ponte Vecchio. It's a real bit of walk, but let me tell you: it's worth it! You walk and see history on the streets. Priceless!! And I should mention too that Florence has a great downtown area with lots os fancy stores, restaurants and gellaterias. Make sure you taste a gelatto at the shop that's on the left side of Duomo, right on front of where you buy the tickets to walk up the stairs of the Cupula.
Well, back to the hotel: the room is freaking tiny! Not much space to move, I'm serious. We booked a double room, maybe the family rooms are larger and more comfy.
Bathroom is small too and when you open the door you can already jump over the bed! Easier than walk your way to the bedsides.
Breakfast was ok. They have some real good yogurts called Milla.
We slept well; no sign of the noisy pub while we stayed there. Lots of restaurants just a few blocks away.
Buy your water/grosseries on the mini markets around. Much cheaper than at the hotel's.

Overall: average hotel. Not comfortable at all but with some benefits.
I would not stay at Rex again, but would definitely return to Florence!

Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
1  Thank PatiSantos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
San Giorgio e Olimpic
San Giorgio e Olimpic
#255 of 410 in Florence
671 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Le Due Fontane
Hotel Le Due Fontane
#251 of 410 in Florence
531 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Alinari
Hotel Alinari
#303 of 410 in Florence
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Martelli Hotel
Martelli Hotel
#309 of 410 in Florence
620 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Palazzo Vecchio
Hotel Palazzo Vecchio
#158 of 410 in Florence
610 reviews
San Lorenzo
Galileo Hotel
Galileo Hotel
#219 of 410 in Florence
443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rex? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rex

Address: Via Faenza 6, 50123, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #341 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Price Range: ₹ 4,320 - ₹ 12,800 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Rex 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family owned & managed with modern ensuite facilities; located 200 meters from Santa Maria Novella Rail Station; near the Duomo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Rex reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rex Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing