We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good experience.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Rex

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Rex
Ranked #338 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Wayland, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good experience.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2011

Good location. Friendly staff. Clean. Decent breakfast. Decent value. Stayed there July 2009.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ccocco58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

337 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    107
    94
    49
    61
See reviews for
58
145
22
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lewes, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2011

We always stay at the Rex when we are in Florence because it is right where it's at, in the middle of the city, in a street that is the "real" Florence with wonderful authentic restaurants and friendly Florentine people. Michelangelo's masterpieces are just round the corner and so is the fantastic food market. The hotel isn't plastic or bland but has the imprint of time which gives it its unique character. Some of the negative reviews stem from people who like alll hotels to be the same I suspect. It may not be the swishest place in town but when you stay here, you know you are in Florence.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Colin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucuresti, Bucuresti, Romania
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2011

We picked Rex because it is close to the train station and at the same time close to a lot of places we'd visit.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Condeescu M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2011

The hotel is old and rooms rather dated. However it was clean enough, and the location cannot be beat. It is VERY central to all you could wish to see in Florence. Easy walking access to the SMN Train station and the price was right. The staff were very helpful, and polite. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank adrianyyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sorocaba, SP
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2011

We picked Rex because it is close to the train station and at the same time close to a lot of places we'd visit. And to what that concerns we weren't disappointed. A bit of walk and there was the Duomo, and then the Palazzo Vecchio and then the Galleria Uffizi and Galleria della Academia and Ponte Vecchio. It's a real bit of walk, but let me tell you: it's worth it! You walk and see history on the streets. Priceless!! And I should mention too that Florence has a great downtown area with lots os fancy stores, restaurants and gellaterias. Make sure you taste a gelatto at the shop that's on the left side of Duomo, right on front of where you buy the tickets to walk up the stairs of the Cupula.
Well, back to the hotel: the room is freaking tiny! Not much space to move, I'm serious. We booked a double room, maybe the family rooms are larger and more comfy.
Bathroom is small too and when you open the door you can already jump over the bed! Easier than walk your way to the bedsides.
Breakfast was ok. They have some real good yogurts called Milla.
We slept well; no sign of the noisy pub while we stayed there. Lots of restaurants just a few blocks away.
Buy your water/grosseries on the mini markets around. Much cheaper than at the hotel's.

Overall: average hotel. Not comfortable at all but with some benefits.
I would not stay at Rex again, but would definitely return to Florence!

Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank PatiSantos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
San Giorgio e Olimpic
San Giorgio e Olimpic
#239 of 421 in Florence
3.5 of 5 bubbles 603 reviews
San Lorenzo
Martelli Hotel
Martelli Hotel
#304 of 421 in Florence
3.0 of 5 bubbles 556 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Alinari
Hotel Alinari
#329 of 421 in Florence
3.0 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Hotel Machiavelli Palace
Hotel Machiavelli Palace
#197 of 421 in Florence
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,103 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Donatello
Hotel Donatello
#283 of 421 in Florence
3.0 of 5 bubbles 541 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Delle Nazioni Hotel
Delle Nazioni Hotel
#191 of 421 in Florence
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rex? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rex

Property: Hotel Rex
Address: Via Faenza 6, 50123, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #338 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,673 - ₹ 11,115
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Rex 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family owned & managed with modern ensuite facilities; located 200 meters from Santa Maria Novella Rail Station; near the Duomo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, HRS and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Rex reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rex Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing