We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
NH Collection Firenze Porta Rossa
Ranked #31 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary, Alberta, Canadá
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic Stay”
Reviewed 28 June 2012

For our trip to Florence we actually researched hotels on Trip Advisor. We are very particular on the places we stay - our number one priority is cleanliness. Trip Advisor did not let us down - our stay at the Porta Rossa was simply fabulous. The people at the hotel were friendly and very helpful, the hotel was beautiful, the rooms were modern and lovely, and our room and the hotel was very, very clean. The location of this hotel was perfect, within walking distance to pretty much all the sites in Florence. I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with NH Hoteles

Helpful?
1 Thank JenYYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,032 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,428
    474
    94
    20
    16
See reviews for
321
1,173
78
166
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (240)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
taipei
Level Contributor
43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2012

We adored this hotel for many reasons, one being that its location is within easy walking distance to everything we wanted to see: The Laurentian Library, the Uffizi, Santa Croce...as well as close to the Ponte Vecchio and its leather shops, the department stores, etc. Apart from that, the building which the receptionist told me is the oldest hotel in Florence, is tastefully updated with plenty of outlets, a heated towel bar, a complete selection of bathroom amenities, and stylish decor. The hotel was also cosy: there is a lounge in the lobby area where you can use the WiFi for free. It is a bit annoying that you have to keep logging in every half an hour, but it was nice to go down there and surf at the early hours of the morning while waiting for breakfast. The hotel staff is present, but discreet and speak perfect English. Breakfast was served in a room behind the lobby, with a good selection of juices, breads, cheeses and yogurt. The waitress remembered that I liked capuccino and fresh orange juice on my second morning there.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank taipeirose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
90 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2012

We loved our stay at the Porta Rossa. It is housed in a beautiful historic building and the location is excellent. You can walk everywhere. Our room had very high ceilings (which made it seem larger) and was very quiet. Our bed was very comfortable with lovely bed linens. The only minor thing that I didn't like was the pillows which were a bit hard. Our room had a very nice bathroom with gray stone tiles and nice amenities. Our grown children were with us and their room was equally lovely with two twin beds. They also really enjoyed the Porta Rossa. It was nice in the heat of the day to be able to pop back to your room to cool down a bit and relax. The concierges were very helpful and gave us good suggestions. The breakfast buffet was excellent with many, many choices. We will definitely stay here again the next time we visit Florence.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back to ensure that you have a quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DiscerningTraveler99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2012

We loved the location of this hotel, which is set within a 10-minute walk of most of Florence's major sights. We stayed here on two occasions, and the rooms were always very clean and comfortable. If we had to gripe, it would be that one of the bathrooms was a tad small, though that didn't mar our experience. The staff were, for the most part, very polite and helpful. Depending on the room you get, you may or may not hear the street noises, or be set so close to the next building that you'll be able to speak comfortably to the person living across from you without raising your voice. Still, all that can be easily rectified by simply closing the windows. We loved our daily breakfast buffets which offered fruit, cereal, yoghurt, pastries, cold cuts, salad, cheese and lots of juices. Free wi-fi in the lobby is also a bonus. This was definitely one of the better hotels I've stayed in in Europe and if I'm ever in Florence again, I'd return for sure.

One tip: Although all the literature tells you that the hotel is a five-minute walk from the Santa Maria Novella train station (and it is), you're better off taking a cab there, especially if you're dragging suitcases. The labyrinth of streets in Florence is notoriously difficult to navigate (and especially hard on your bags' castor wheels) particularly when you first arrive. So spend the seven euro on your taxi fare and save yourself the frustration.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnetteSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2012

We stayed in the NH Porta Rossi Florence in early June for 2 days - after a 5 night stay in Rome. We arived in Florence at 8AM and had a busy day planned; we needed to quickly store our bags and get to our tour. Once arriving at the NH Porta Rossi - Laurent - the front desk clerk not only offered us access to the free breakfast buffet but also checked us into our beautiful room early. The room was modern, providing a nice juxtaposition to the old-style charm of the building itself. This is one of the best hotel renovations I've seen where they've maintained the charm of the original building but have all the upgrades.

On our 2nd day we had planned a day trip to Pisa and then needed to get back to Rome later that evening. Laurent provided us a note for the desk manager at the NH Hotel in Pisa, who allowed us to store our bags there during our few hours in Pisa.

I would highly recommend this hotel and especially thank Laurent for all his help.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vanessa-maryland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
Hotel Davanzati
Hotel Davanzati
#8 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,442 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Spadai
Hotel Spadai
#4 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,151 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Milu
Hotel Milu
#11 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Palazzo Castri 1874
Palazzo Castri 1874
#6 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 856 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Brunelleschi
Hotel Brunelleschi
#22 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,701 reviews
Uffizi
Hotel Degli Orafi
Hotel Degli Orafi
#32 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Collection Firenze Porta Rossa? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Collection Firenze Porta Rossa

Property: NH Collection Firenze Porta Rossa
Address: Via Porta Rossa,19 | Porta Rossa, City Centre, 50123, Florence, Italy (Formerly NH Porta Rossa)
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Duomo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Florence
#23 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#24 Family Hotel in Florence
#26 Luxury Hotel in Florence
Price range (per night): ₹ 13,544 - ₹ 27,607
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Collection Firenze Porta Rossa 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The NH Collection Firenze Porta Rossa hotel in Florence is a historical landmark, offering modern adaptations of classical beauty. Built in the 12th century, the NH Collection Firenze Porta Rossa hotel is one of the oldest hotels in Italy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, NHHotels, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your NH Collection Firenze Porta Rossa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Porta Rossa Hotel Florence
Hotel Porta Rossa
Porta Rossa Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing