We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Florence's Best Bang for the Buck”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Pitti Palace al Ponte Vecchio
Ranked #75 of 409 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 February 2012

Ideally located, at the far end of the Ponte Vecchio from the Duomo. It is housed in what used to be the Torre de Rossi from the 1200's. You enter a small but utilitarian lobby manned by
multilingual friendly staff. A typically slow elevator, matching the Italian way of life, takes you to your floor. the rooms are small yet adequate with plenty of storage. The bathrooms somewhat dated but have all you need.

For breakfast take the elevator to the top floor where a good spread greets the eyes and satisfys the hunger including, fresh fruit, cold cereal, scrambled eggs, bread, toast and rolls with butter and jam, lots of coffee and even tea for you Brits...LOL! On top of that you can take your plate and dine al fresco on one of two rooftop terraces overlooking the Arno or the Ponte Vecchio with the Vasari Corridor. This is a great place for a drink in the afternoon to rest your weary legs for all the sightseeing and get your second wind before starting your evening passeggiata to "Fare la bella figura."

If you don't know it there are several outstanding restaurants along the Burgo San Jacopo. As the front desk for suggestions. The best one is on the continuation of the Burgo San Jacopo on the Via Santo Spirito. I'm not allowed to mention any names but I can tell you it is renowned for its oil and conviviality.

Also ask the front desk for a guide who knows the custom jewelry ateliers as the Oltrarno is famous for them.

Here you are at the center of all things bright and beautiful....and edible. Enjoy!

Room Tip: Try and get one facing the Arno.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dave514
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VivaPittiPalace, Assistant Manager at Pitti Palace al Ponte Vecchio, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2012

Dear Guest

Your comment is very interesting and full of good suggestions, thank you for rating our hotel so high, I am pleased that you enjoyed our Terrace and the Italian Way of Life! Hope to welcome you again soon

Regards
Sabrina Bisconti
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,770)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

827 - 831 of 1,770 reviews

Reviewed 20 February 2012

The Pitti Palace is the ideal location to stay in Florence (just off the Ponte Vecchio Bridge) as its close to all the attractions which are easily accessible by foot. Good breakfast served on the rooftop overlooking Florence is also a treat. There was a band festival on in September 2011 when we stayed which was also a lot of fun, especially when some band members played down on the street under our window and people in the street danced to their repertoire.Room very clean and comfortable and the staff helpful. Great location when you don't have your own transport.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Neri23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VivaPittiPalace, Assistant Manager at Pitti Palace al Ponte Vecchio, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking your time to write a comment about our Hotel, I am happy that you enjoyed your holiday in Florence, we hope to welcome you again soon

Regards
Sabrina Bisconti
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2012

I loved the views from the terrace and my room. I often just sat there and soaked in the view. The location of this Hotel could not be better. My friend and I walked everywhere as the Hotel was so central to everything. In September the weather was beautiful and coming home on a balmy night we would stop on the Ponte Vecchio and listen to the entertainment and enjoy the ambience. The Hotel was not fancy but was of a good standard. Rooms had no frills, but everything you need. Just be careful if enjoying your breakfast out on the terrace because if you leave your plate to go inside to get something else, the pigeons will definitely peck at your food. Shame about the pigeons as in my opinion they were the only negative about the Hotel. Breakfast is quite good and staff were helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: When booking I requested a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Disey12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VivaPittiPalace, Assistant Manager at Pitti Palace al Ponte Vecchio, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2012

Dear Guest
Thank you for leaving your impressions about your stay with us, please be informed that we have solved the problems we had with pigeons with some nets, now they need to go somewhere else for food!
We hope to welcome you again soon

regards
S. Bisconti
Ass Mgr

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2012

Florenece is a wonderful city! What better place to stay than right at the foot of the most famous bridge in Florence the Ponte Vecchio. That is where you will find the Pitti Palace.

The hotel is great and so was the staff, very helpful. You get what you pay for. They have some simple rooms very affordable and clean and then they have some that are more expensive and more upscale. But in the end I want a comfortable bed and clean bathroom. I spend most of my time exploring this beautiful city and would rather spend the extra money on buying gifts to bring home. Florence is the best city in Italy to Shop!!!

Breakfast with a view was amazing! You can enjoy your breakfast inside or out overlooking this amazing city. They have a wide variety of cereal, yogurt, pastries, meats, cheese, coffee, espresso and jucie. The staff is there to please you.

The staff was very helpful with arranging tickets for museums like the uffizzi or the accademia and booking tours to Tusscany. They reccommended wonderful restaurants nearby. When the hairdryer would fall apart they helped out with minor problems in the room. The hair dryers are very outdated for Americans. I would highly suggest you bring your own.

The train station is about a 15 minute walk. We walked both ways to the Pitti Palace. We traveled light with one suitcase and carry on each so it was ok. But the streets are coblestone so make sure you have comfortable shoes. Walking gives you a feel for this rich city and you will see the Duomo on the way to the hotel. It was a wonderful sight to see. Then you cross the Ponte Vecchio over the Arno River to the Pitti Palace.

I fell in Love with Florence. I would definetly come back to Florence and Look forward to coming back to Pitti Palace again.
Thanks to all the Staff.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Regina2878
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VivaPittiPalace, Assistant Manager at Pitti Palace al Ponte Vecchio, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you for leaving your comment about your stay with us, I am pleased to read that you fell in love with our beautiful Town! Thank you for the appreciation about our staff, they all thank you as well for your enthusiasm in wanting to experience Florence in all its aspects.
We look forward to welcoming you again here in Florence!
regards

Sabrina Bisconti
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2012

Pitti Palace is in a perfect location to explore Florence. The breakfast buffet was very good and a teriffic view of the town from the terrace. The pigeons were annoying at times.

The room we stayed in is European standard with no frills. Friendly staff.Make sure you don't have too much luggage as parking in the city of Florence is outside and you have to walk quite a bit.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chase D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Uffizi
Hotel Hermitage
Hotel Hermitage
#69 of 409 in Florence
625 reviews
Pitti
Hotel Restaurant  La Scaletta
Pitti
Ponte Vecchio Suites & SPA
Ponte Vecchio Suites & SPA
#18 of 409 in Florence
409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Uffizi
Hotel Degli Orafi
Hotel Degli Orafi
#34 of 409 in Florence
1,552 reviews
Uffizi
Hotel Berchielli
Hotel Berchielli
#46 of 409 in Florence
1,578 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Laurus al Duomo
Hotel Laurus al Duomo
#76 of 409 in Florence
1,660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pitti Palace al Ponte Vecchio? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pitti Palace al Ponte Vecchio

Address: Borgo San Jacopo 3, 50125, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Pitti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#49 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#70 Family Hotel in Florence
#80 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#99 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range: ₹ 7,360 - ₹ 17,521 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Pitti Palace al Ponte Vecchio 4*
Number of rooms: 87
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Fastbooking, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Pitti Palace al Ponte Vecchio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pitti Palace Al Ponte Vecchio Hotel Florence
Viva Hotel Florence
Pitti Palace Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing