We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Size Detracts” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of FH Grand Hotel Mediterraneo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
FH Grand Hotel Mediterraneo
Ranked #190 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
50 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Size Detracts”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2012

This hotel is very well placed in Florence, just along the Arno and only a few minutes' walk to the historic district. A walk to the Duomo will take 15-20 minutes. Cabs to and from the airport are easy to get and will cost a flat rate of 20 euros (plus 1 euro per bag).

I was at the Mediterraneo for a conference. Everything was quite average. The bed in the room was quite hard and the linen a bit stiff. The bathroom was not very large and there was only 1 towel available. A bathrobe and slippers are provided. With this in mind, however, I was indeed able to get good rest for the four nights that I was there.

The internet in the conference centre was hit and miss. The first day I was there, it was deplorable and made working very difficult. By the last day, it worked impeccably. The photocopying and printing facilities all run through the front desk. Though the staff is helpful, they may need a bit of training with the equipment.

The food is average to good, but avoid the coffee at all costs. If you want a decent cup of coffee, you will need to order it at the American Bar in the lobby. The breakfast is the least appetizing of the meals. The lunch buffet was hit and miss, but generally good.

For another business trip, I would be fine staying in this hotel again, so long as they fix the technical issues with the internet. If it were for vacation, however, I would definitely be staying elsewhere.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JacquesWeber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,932 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    424
    712
    505
    180
    111
See reviews for
439
672
61
291
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sidney, Nebraska, United States
Level Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2012

Large hotel with many rooms. Has elevators (small ones). Roman shutters outside windows block out light well. Room had a stocked mini fridge, TV, hair dryer, and universal charging station for electronics - a nice bonus! Breakfasts and dinners in the hotel restaurant are buffet-style, but the food at dinner is excellent. Breakfast spread is good, but I don't recommend the eggs. Staff was very friendly and accommodating. Location is pretty good. We were able to walk to the city center from the hotel. Bathrooms seemed very updated, but our shower floor was quite slippery.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Korie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crete, Greece
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2012

This was one of 4 hotels we stayed at during our 8 day tour of Italy, and it was our favorite. The location is very good, as it is close to the city center, It's 15 - 20 minutes walk to Ponte Vecchio. The front desk service was excellent. The breakfast was very good, the buffet was huge. The room and the bathroom was clean and large enough
In general it was a very good hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank manolis_popi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old Lyme, Connecticut
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2012

This was one of 6 hotels we stayed at during our 10 day tour of Italy, and it was our least favorite. Very busy, lots of teenagers constantly hanging out in the lobby and outside the hotel entrance who were partying all hours of the night and loudly roaming the halls, which made sleep difficult. The location is very good, as it is close to the city center, and the rooms were adequate, it was just the general mayhem over the 2 days and nights that we were there that made our stay less than pleasurable.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DTS-KBS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
136 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2012

We picked this hotel because of 4+ star rating at Expedia. This hotel is located at north bank of Arno River that runs through Florence. It's 20 minutes walk to the famous Ponte Vecchio. The bus 14 also brings passengers from the train station to the back of the hotel.

It's a big hotel, out of tourist area and relatively modern, per European standard.The hotel was very busy with lots of groups of tourist. So if the timing is wrong, the check-in and check-out could take sometime. Because it's too big, I felt the staff is relatively less friendly than the other hotels we stayed in Italy. However, they were very professional. For example, I discovered one water bottle in the mini bar was opened by someone else than us. I reported it to the front desk. They took notes and didn't charge me.

We had a quadruple room with four twin beds. The room was big and had plenty space for the four of us moving around. The furniture was modern and we all had our own light that would disturb other's sleep. It also had enough storage for clothes. The bathroom was modern but small. The only problem was that the shower water came out of the shower stall and formulated outside of the shower stall. We had to mop water off after each shower. Like all other Italian hotel, it didn't provide conditioner for hair wash.

The hotel has a restaurant. Next to the hotel, there is a modern restaurant, as well as several food shacks. You can buy Italian fast food and beers. Some of them are at the riverside so you can buy food, sit next to river and enjoy the scenery. Cross the river, there was a cafe where we had our breakfast like the Italians by drinking our coffee and eating our pastries by the counter. There was also a caterer where we bought one night our food there and ate at our room (good food and 1/4 of the restaurant price).

Internet was at extra charge. The free internet access at lobby was always busy and occupied by someone.

For the price we paid, it was a bit below what I expected.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sophie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Croce
Hotel River
Hotel River
#87 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 762 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Ambasciatori
Hotel Ambasciatori
#204 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,159 reviews
San Marco
Palazzo Ricasoli Residence
Palazzo Ricasoli Residence
#219 of 421 in Florence
3.5 of 5 bubbles 644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Hotel Corona D'Italia
Hotel Corona D'Italia
#130 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 766 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Grand Hotel Adriatico
Grand Hotel Adriatico
#102 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,489 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Club Florence
Hotel Club Florence
#140 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to FH Grand Hotel Mediterraneo? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about FH Grand Hotel Mediterraneo

Property: FH Grand Hotel Mediterraneo
Address: Lungarno del Tempio 42/44, 50121, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#97 Luxury Hotel in Florence
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,709 - ₹ 18,573
Hotel Class:4 star — FH Grand Hotel Mediterraneo 4*
Number of rooms: 331
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel Mediterraneo is situated in a strategic position, just 5 minutes walking to Piazza Santa Croce, 10 minutes to Michelangelo Square, 10 minutes to Uffizi Gallery or to the famous Ponte Vecchio but in the same time outside of the limited traffic zone of Florence;Easy to reach by car from the motorway A1 exit Firenze Sud.The hotel overlooks the Arno River, where it's possible to run or cycling.Services available:331 rooms, with Suite, Junior suite , Panorami Deluxe, superior and classic rooms; Restaurants; Bar terrace; Congress Center; Large and confortable Hall; Wi-fi in all the hotel, private garage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your FH Grand Hotel Mediterraneo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing