We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“A large hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of FH Grand Hotel Mediterraneo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
FH Grand Hotel Mediterraneo
Ranked #193 of 422 Hotels in Florence
Crete, Greece
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A large hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2012

This was one of 4 hotels we stayed at during our 8 day tour of Italy, and it was our favorite. The location is very good, as it is close to the city center, It's 15 - 20 minutes walk to Ponte Vecchio. The front desk service was excellent. The breakfast was very good, the buffet was huge. The room and the bathroom was clean and large enough
In general it was a very good hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank manolis_popi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,900 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    414
    698
    501
    177
    110
See reviews for
425
662
60
289
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Old Lyme, Connecticut
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2012

This was one of 6 hotels we stayed at during our 10 day tour of Italy, and it was our least favorite. Very busy, lots of teenagers constantly hanging out in the lobby and outside the hotel entrance who were partying all hours of the night and loudly roaming the halls, which made sleep difficult. The location is very good, as it is close to the city center, and the rooms were adequate, it was just the general mayhem over the 2 days and nights that we were there that made our stay less than pleasurable.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DTS-KBS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
136 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2012

We picked this hotel because of 4+ star rating at Expedia. This hotel is located at north bank of Arno River that runs through Florence. It's 20 minutes walk to the famous Ponte Vecchio. The bus 14 also brings passengers from the train station to the back of the hotel.

It's a big hotel, out of tourist area and relatively modern, per European standard.The hotel was very busy with lots of groups of tourist. So if the timing is wrong, the check-in and check-out could take sometime. Because it's too big, I felt the staff is relatively less friendly than the other hotels we stayed in Italy. However, they were very professional. For example, I discovered one water bottle in the mini bar was opened by someone else than us. I reported it to the front desk. They took notes and didn't charge me.

We had a quadruple room with four twin beds. The room was big and had plenty space for the four of us moving around. The furniture was modern and we all had our own light that would disturb other's sleep. It also had enough storage for clothes. The bathroom was modern but small. The only problem was that the shower water came out of the shower stall and formulated outside of the shower stall. We had to mop water off after each shower. Like all other Italian hotel, it didn't provide conditioner for hair wash.

The hotel has a restaurant. Next to the hotel, there is a modern restaurant, as well as several food shacks. You can buy Italian fast food and beers. Some of them are at the riverside so you can buy food, sit next to river and enjoy the scenery. Cross the river, there was a cafe where we had our breakfast like the Italians by drinking our coffee and eating our pastries by the counter. There was also a caterer where we bought one night our food there and ate at our room (good food and 1/4 of the restaurant price).

Internet was at extra charge. The free internet access at lobby was always busy and occupied by someone.

For the price we paid, it was a bit below what I expected.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sophie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2012

We travelled by car to Florence from Germany and were reluctant about driving in Florence due to car restrictions. The hotel was easily accessable from the highway and had onsite underground parking. The hotel is located accross from the riverfront and is about a 20 minute walk to the city centre. This hotel is more typical to a downtown North American hotel . The front desk service was excellent. The buffet breakfast had a great choice of food including eggs and bacon. Both public transit and city hop on hop off tour buses stop literally at your doorstep.
I would definately recommend taking the Hop on Hop off tour of the city if you have never been to Florence beforel. There is a Red route and Blue Route and they do overlap quite a bit but definitely take the route into the hillside town. If you get a deal definitely go to this hotel. We decided to stay an extra night and could not get a very discounted rate but overall with the savings of the first night it balanced itself out.

Room Tip: Ask for a riverfront view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CuGeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2012

We stayed at The Grand Hotel Mediterraneo while visiting Italy in August 2011 and here is what we would like to share :-
1. If you consider the reviews seriously before confirming a booking then please consider the good ones, its just the cribbing ones who write anything.
2. The hotel has an ideal location , right next to the River Arno , just across the road from the hotel, there is a nice garden area with local vendors who make the best chocolate smoothies and are open till late night.
3.The Hotel is neat and clean, Our room was on the inner side so would have preferred a room with a view of the river, but otherwise the rooms are clean, modern and spacious and bathrooms fairly equipped.
4.The staff is very kind and helpful, On one of the nights we were really late on returning from Pisa and the hotel restaurant was closed. The manager on call was kind enough to arrange for frozen meals, else we would have to sleep without dinner.
5.Wi-Fi is free with a good Connectivity and in case you are not carrying a mobile device or a laptop then the hotel does have an array of computers in the lobby where you can access internet for free.
6.Though the hotel is just 20min walk from the Uffizi Gallery (City Center), if you prefer taking a bus then the bus stop is right behind the hotel. I would rather suggest you choose to walk by the River, its a beautiful walk and you can stop at various bridges with good photo opportunities.The Galileo Museum is on the way.
7.Across the river, Piazzale Michelangiolo is just 1.5 km from the hotel, again a 20 min walk.

To summarize it was a pleasant stay and for a very reasonable price.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AnuradhaSharma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Croce
Hotel River
Hotel River
#94 of 422 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 735 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Ambasciatori
Hotel Ambasciatori
#207 of 422 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,132 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Grand Hotel Adriatico
Grand Hotel Adriatico
#101 of 422 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Palazzo Ricasoli Residence
Palazzo Ricasoli Residence
#217 of 422 in Florence
3.5 of 5 bubbles 634 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Corona D'Italia
Hotel Corona D'Italia
#132 of 422 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 757 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Club Florence
Hotel Club Florence
#144 of 422 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to FH Grand Hotel Mediterraneo? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about FH Grand Hotel Mediterraneo

Property: FH Grand Hotel Mediterraneo
Address: Lungarno Del Tempio 42/44, 50121, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#96 Luxury Hotel in Florence
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,339 - ₹ 18,662
Hotel Class:4 star — FH Grand Hotel Mediterraneo 4*
Number of rooms: 331
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel Mediterraneo is situated in a strategic position, just 5 minutes walking to Piazza Santa Croce, 10 minutes to Michelangelo Square, 10 minutes to Uffizi Gallery or to the famous Ponte Vecchio but in the same time outside of the limited traffic zone of Florence;Easy to reach by car from the motorway A1 exit Firenze Sud.The hotel overlooks the Arno River, where it's possible to run or cycling.Services available:331 rooms, with Suite, Junior suite , Panorami Deluxe, superior and classic rooms; Restaurants; Bar terrace; Congress Center; Large and confortable Hall; Wi-fi in all the hotel, private garage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda and HotelsClick so you can book your FH Grand Hotel Mediterraneo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing