We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Staff and Location are Amazing!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Gioia

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Gioia
Ranked #177 of 422 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Ottawa
Level Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Staff and Location are Amazing!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2011

The staff and location of this hotel are wonderful! Breakfast was lacking a little bit in terms of selection, but the extremely friendly staff and awesome coffee more than make up for it!
Wifi was free and easy to use. Room was large, but the air conditioner leaked and has been leaking onto the carpet and wall for some time…. not really pleasant but we left the air conditioner off the whole trip. Via Cavour is very loud and busy, but we slept just fine.
The worst thing about this hotel was the shower. Very tiny and the water leaked everywhere because the curtain was not set up properly. I had to have my husband hold the curtain so that it would not touch me while I was showering (kinda gross). If they would fix this and the mouldy carry where the air conditioner has been leaking then I would have given it a better rating because this hotel was great and staff we amazing… but a bathroom and carpet are too important to look the other way.

Room Tip: Choose a room at the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beeker_xox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

402 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    147
    178
    55
    18
    4
See reviews for
68
180
37
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2011

Firstly, the "average" rating doesn't mean this hotel is poor. Hotel Gioia is a perfectly serviceable budget hotel that sits in central Florence. As Florence is a city suited for walking/riding, everything is accessible from the hotel within walking distance, including the main train stazione, which was about a ten minute walk away. If it's the Duomo you're after, it's not even five minutes away.

The desk staff were just lovely, really welcoming. They even helped us out with an Australian power adaptor after we lost ours - just great!

Breakfast was included and it was a typical Italian hotel breakfast of spreads, bread, cold meats and yoghurt - except they made cappuccino for us instead of it being pot coffee, which was great.

The room was serviceable. We were on the lowest floor (the hotel starts on level 2), so I think we had a room designed for disabled people. The room was clean enough and the bed/blankets/facilities a bit old and worn but fine.

Be warned that the hotel may be a little hard to spot from the street

If you're looking for a place in the centre of the action but only want to crash there at night and aren't fussy, this place will do the trick.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank letyoursoulglo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duluth, Minnesota
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2011

The staff at Gioia were very friendly and helpful. Our room was cute, clean and very adequate. We had our own television and wi-fi was available in the lobby. The breakfast in the morning was not huge, but certainly filled us up. Cute little dining area. Very close to many of the sites in Florence so we had no problem with walking. Would recommend to others.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Erm47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Luis Obispo, California
Level Contributor
75 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2011

Tiny room with inadequate air conditioning. "Breakfast" provided very little to start the day. This was a bare bones establishment. I would never book again.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SLOCoaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2011

We spent 3 nights & were able to walk from here to most everywhere. The staff were always available & very helpful. Good recommendations for restaurants & sports bars where we could watch some soccer games. Found the breakfast to be more than adequate for our taste.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Florence Dome Hotel
Florence Dome Hotel
#76 of 422 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
Santo Spirito / San Frediano
Hotel Relais Il Cestello
Hotel Relais Il Cestello
#155 of 422 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
San Lorenzo
Botticelli Hotel
Botticelli Hotel
#149 of 422 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Hotel Azzi - Locanda degli Artisti
San Lorenzo
Hotel Colomba
Hotel Colomba
#59 of 422 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,068 reviews
San Marco
Albergo Hotel Panorama Firenze
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gioia? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gioia

Property: Hotel Gioia
Address: Via Camillo Cavour 25, 50129, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#150 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,503 - ₹ 9,877
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Gioia 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and ACCOR so you can book your Hotel Gioia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gioia Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing