We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Stay in Florence” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel David

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel David
Ranked #1 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
long island
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful Stay in Florence”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2012

This hotel was better than its reviews. Stayed here for 4 nights in 2 rooms ( on different floors ) with our daughter, none of us could have been happier. Breakfast was not only delicious, the ambiance is bright and charming. Not a single person who works here doesn't smile. It is such a welcoming place to be. The location of the hotel adds to its rating. We walked everywhere ( which is what one wants to do in Florence) and found nothing too far away. When people say something is 20 minutes to 30 minutes away it never seemed to take us that long to get there. There are an abundance of restaurants within walking distance which the front desk is happy to help you find. I would recommend this hotel, without hesitation, to anyone traveling to Florence. Our two rooms were both beautiful and so clean. Loved it at the Hotel David.

Room Tip: I think all the rooms at this hotel are clean and wonderful. Some rooms have balconies, ours did no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lucylou521
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Hotel David, responded to this review, 22 June 2012
Dear Guest,

We remember you! Nice to hear from you....I'm glad you had good time with us here at the David and to see that our locartion for you has not been a minus but an advantage and don't forget that there is a bus line D that goes to Ponte Vecchio back and forward every 10 minutes!
My best,
Gabriele Cecioni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,990 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,663
    292
    27
    5
    3
See reviews for
591
1,807
77
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (415)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Abiquiu, New Mexico
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2012

Anytime you travel you try to navigate the language, transportation, and subtle cultural aspects of the location. Then you stumble on to a hotel like Hotel David, which has no description of the kindness, and generous stay that you really feel like friends. The happy hour was finding fellow travelers and creating new friends. The washer and dryer on the honor system was great. The location with bus tickets you could purchase at the desk. Free parking, etc. A memory that was lovely and highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mjtrup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Hotel David, responded to this review, 22 June 2012
Dear Guest,

At home away from home! Everyone wishes to feel at home and here at the David we know that and we try to do what we would like to find when we travel and we enter in an Hotel!
Simple things that make the Guest relaxed and ready to enjoy the wonderful experience that Florence is!
My best,
Gabriele Cecioni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Missouri
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2012

We recently stayed at the Hotel David, and it was everything the posters on Trip Adviser said and more! Where do I start? The location is great because you are far enough away from the big crowds of tourist, but close enough to the sites to walk to them in 15-20 minutes all while stopping to take pictures of Florence along the way.

The hotel is full of charm and hospitality. The services offered by the hotel was tremendous, even small things such as allowing you to wash and dry laundry for a very small fee. The breakfast, happy hour, and free mini bar are just small perks to this hotel.

The best part of this wonderful place is the friendly and VERY helpful staff that will go out of there way to assist with any and all of your needs. As an example, our flight to Florence was diverted to Bologna due to weather; the staff at Hotel David helped us ensure our transfer would be waiting at the Florence Airport when we finally arrived, some 4 hours after we originally were scheduled to land in Florence. They also did a wonderful job of providing great recommendations for dinner.

Hotel David is one of my favorite hotels that I have ever stayed in; it was a warm, friendly, hotel with a charm next to none.

Room Tip: We had a quad room right off the reception area, that was huge. I can't express how charming th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stl05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Hotel David, responded to this review, 22 June 2012
Dear Guest,

I thank you for your kind words about the David and his Staff I'm happy to see that we are doing well and you like our way to welcome our Guests. And our location.....is becoming a plus now that it is so hot!
My best,
Gabriele Cecioni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
86 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2012

Great family owned hotel twelve minutes from Florence. They are into taking care of their customers and will help you find some great family owned restaurants.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Al B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HDavid, Owner at Hotel David, responded to this review, 20 June 2012
Dear Guest,

You are our 1000 reviewer on tripadvisor and I have to thank you for this post that will remain in our memory!
My best,
Gabriele Cecioni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, AL
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2012

The reviews I read about this property exaggerated nothing. Wonderful staff, clean spacious rooms with nice showers, wonderful breakfast and afternoon wine/hors d'œuvres, free international VOIP calls, free minibar in room, and on and on. This was our favorite hotel in three Italian cities. A very good value. The hotel is a little further than some from the central historic area of Florence, but we found the walk to various sights reasonable. We also purchased a Firenze Card and availed ourselves of the bus service. There are bus stations immediately nearby. The location has an "upside". It is quieter and probably a bit cooler in the area of this hotel near the Arno and Piazza Michelangelo. The bed in our standard double room was firm, but what we're used to. We slept well. The A/C is not "American South Cool", but was adequate. The laundry service was a nice feature, but the clothes dryer did not function adequately.

Room Tip: We were on the street side of this hotel. The intense sun made the room a bit hot and we had to keep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Neurorad1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HDavid, Owner at Hotel David, responded to this review, 19 June 2012
Dear Guest,

Every time you travel you discover different habits; here you find everything but with an european style with more energy saving and less sub zero rooms temperature!
Our laundry facilities are opened to every one but do not expect to arrive in the evening, wash your clothes, dry them and leave in the early morning with everything washed and dryed!
Thank you for coming here and trusting us and for considering these different habits not a minus in your overall satisfaction!
My best,
Gabriele Cecioni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
Hotel Davanzati
Hotel Davanzati
#9 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,398 reviews
Uffizi
Portrait Firenze
Portrait Firenze
#3 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 466 reviews
San Lorenzo
Palazzo Castri 1874
Palazzo Castri 1874
#6 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 793 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Hotel Spadai
Hotel Spadai
#5 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,055 reviews
San Marco
Grand Amore Hotel and Spa
Grand Amore Hotel and Spa
#2 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
Ville sull'Arno Hotel
#18 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel David? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel David

Property: Hotel David
Address: Viale Michelangiolo, 1, 50125, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#2 Family Hotel in Florence
#14 Business Hotel in Florence
Price range (per night): ₹ 10,309 - ₹ 15,887
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel David 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a short walk to the historic center or to the surrounding green hills, the Hotel David in Florence is a perfect place to begin and end the day in one of the world's most beautiful cities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel David reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
David Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing