We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“It's all the little things that make this place # 1.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel David

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel David
Ranked #1 of 422 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“It's all the little things that make this place # 1.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2012 via mobile

The free wi if, large clean character filled rooms, free mini bar, helpful staff, fantastic breakfast and free happy hour were all a hit. We stayed on the first floor in a standard double room which was surprisingly large. However, the bed was exceptionally hard and a couple of nights was all we could handle! No other complaints though . Greeted with a small cake was a nice surprise and having access to their shared computer and printer (as we were booking tickets etc for our next location) made everything so easy. The happy hour was the real highlight and the free food and drink was a great way to end the day and encourage weary travelers to mingle with each other. We stayed in many hotels across France and Italy and non of them had all the features that Hotel David offered, even with such a hard mattress. It does deserve its ranking.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HDavid, Owner at Hotel David, responded to this review, 17 June 2012
Dear Guest,

It's the little things that........mattress to hard? It is not easy to please different people with beds: most of them prefer firm mattress so we have a medium firm as standard then under request we are able to make it softer with a 15 cm foam with memory thay makes your bed softer! So as we are here to please your need come to us and I'm sure we will find a solution to your problem!
Thank you for coming and I'm glad you had good time here at the David!
My best,
Gabriele Cecioni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,969 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,643
    292
    26
    5
    3
See reviews for
588
1,793
77
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (414)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ft. Lauderdale Fl.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2012

My husband and I stayed at the hotel for our honeymoon at the end of May. We booked the room based on other trip advisor reviews. The hotel was as great as everyone said!!

The staff is extremely friendly and the owner Gabriele was there when we checked in and on site several of the days. The hotel's breakfast was fantastic as it had a nice variety of eggs, meat, pastries, quiches, cereals and coffee. We sat out on the patio for breakfast every morning and enjoyed the wonderful food. The evening happy hour was great and the snacks, crackers, dips, and wine and were a wonderful touch after a long day of sight seeing. The in room cooler was nicely stocked with complimentary soda, water and snacks.

The hotel is conveniently located within walking distance to all of the great restaurants and there is plenty to do and see in the area. The room is very comfortable, the WIFI worked great and the AC was nice and cold. While at the hotel we did a load of laundry and it was so convenient to be able to go down stairs at night to get our freshly washed & dried clothes.

Overall, the hotel was wonderful and I cant wait to go back! I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to stay at a great hotel with friendly staff and wonderful extra's.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lizzie217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HDavid, Owner at Hotel David, responded to this review, 16 June 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for trusting us and coming to stay with us for your best occasion at the beguinning of your life together!
Breakfast in the Padio in one of the new tips and I'm happy that our Guests like that despite the food buffet is still on the breakfast room but Maria and Andrea will be happy to help you and make for you custom order and fresh cappuccinos!
i wait for you here anytime you decide to come back!
My best,
Gabriele Cecioni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2012

We were lucky enough to get Room 30 (top floor) which is large, airy, light and has a shared but relatively private large terrace with views out over the city. This would be enough to eulogise about the hotel but there were so many other good points....We were tempted not to visit the city and to just sip Prosecco on the terrace. Well we did do this in the evenings looking at the dome of the Duomo in the distance and took breakfast on the terrace too. A lovely treat...

The service was second to none. Staff were friendly, helpful and spoke good English (a bonus for us). The free mini-bar (limited), free happy hour (drinks and canapés ) as well as daily free phone calls all contributed to a feeling of being looked after. Free wi-fi, a very reasonably priced honesty bar (soft and alcoholics drinks + snacks) as well as books and magazines were all available. The rooms including the public areas were all spotlessly clean and beautifully decorated.

The hotel is easily accessible by bus from the train station (which was good for us and the bus ride is interesting in itself) and when you know your bearings it’s an easy walk into the main city or to the nearby bars and restaurants. Although the hotel is actually near to a busy junction you never feel like it is once you’re there. We only made it as far as the San Niccolo area in the evening but found lovely places to eat and drink and felt like we were in an area used by locals as well as tourists.

If we go back to Florence there’s only one place we’ll stay. Hotel David deserves it’s TripAdvisor award...

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank truereviewer999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HDavid, Owner at Hotel David, responded to this review, 16 June 2012
Dear Guest,

Nice to see that you enjoyed the new rooms and remember that here at the David all rooms are different and you need to become a repeter Guest to find the room you like best!
My best,

Gabriele Cecioni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tarpon Springs, FL
Level Contributor
91 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2012

We were welcomed by friendly staff that spoke very good English. Every question and request was taken care of pleasantly and efficiently. The hotel was clean throughout, very pretty and nicely furnished. The free minibar in the room was wonderful! The daily happy hour was very nicely presented out in the patio area. The location was great - out of the rush of the city center, but close enough to walk to all the attractions. The breakfast was nicely prepared, varied, and tasty (the fruit salad had lots of different fruit in it - my personal favorite). There was a reasonably priced self-serve bar always available, using the honor system. I felt safe at this hotel. TripAdvisor's "Traveller's Choice" Award 2012 hangs on the wall in the sitting area. Hotel David absolutely deserves that award.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Originalonso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HDavid, Owner at Hotel David, responded to this review, 16 June 2012
Dear Guest,

I thank you very much for your review it is always a pleasure to see that all our efforts to make this place special is giving very good feedbacks and we assure you that we are working already working for the season 2013!
My best,
Gabriele Cecioni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodstock, Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2012

Stayed 27-30 May. The best feature of Hotel David is the staff. They are very friendly and always ready to help. On a number of occasions they went out of there way to make our visit much more enjoyable. Rooms are clean and bright. We stayed in Room #15. It is large and had a balcony and a good size bathroom. Very comfortable. The breakfast buffet is excellent, featuring american breakfast (usually bacon and eggs) and an excellent selection of pastry, cereals, juices and good coffee. On the first floor there is a room equipped with beverage coolers that have a wide selection of beer, soda and water that is available (honor system) to the guests 24 hours a day. Wine is also available. The location is on the south side of the Arno and is in a busy neighborhood, though I found the road noise to be minimal. A taxi stand is a few feet from the entrance and it is quick and easy to get to anywhere in the city you desire to go. Highly recommend the Hotel David if you have the good fortune to visit Florence.

Room Tip: #15 is a gem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Blaine_Anchor5072
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HDavid, Owner at Hotel David, responded to this review, 16 June 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your words of appreciation I'm very happy you enjoed our way to welcome you with a friendly and efficient Staff and I'm happy you liked you accommodation and all our efforts to make our David as better as possible always with a look at the compromise between price and quality!
My best,
Gabriele Cecioni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Uffizi
Portrait Firenze
Portrait Firenze
#3 of 422 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Spadai
Hotel Spadai
#6 of 422 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 986 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Davanzati
Hotel Davanzati
#8 of 422 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Palazzo Castri 1874
Palazzo Castri 1874
#5 of 422 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 775 reviews
San Marco
Grand Amore Hotel and Spa
Grand Amore Hotel and Spa
#2 of 422 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
Ville sull'Arno Hotel
#18 of 422 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel David? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel David

Property: Hotel David
Address: Viale Michelangiolo, 1, 50125, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#2 Family Hotel in Florence
#14 Business Hotel in Florence
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,531 - ₹ 16,309
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel David 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a short walk to the historic center or to the surrounding green hills, the Hotel David in Florence is a perfect place to begin and end the day in one of the world's most beautiful cities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ostrovok and Expedia so you can book your Hotel David reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
David Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing