We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, great value, friendly service”
Review of Hotel David

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel David
Ranked #1 of 422 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle
Level Contributor
48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Beautiful, great value, friendly service”
Reviewed 8 May 2012

Fantastic hotel. Relatively inexpensive, complimentary wifi, free and fully stocked minibar, terrace with a view of Florence, and only a 15-minute walk to everything. Evening appetizers and wine outside...everything you could want. My partner and I were blown away when we saw our room, given other places we've stayed in Italy that cost more. Grazie! Couldn't be happier.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank MarcSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HDavid, Owner at Hotel David, responded to this review, 10 May 2012
Dear Guest,

Saying.....Couldn't be happier..you have said everything! Thank you for trusting us!
My best,
Gabriele Cecioni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

3,132 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,796
    301
    27
    5
    3
See reviews for
622
1,896
79
55
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (428)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2012

We stayed in the David for a couple of nights in late April(we wanted 4 nights but they were fully booked by the time we made our reservation) and, as someone else has already mentioned, it sets such a high standard that, if you stay here first, then any subsequent hotels struggle to match the David. Obviously there are all the good things other reviewers have already mentioned but I think it is the attention to detail at the personal level that makes them really stand out. For us, they eased our issue of having to move to another hotel in Florence, but wondering where to park the car during the changeover, by allowing us to leave it in their hotel despite the fact that we had checked out. It's all in the detail. Many thanks for a short but very sweet stay.
Kevin and Jill Holland

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevsterr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HDavid, Owner at Hotel David, responded to this review, 10 May 2012
Dear Guest,

Yes, I remember you too! I apologize if I hadn't availability for the extra nights but we kept prudential because we weren't sure to be able to open the hotel the 1st of April....but thank you for your words of appreciation and I'm happy to hear you had a great start with us, you do not imagine how many Guests we welcome who had a bad experiences and how difficult is my job to make them happy again before the time they check out from here!
My best,
Gabriele Cecioni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2012

My husband and I stayed at Hotel David in April for 4 nights and once again tripadvisor did not lead us astray. The hotel is fantastic with a great charm, rooms are large and bathrooms are spotless. Service was fantastic and the Happy Hour is amazing as is the large and assorted breakfast spread. The extra value of the Happy Hour and Breakfast is not to be discounted when considering this hotel. We also enjoyed the location far enough away from the noise to be very quiet but close enough to walk to everything or grab a cheap cab or hop the bus.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony - they are large enough to enjoy a glass of wine from Happy Hour on!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Imalazyj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HDavid, Owner at Hotel David, responded to this review, 10 May 2012
Dear Guest,

Nice to see that all the efforts we have done to make a new life for Hotel David are giving good feedbacks and the important thing is that the feeling of a house is manteined! We have added a few tips to be discovered by furture Guests or Reperters so keep in touch!
My best,
Gabriele Cecioni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mandurah, Australia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2012

We had what was formally room 24 but is now room 1. It had a lovely four poster bed which was just so comfortable. The room was really spacious and the bathroom was exceptional with twin showers plenty of cupboard space and best of all a REAL hair dryer not one of those horrible mounted things on the wall.
When we arrived there was a bottle of champagne and strawberries waiting for us and the next day a little cake for us to share!! (this was a 10th wedding anniversary holiday)
Every afternoon the hotel put on "Happy hour" from 6.30 to 8pm with free drinks and nibbles which was a great way to socialise with other guests!!! Loved that.
Breakfast was ample with Eggs, bacon, cereals, yoghurt, fruits and the usual and our favourites croissants and sweet cakes.
The hotel has just had a major redecoration and you could tell everything was fresh. The staff were great helping with what restaurants, bus tickets etc. The front desk would even book reservations for you if required.
Some might complain that it is a little too far out from the main historical area which was one of our concerns however this is not so. It was an EASY 15 minute walk along the river from the Uffizi. The Hop on Hop off bus stops out the front and there are numerous bus services at 1.50euro a trip if you dont want to walk. We liked that after a frenetic day in the city we could escape out to some peace and quiet.
There are several restaurants close by, our favourite was Trattoria Gigi.
All i can really say is Well done Hotel David and we will be back

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Redned08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HDavid, Owner at Hotel David, responded to this review, 10 May 2012
Dear Madam,

Nice to hear from you! Yes this is another thing we have changed........the room numbers! So for repeter customers the 2011 room numbers are not the same as the 2012 ones!
Oh yes there are a few tips we introduced this year and the small cakes comes random specially to the Guests we know better because they stay several nights of for special occasion like you did!
I thank you again for the informations and the lovely words about the David!
My best,
Gabriele Cecioni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vero Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2012

Love love love this hotel. We stopped in four cities and this was our favorite hotel we stayed at. We asked for and received a room with a balcony which overlooked the garden area. The room was a great size, clean, and nicely appointed. The shower was amazing! It was made for two with one rain style shower head and one smaller one. The bed was comfy, the tv had choices in many languages. The breakfast was also the best we had, the choices were great and the happy hour in the evenings was a welcome touch when we were in the area at the right time. The service was excellent and they provided suggestions for tours, one of which we took and it was the best tour of our trip. (Best of Tuscany Tour) We thought it was a bit unusual to leave your room key at the front desk each time we left the hotel, but it was not an issue. I had needed to do laundry at one point and when I went down to use the self serve laundry I was told that there was some leak and that instead they would take my laundry and do it for my in the one they use for the hotel linens. It was much appreciated and they made everything very easy. The location was pretty, we found that with so much walking overall it was easier to take the bus to Ponte Vecchio and then walk around to the sights from there. We met another couple who were staying closer to the main sights and they complained about the noise from the streets and bell towers and did not get much sleep. I think the distance from the main area is worth is and what a value for what you get.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Denacass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HDavid, Owner at Hotel David, responded to this review, 7 May 2012
Dear Guest,

I thank you for this great review I'm impressed and happy you liked all our amenities and our location as you see comparing to stay downtown it has some advantages but if you need an hotel 2 minutes from the Duomo it's better to stay downtown!
My best,
Gabriele Cecioni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
Hotel Davanzati
Hotel Davanzati
#8 of 422 in Florence
3,464 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Spadai
Hotel Spadai
#4 of 422 in Florence
1,201 reviews
San Lorenzo
Palazzo Castri 1874
Palazzo Castri 1874
#6 of 422 in Florence
884 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Grand Amore Hotel and Spa
Grand Amore Hotel and Spa
#2 of 422 in Florence
306 reviews
Uffizi
Portrait Firenze
Portrait Firenze
#3 of 422 in Florence
502 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Brunelleschi
Hotel Brunelleschi
#23 of 422 in Florence
2,728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel David? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel David

Property: Hotel David
Address: Viale Michelangiolo, 1, 50125, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#2 Family Hotel in Florence
#14 Business Hotel in Florence
Price range (per night): ₹ 10,536 - ₹ 16,093
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel David 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a short walk to the historic center or to the surrounding green hills, the Hotel David in Florence is a perfect place to begin and end the day in one of the world's most beautiful cities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel David reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
David Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing