We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“A beautiful hotel in a beautiful city” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Monna Lisa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Monna Lisa
Ranked #82 of 422 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A beautiful hotel in a beautiful city”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2012

This was the second time I have stayed at this hotel and it lived up to all my good memories from the previous trip.
The staff are polite and helpful and the rooms were clean. We had a lovely room looking over he garden at the rear and this was lovely.
The hotel only do breakfast but this was nicely presented and always good quality.
The location is great for all the sites about 10 minutes easy walk to the main square.
I have no hesitation in saying would return when I need another fix of culture.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,092 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    537
    361
    102
    51
    41
See reviews for
219
493
64
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2012

My stay at Hotel Monna Lisa completely lived up to the great reviews I had read here before booking. The hotel has a wonderful old world atmosphere. It feels more like a Tuscan villa than a hotel. The staff were very friendly, helpful and unobtrusive. I particularly liked the breakfast room and the garden courtyard .The bedroom was comfortable with rather quirky antique furniture, a modern bathroom and great air-conditioning. All the tourist sites are easily walkable from here. It's an ideal place for a romantic weekend or an ideal retreat to absorb the art and culture of Florence
I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TEZCO63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2012

Just fantastic, we couldn't have wished for a more beautiful place to stay. It's old world charm, strange and sometimes bizarre objet d'art, quirky decoration, great courtyard garden, lovely breakfast, evening G&T's make this a hotel to remember for all the right reasons. We were allocated a beautiful room. Room 31, fantastic, My partner (now Fiancee after our trip) when entering the room just kept running round in disbelief at such wonderful accommodation. The hotel were able to provide flowers and bubbles to make our welcome even better. I can not thank the staff enough for making our stay so comfortable and for being so helpful prior to our trip. The hotel is located a 10min stroll from the centre and is an ideal base for Florence.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 31 the largest room in the old building, one word massive! This room must be 8m x...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RICE7922
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Punta Gorda, Florida
Level Contributor
33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2012

I don't think I have ever used the word charming before, but it is the exact word to describe this small hotel in Florence. The rooms were comfortable with a large antique armoire to store your clothes, a minibar with prices similar to the local Tabacchi (convenience store), and our room had a beautiful view of the central courtyard. The charming gigantic wood doors were quirky to lock and unlock as were the beautiful windows. Our window could not actually be closed and locked. When I mentioned it at the reception desk I was told someone would look at it, but if that happened, it wasn't fixed. The breakfast buffet was very nice. I had to pay 5 Euro's for a 30 minute wifi access card so I could download email. The Wifi wasn't very fast and it seemed that charging customers for a 30 minute card was not a very good business decision. We did not have the same experience with the front desk. On our first and last day at the Monna Lisa Regina was very helpful. I guess they work 12 hour shifts because the same person would be there at night and again the next morning. The other people at reception were not as nice and seemed reluctant to assist us. We traveled with another couple, and they had a similar experience when they asked about the time for a scheduled tour of the wine region and were told they should check their ticket receipt. She was right, but there were several dates and the tickets were in Italian. I know this seems like a negative review but it isn't meant to be. I would recommend this hotel for all the good things it was and at a very reasonable price. Having had superior friendly service at the Sofitel in Rome and the Bauer in Venice, we just didn't have that same experience at the Monna Lisa. No matter what, it is CHARMING.

Room Tip: If you have a problem with stairs, make sure you get a room on the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank john f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old Bridge, New Jersey
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2012

The Monna Lisa was a perfect choice for our stay in Florence. The room was very nicely decorated and very quiet. The garden in courtyard adds to the character and charm of this hotel but not nearly as much as the staff. We found Regina at the front desk very, very helpful and extremely pleasant everytime we saw her. Vincenzo at the bar was terrific and very funny, the hotel owner should feel very proud to have these employees. The location was perfect, very easy to shopping, sites and resturants. The only slightly negative part of the stay was the breakfast, choices could have been a little better as well as the service. Overall, the Monna Lisa was a great choice for us and we would definately stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
Firenze Suite
Firenze Suite
#69 of 422 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
Duomo
Borghese Palace Art Hotel
Borghese Palace Art Hotel
#114 of 422 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 694 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Adler Cavalieri
Adler Cavalieri
#78 of 422 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Uffizi
Hotel Berchielli
Hotel Berchielli
#47 of 422 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,389 reviews
San Marco
Hotel San Gallo Palace
Hotel San Gallo Palace
#50 of 422 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,694 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Cellai
Hotel Cellai
#88 of 422 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 777 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Monna Lisa? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monna Lisa

Property: Hotel Monna Lisa
Address: Borgo Pinti 27, 50121, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Duomo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#48 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#60 Family Hotel in Florence
#63 Business Hotel in Florence
#64 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,751 - ₹ 16,260
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Monna Lisa 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming Ornate Hotel featuring original works of art, occupying two floors of a 14th-century Palace near the Duomo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Monna Lisa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monna Lisa Florence
Monna Lisa Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing