We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“NICE HOTEL BUT”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Villa Carlotta Hotel
Ranked #229 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Safed, Israel
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“NICE HOTEL BUT”
Reviewed 15 May 2012

florence is a fantastic place to visit and the italian food is incredible - villa carlotta is a beatifull and charm hotel -- the breakfast was just ok but I think they can try a little harder and offer a more variated selection of food -- most of the staff were very nice people that usually help you when you ask for a restaurant or a direction but at night there was a man very disgusting that in two occasions treat me in a rude manner when i ask for a coffee or even hot water early in the morning ( he said to me " there is not coffee time at night " or " the bar is closed " eventhough I explain to him that I am leaving to the airport or in other occasion that i have booked for a all day trek and must leave the hotel early in the morning -- the location of the hotel is fantastic very quiet residential area and on the other hand very close to the city center -- Szvalb Sergio -- Israel

Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank sergio s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
villcar, Direttore at Villa Carlotta Hotel, responded to this review, 22 May 2012
Dear Guest ,
Concerning your review I were very surprised about what you said so i checked what is happened also with our Night Concierge.
The respect and the courtesy are the mains values for our employees, and the night concierge is able and licensed to prepare coffee and drinks during the night in case somebody would like them. The bar inside the Hotel close at 11:00 PM but in case somebody in the night there are never been problem to get something from the bar.
The Only Thing the Night concierge told You, and there was a misunderstanding on that with you, is that in case you would like something in the middle of the night (01:00 am) like a drink or a The, there is a charge on the bill as a bar, if people come down early in the morning, something like 4, 5 or 6 am in the morning because they have to leave the hotel there are no problem give them coffee, orange juice , croissant, piece of cakes.... as an early breakfast.
Anyway we glad to know you like Villa Carlotta as a "beatiful and charm hotel", so we hope to see you again in Florence again as our appreciated guest.

Best Regards
Antonio Venturini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

580 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    186
    226
    107
    44
    17
See reviews for
88
339
19
35
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2012

We experienced the most wonderful stay of all our vacation stops (Rome, Florence, Tuscany and Venice) All the others were 5 star hotels but Villa Carlotta Hotel was as nice but additionally we loved the relaxing courtyard, great hospitality, elegant decor with European antiques, very convenient location, and wonderful dining. It had it all and so reasonable. We paid 3X for the other hotels. When we go to Italy next time, we think we will base out of there and just do day trips from there.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PecanPlantation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
villcar, Direttore at Villa Carlotta Hotel, responded to this review, 8 May 2012
Dear Guest ,
We really appreciated what you said about your stay at Villa Carlotta and we hope to see you again here in Florence.
Best Regards
Antonio Venturini
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 May 2012

All five of us agreed that the hotel was excellent. We stayed a week and had not a single complaint. The rooms were kept very clean and the front desk staff helped us book restaurants and dealt with any other requests we had.

If you want a quiet base in very pleasant surroundings within easy walking distance of the city and a host of restaurants, then stay at the Villa Carlotta.

Dick T

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DICK T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2012 via mobile

Not sure why people were complaining about the distance to the city centre. Yes, it's a 15 minute walk to Ponte Vecchio (together with my wife, who was 6 months pregnant) so what? We found the walk back and forth pretty relaxing. It's nice not to be dropped into the tourist mayhem directly.

The city centre is a busy, busy place people! So if you're healthy and active people, why not go for a quietly and beautifully situated hotel with nice rooms just outside the city centre?

Service is fine. Nothing special, but just works. The airco wasn't that great, but I leave my window open at night anyway, so we weren't bothered about that either. The bed was superb, and bathroom was fine. Everything was all nice snd clean Loved the balcony with the big doors. Breakfast was okay, nothing fancy.

All in all, I'd book this one next time as well. Recommended!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SentThomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 May 2012

We stayed at the Villa Carlotta for 3 nights. The hotel is in a quiet area of Florence and we found no problems with the walk into the city centre. The second floor room was clean and comfortable, with a great view towards the centre with hills in the background. The staff were extremely helpful, giving advice and booking our visits to galleries in advance. Recommended for a stay.

Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank ColinM69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Villa Belvedere - Florence
#192 of 421 in Florence
186 reviews
Classic Hotel
#222 of 421 in Florence
169 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Principe Hotel
Principe Hotel
#208 of 421 in Florence
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Park Palace Hotel
#160 of 421 in Florence
308 reviews
Hotel Della Robbia
#198 of 421 in Florence
183 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Golf
Hotel Golf
#249 of 421 in Florence
407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Carlotta Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Carlotta Hotel

Property: Villa Carlotta Hotel
Address: Via Michele di Lando 3, 50125, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#106 Luxury Hotel in Florence
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,352 - ₹ 13,941
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Carlotta Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Carlotta is a romantic 19th century patrician manor, situated in the wooded residential area around Porta Romana, at the foot of Piazzale Michelangelo, and within walking distance to the Pitti Palace and the Ponte Vecchio. A brief stroll along some of the characteristic streets of Renaissance Florence or, if you prefer, through the famed Boboli Gardens of the Pitti Palace ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Villa Carlotta Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Carlotta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing