We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfecto!!! Most pleasant stay during our entire tour of Italy!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Villa Carlotta Hotel
Ranked #239 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Reviewed 27 April 2012

We recently stayed 3 nights at the Villa Carlotta in Florence. From the moment we arrived, the hotel was phenomenal. Our train was early, and we arrived at the hotel around 10:00am on Saturday. Normal check-in is 2:00pm, but we were able to check in upon arrival and get our stay started. We had a first floor room which was very nice. Large comfortable bed, beautiful decor, and a patio with table and chairs are the highlights. Also, completely free and reliable wifi, which you don't find everywhere in Europe. There is an in house restaurant which is also quite nice (we ate there 2 of the 3 nights of our stay). The breakfast is also very good, and the people at the hotel are wonderful and very helpful. This was the best hotel experience we had in Italy, and when we decide to visit Florence again, this is definitely the hotel we will be using!

Stayed: April 2012
1  Thank Bill R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (630)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

200 - 204 of 630 reviews

Reviewed 24 April 2012

Took taxi from train station to hotel for 12 euro.
Villa Carlotta is in a peaceful green area of Florence.
Bedroom and bathroom were fine. Breakfast room was charming but food was just average.
Free internet which is always nice.
They have a large patio area where we would bring a bottle of wine to drink after a day of walking Florence. We enjoyed watching some cats come and go to drink water from the fountain.
Front desk was helpful in making advance reservations to avoid some long lines at the more popular museums and also arranged the taxi to take us to the train station when we departed.
We ate at the restaurant downstairs once - it was just OK so next time we would go elsewhere.
It is a bit of a walk to get from the hotel to the major sights across the river, but we enjoyed the surroundings on our walks. Just make sure you take the right turns/streets - first time we didn't and saw a part of the city that we hadn't planned on....oh well. I liked our location but wonder what another location would have to offer.
Taxi back to train station cost about 14-15 euro (on a Sunday)

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vallard E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

This is a little gem of a hotel....room large and well appointed large bathroom...rooms r a little dated but very quaint I liked it....hotel staff a1.... Lovely villa ...Breakfast excellent and beautiful breakfast room....it is a little walk into town but bus close by but we enjoyed the walk and I'm sure a taxi wouldn't be very much.....good points..price, service, breakfast, good size room n bathroom, free parking, free wifi..bad point none for us but for some being a walk to town may be a issue

Stayed: March 2012
1  Thank lodding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2012

This hotel is in walking distance (15mins) to Florence and it's a villa with an annex. The hotel staff was very friendly the rooms were comfortable and the price was right for what they were offering. It's a bit of a walk to city centre from here but we were travelling with small children and car so it was a good compromise for us.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mehmetartun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2012

Generally the staff and the rooms were very good. One example of the staff, was when we had some bottles of wine which we wished to drink in the garden. I asked the receptionist if it would be okay. She not only said yes, but also asked how many glasses we would need. As for the the rooms - under floor heating in the bathrooms (need I say more).

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank caposada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
0.7 km away
Villa Belvedere - Florence
Villa Belvedere - Florence
#202 of 410 in Florence
210 reviews
0.1 km away
Classic Hotel
Classic Hotel
#226 of 410 in Florence
186 reviews
2.9 km away
Hotel Della Robbia
Hotel Della Robbia
#187 of 410 in Florence
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
Villa Tolomei Hotel and Resort
5.8 km away
Hotel Mulino di Firenze
Hotel Mulino di Firenze
#27 of 410 in Florence
1,143 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Villa Betania
Hotel Villa Betania
#90 of 410 in Florence
560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Carlotta Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Carlotta Hotel

Address: Via Michele di Lando 3, 50125, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#112 Luxury Hotel in Florence
Price Range: ₹ 6,786 - ₹ 15,329 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Carlotta Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Carlotta is a romantic 19th century patrician manor, situated in the wooded residential area around Porta Romana, at the foot of Piazzale Michelangelo, and within walking distance to the Pitti Palace and the Ponte Vecchio. A brief stroll along some of the characteristic streets of Renaissance Florence or, if you prefer, through the famed Boboli Gardens of the Pitti Palace ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Villa Carlotta Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Carlotta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing