We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap But Just Okay”
Review of Hotel Alba Palace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Alba Palace
Ranked #74 of 409 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 March 2012

Pros

- Free Wifi in room

- Great location (main attractions are in walking distance

- Staff are helpful and kind

Cons

- Breakfast each morning didn't have a good selection

- Air Con wasn't working, opening windows led to noise from the street below

- Beds were tough

- Shower was small

Breakfast - nothing warm, just croissants, cereal. Fruits looked like they were going off

Air Con - never tried bothering the hotel staff about that but felt I shouldn't have too

Bed - It was tough. Not floor board tough but not bouncy enough. All the walking we did helped me doze off to sleep easily.

Shower - Really small. I'm 5 foot 11, and, the space within was not enough.

Wouldn't go back nor would I recommend it to friends. For the price we paid, we got what we had paid for.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank idhamr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelalba, Responsabile reception at Hotel Alba Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2012

Thank you for your contribution! Regarding the breakfast we are sorry that You found it poor,
we have a buffet with milk, coffee, various types of juices, some types of cakees, fresh croissants, butter, jams, honey, chocolate, rusks, toasts, various types of cereals, yogurts, fruit salad, fresh fruit, eggs, various cuts of slices, cheese, fresh bread, one person is at disposal for cappuccino and caffe' espresso, and for replenish the buffet. Our breakfast time is from 07,30 to 09,30 but we serve from 07,00 to 10,00! Regarding the air conditioning, in march we still have the eating which is adjustable in our rooms. Our hotel was part of the convent of Santa Maria Novella, some bathrooms may be more smaller than others but all are new and well equipped, You could ask to chenge Your room. The reception desk if always at disposal, for us is not a bore to help our guests!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,500)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

511 - 515 of 1,500 reviews

Reviewed 28 February 2012

The hotel was situated conveniently for all the attractions in Florence - not too far to walk. The hotel was exceptionaly clean, the rooms was a little on the small side but this did not matter as we were sight-seeing in Florence most of the time. The staff helpful and very friendly and a very good selection for breakfast.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Vera A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelalba, Responsabile reception at Hotel Alba Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2012

Thank you for your rate! We are at your disposal the next time you decide to stay in Florence!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2012

My husband and I spent five nights here during the February half term. the location was great, just a few minutes walk from the train station and within walking distance of all the main attractions. The hotel staff were friendly and hospitable, giving us a kettle for our room when we requested one and ringing up restaurants to book us tables and checking availability of an opera (which unfortunately was fully booked.). The room was light, airy comfortable and clean with a balcony overlooking the central courtyard and a large bath with shower (ideal for long soaks in the evening!)

The breakfast was of pretty good quality, with a good choice of fresh pastries and cakes. Whereas other hotels we have stayed in in European cities have usually included some hot food for breakfast such as scrambled egg, sausage etc. No hot food or attempt at cooked breakfast is made, the only not item being toast. Having said that, it was perfectly adequate for what we wanted.

There are some good cheapish restaurants very close to the hotel where many locals go and a 99 cent shop around the corner (where the CITA buses leave the bus station) which was handy for snacks and cheap cans of coke etc which we found really expensive in lots of bars and restaurants (as much as 5 Euros a glass!).

Overall really good value for money and an excellent service.

Room Tip: We asked for a balcony and a bath, both which we got
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoandBarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelalba, Responsabile reception at Hotel Alba Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2012

Thank you for your contribution and for appreciating our hospitality!We are at your disposal the next time you decide to stay in Florence!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2012

Very short walk from Santa Novella train station. Beautiful room and fantastic bath. Clean and comfortable. Staff is helpful and kind. Breakfast is fresh and plentiful. The shower is incredible. Nothing but positives for this hotel. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Room 003 is a quad with a king bed on first level and two twins in loft. It is large enough to comfo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelalba, Responsabile reception at Hotel Alba Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2012

Thank you for your contribution! Thanks for your appreciative words!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2012

Very easy to find, just a 5 minute walk from the train station, 10 minute walk from the Duomo
and plenty of restaurants. Despite the room over looking the road, the quadruple glazing ensured a blissfully quiet nights sleep in the comfortable bed. The breakfast was typical but plentiful. The staff were very helpful and thankfully their English was much better than our Italian! We would stay again and recommend it to anyone wishing to explore Florence.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TruroTraveller73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelalba, Responsabile reception at Hotel Alba Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2012

Thank you for your rate and for choosing our hotel for your stay in Florence

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Hotel City
Hotel City
#66 of 409 in Florence
514 reviews
San Lorenzo
Porta Faenza
Porta Faenza
#72 of 409 in Florence
1,050 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Cosimo de' Medici
Hotel Cosimo de' Medici
#83 of 409 in Florence
1,220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Maria Novella
Rivoli Boutique Hotel
Rivoli Boutique Hotel
#69 of 409 in Florence
1,666 reviews
San Lorenzo
Residence La Contessina
Residence La Contessina
#62 of 409 in Florence
812 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Delle Nazioni Hotel
Delle Nazioni Hotel
#186 of 409 in Florence
1,367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alba Palace? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alba Palace

Address: Via della Scala 22/38r, 50123, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Maria Novella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Business Hotel in Florence
#43 Family Hotel in Florence
#71 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range: ₹ 5,364 - ₹ 15,171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Alba Palace 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Adjacent to the cloisters of Santa Maria Novella in the historical center of Florence, the three antique buildings surrounding the covered courtyard, now our breakfast room, offer you a welcoming corner in typical Florentine style. Florence Hotel Alba Palace has united comfort in an antique Florentine dwelling and the care for detail by its attentive staff with the aim of making this hotel an authentic angle of hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Alba Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alba Palace Hotel
Alba Palace Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing