We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Small and shabby” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Arizona

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Arizona
Ranked #108 of 422 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Small and shabby”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2011

Based on the photos and for the price I had higher expectations as well. Our first night was claustrophobic, at the end of the bed you could reach out and touch the wall; it felt like sleeping in a walk in closet. The next morning, since I could not sleep in this room well because it was so small and on a road with traffic noise I asked to be switched to another room. At first he claimed all the rooms were the same size but I told him I saw the website and knew that was not the case fortunately we were upgraded to a room double the size it faced another building that was quiet and large. Appeared to not be used much a bit dusty. The decor of the hotel was a lot more run down than I expected, looks like it may have been an old days inn that was converted.

Room Tip: ask for larger room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chibertravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

401 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    179
    161
    43
    13
    5
See reviews for
106
143
37
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2011

High expectation from seeing the reviews. A bit of let down after seeing the room.

Air conditioning is remotely set from reception. You'll need to ask them to adjust the temperature if you want a nice cool room.

The pillows are too flat. You'll need to ask reception for extra pillow.

Reception is really friendly so service is good.

Don't expect much from breakfast, e.g. boiled egg. Only espresso is fresh coffee.

Location is great for me - in a quiet area and 15-20 min walkable distance to major attractions. Yes the road is under repair and it doesn't look like in a nice area but feel safe.

The worst is the free wifi - drops every 1 min. Probaly it was set such that if you idle for 1 min, you need to re-enter your ID and password to get re-connected.

If I had not seen the reviews, I'd probably not be disappointed.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tdot009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2011

Hotel Arizona was an adequate hotel but nothing remarkable. The staff was very helpful with our questions and phoning in museum and restaurant reservations. The room size was good, with the typical small european bathroom. Breakfast was typical, coffee was from a machine. We really didn't like the area around our hotel. Dirty sidewalks with dog poop on them. Lots of construction in the vicinity.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank macmue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire UK
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2011

Despite being very close to the centre it was a reasonably quiet environment. Although the room and bathroom was compact it served our needs for a short visit. Also they were spotlessly clean. The decorated ceilings and clever use of the space made you'll know you're not staying in a standard box hotel. Staff were very friendly and helpful giving us advice on where to eat etc. Breakfast was good there was a good selection of fruit, bread, meats, cheeses, drinks and pastries. Free parking (2 spaces) was available outside the hotel but for 15€ a night off road parking was available across the street. All in all a very good hotel for a short visit to Firenze.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Family-Roberts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2011

The Arizona Hotel was lovely-great location, accommodating staff, small and personal. The room was a bit small but had the loveliest fresco ceiling and was very comfortable. Very close to the kosher restaurant and synagogue.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robin22228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Hotel Villa Liana
#111 of 422 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Il Poeta Dante
Hotel Il Poeta Dante
#191 of 422 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Unicorno
Unicorno
#123 of 422 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Croce
Hotel Privilege
Hotel Privilege
#140 of 422 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Kursaal Ausonia
Hotel Kursaal Ausonia
#122 of 422 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 967 reviews
Santo Spirito / San Frediano
Hotel Relais Il Cestello
Hotel Relais Il Cestello
#153 of 422 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Arizona? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Arizona

Property: Hotel Arizona
Address: Via Luigi Carlo Farini 2, 50121, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Croce
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#80 Family Hotel in Florence
#85 Business Hotel in Florence
#95 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,564 - ₹ 13,122
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Arizona 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, ACCOR and Fastbooking so you can book your Hotel Arizona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arizona Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing