We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A refuge in a crowded city”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Laurus al Duomo
Ranked #67 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Indio, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A refuge in a crowded city”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2012

The Hotel Laurus was a gem in an tourist overcrowded city. We had a junior suite which was very spacious and well maintained. After touring all day, the rooftop was a delightful bastion of peace and quiet. We had several small dinners up there because we tended to overeat at lunch. The staff and the location were great. One night my wife had a dish she really enjoyed and the server took the time to write down exactly what it was so we could order it elsewhere.
I would definitely return but not during spring break.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VivaLaurus, Responsabile reception at Hotel Laurus al Duomo, responded to this review, 11 June 2012
Dear Sirs,

Thanks for the kind comments about our hotel and our staff!
Thanks to define our hotel "a gem in an tourist overcrowded city"!
We are looking forward to welcoming you again.....in every season of the year!

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,575 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    806
    611
    111
    28
    19
See reviews for
279
918
28
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fishers, Indiana
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2012

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for 5 nights in May 2012. This was our first trip to Florence. We were able to walk to the hotel with our suitcases from the train station. The hotel is centrally located. Our room was very clean and quiet. We had two windows. The one in the bathroom looked into a building and the one in the bedroom looked onto a red tile roof. This did allow for sunlight to come into the room. The thermostat is set on a certain temp. Consequently, we needed to open the windows. There were no screens. This was a problem as bugs came into the room and I ended up with mosquito bites. If the room had screens, my rating would have been much better. The free wifi is great. We ate at Il Parione and the accademia. These are two great restaurants.

Room Tip: If you want a view of the street and not other buildings make sure you ask. However, the non view ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank scarlet1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VivaLaurus, Responsabile reception at Hotel Laurus al Duomo, responded to this review, 11 June 2012
Dear Sirs,

Thanks for choosing our Hotel and thanks to let us know about your experience with us!
We are happy that you enjoyed our rooms, our services and our recommendations for restaurants.
With regard to the thermostat, we regret that you did not infom us you during your stay, we could try to lower the temperature in the room, never to open the windows. In fact, opening the window will automatically lock the air conditioning and the result is more heat and mosquitoes.
Hoping to welcoming you in near future, we remain.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2012

We stayed for three nights in June 2012.
The best thing about this hotel is without a doubt its location - right in the centre, with all amenties right there. Near enought to pop back to leave some shopping/ use the bathroom/ etc inbetween sightseeing.
Check-in was fairly painless (there is a tourist tax of 3.50 Euro per person per day to pay), and the receptionist spoke alright English.

The room was small, but sufficient, and very clean. The windows are amazing, and shut out any noise from outside (especially church bells etc.). However, the bed was uncomfortably hard and the telly only had a couple of Italian channels. But you do get free wifi.

The bathroom was clean, with fresh fluffy towels every day (but no face cloths). Slippers, but no bathrobes. Shower gel and body lotion, but no shampoo (but plenty of soap).

Breakfast was on the 6th floor, where there is a terrace. However, the room, and the staff, seemed to be completely overwhelmed with the amount of people having breakfast (served from 7-10). Tables (especially on the terrace) were not laid, no plates available, once plates became available no bread...
Breakfast was somewhat basic. In a four star hotel I would expect a choice of fresh juices, fresh breads... there was only one juice available, made from concentrate and watered down (squash). Hard, brown rolls, toast, and some local bread (although there was never any left when I got to it). Scramled eggs, hotdogs and bacon (although, again, hardly any left). Crossoints (if you got there early). Some cake (if you got there early enough). One choice of cold meat and cheese. Jam and butter, yogurts and fruit. Adequate, but somewhat disappointing, especially if you had to hunt for a plate, glass, etc before you could sit down.

Checkout super efficient, with the cab arriving as if by magic (they must have a button they press... we never saw them call the cab company, and yet there it was...).

Overall, the fact that the hotel was clean, and the location was convenient means I would probably stay again, but only for a couple of nights (the beds were VERY uncomfortable).

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1X2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Saint John, Florida
Level Contributor
53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2012

I never thought I'd give a Best Western a "very good" review.

The hotel checkin was easy and very friendly, providing us with maps and tour information. Our room was on the 5th floor (505) with a view of the adjoining street. It was clean and typical hotel room. The hotel location was just great...Less than a 10 minute walk from the train station and only 5 minutes from the Duomo.

The reason for a 4 instead of a 5 was the morning breakfast. It didn't have as much variety to it and the inside room was a bit small (too cold to eat on the terrace). The only way to get coffee or water for tea was from a machine. They had two, but only one worked for the 3 days we were there. This created a line because it was slow. It would have been better if they had a few pots of black coffee and hot water and then let those that wanted "specialty" coffee to use the machine.

This same room and the adjoining terrace (6th floor, great view of the Duomo), was used for the evening wine bar but it had a very limited food selection. It would have been nice to have a dessert selection to sit and relax too.

But food aside, I would definitely stay here again for the location and clean rooms.

Room Tip: Ask for an upper floor room with a street view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OnTheGoFLFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincolnshire, England
Level Contributor
71 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2012

The Hotel Laurus is in a good central location. Although Florences is relatively small and many of the hotels are in walking distance of the main attrations, the Laurus is on the main street, two minutes fron Il Duomo. The front-desk staff speak good English, which is helpful. The rooms are relatively spacious and very clean. Our only disappointment, which prevent me giving this hotel a 5 star rating, is that we were in room 301 which looks out on to another wing of the hotel and has no view and no natural daylight. Avoid rooms 101, 201, 301, 401, etc as these are all the same. The breakfast better was plentiful and a good standard (cereal, meats, bread, cheeses). and the breakfast terrace / bar has a wonderful view of Il Duomo. Complimentary tea / coffee making facilities are not provided automaticaly, but are available upon request. However, once used there was no top-up of products.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Spaldingtyner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VivaLaurus, Responsabile reception at Hotel Laurus al Duomo, responded to this review, 4 June 2012
Dear Sirs,

Thank you for choosing our hotel and we thank you for your kind comments.
During your next trip to Florence, we would be happy to offer a city view room.
In any case we want to clarify that all our rooms have natural light, even the ones facing the red rooftops of Florence.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
FH Calzaiuoli Hotel
FH Calzaiuoli Hotel
#62 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,276 reviews
San Lorenzo
Relais Hotel Centrale Residenza D'Epoca
Pitti
Pitti Palace al Ponte Vecchio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel de La Ville
Hotel de La Ville
#61 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 715 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Perseo
Hotel Perseo
#40 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,682 reviews
Uffizi
Hotel Berchielli
Hotel Berchielli
#46 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Laurus al Duomo? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Laurus al Duomo

Property: Hotel Laurus al Duomo
Address: Via Cerretani 54 / R, 50123, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#41 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#52 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#69 Business Hotel in Florence
#71 Family Hotel in Florence
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,995 - ₹ 20,944
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Laurus al Duomo 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Laurus al Duomo is located in the heart of Florence, just 70 meters from the Cathedral and 150 meters from the central train station Santa Maria Novella.The hotel is part of the cultural centre "Centro Congressi al Duomo", together with the Auditorium al Duomo, Cafe Astra al Duomo, Hotel Pitti Palace al Ponte Vecchio.Located in the historical via de' Cerretani, between the Cathedral and the Santa Maria Novella train station, the Hotel Laurus al Duomo stays at a short walk from the most elegant shopping streets, and it is ideal for both leisure and business travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Fastbooking, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Laurus al Duomo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Florence
Laurus Hotel
Florence Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing