We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beutiful hotel, good location”
Review of Hotel Roma

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hotel Roma
Ranked #109 of 411 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
England
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Beutiful hotel, good location”
Reviewed 17 June 2011

Not right in the centre but very close to train station, (2 min walk) and a comfortable walk to the attractions of Florence. Rooms very spacious and nicely decorated, large bathroom with good facilities.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank misstyg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

715 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    252
    302
    111
    30
    20
See reviews for
184
268
34
82
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2011

We were pleased and happy in this hotel. The attention from the staff plus the care with the room, which was spacious and clean was spectacular. Also it was close to the center and very well situated. Very lovely!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jwildwest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zelienople, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2011

My wife and I took my mom to Rome and Florence for her 65th birthday. We enjoyed our entire stay, especially our day train trip to Pisa.

Despite our great time in Italy, we do NOT recommend this hotel at all. First, every member of the front desk staff were incredibly rude....incredibly. As unfortunate as it may seem, we felt there was an anti-American sentiment. We sent an email regarding our experience to the hotel and received no response (no surprise atl all). Second, be cautious if you are assigned a "privato" room on the 5th floor. Ours and one other we saw did not have any windows. There was an automatic "sun roof", but it is inadequate. Third, this hotel is located in a rough part of Florence. It is very close to the train station, the square is rough looking and there were construction fences right in front of the hotel. Fourth, while the breakfast included standard items, the dining area is small and we witnessed parties of 3 and 4 not being to dine together.

Overall, while the amenties were satisfactory and the rooms satisfactorily appointed, we are amazed that it is 4-star hotel. We are well traveled and have stayed at hotels of every caliber. This was our least favorite. Plus, we thought it was ironic that they have a dedication plaque and story about a long-time American resident on their entrance wall...smacks as hypocritical at a minimum.

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kenneth A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOTELROMAFIRENZE, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Roma, responded to this review, 14 July 2011
We understand the point of view of the Guest and sincerely apologize for what happened. After his report we asked our staff for explanation.
As already reported we are also sorry about the construction repairs non depending on us, as well as for the noises referable to the Hotel location.
Regarding the Breakfast, complaints are not usual about this service that is, mostly, appreciated by Guests. We have, anyhow, checked and improved the standards.

We have appreciated this review very much. It helped us to check and improve our services.

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florence, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
183 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2011

My husband and I had a lovely 3 nt stay here for our 10th anniv. We did not have reservations and just walked in and got a super rate. Our room was huge with a fabulous green marble bathroom but we did hear some street noise but nothing too disturbing. The hotel has a great location within walking distance to all the sights and to the main station. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was average but plentiful. My only complaint was that they actually charged for wi-fi and to use the computer. In this day and age it seems silly for a 4 star hotel to charge their guests 5 Euros per hour for this standard service. Even the local restaurants offered free wi-fi! The staff told me that many of the guests complained about this but the management will not extend free wi-fi. I hope the manager Maurizio Marchi is reading this! In any case they had a huge internet connection problem on the 2nd day of our stay which did not get resolved by the time we left. All things considered, we had a wonderful time in Florence and at this hotel. I went to school in Florence in 2000 for a couple of months and loved returning here. Actually, I lived in an apartment just above the Irish pub next to the hotel! We found a couple of great restaurants behind the hotel, namely Trattoria Al Trebbio and Trattoria Marione, both of them were fabulous by any standards and we cannot recommend them enough.

Room Tip: ask for rooms facing the back street
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bengal-tiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mendon, New York
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2011

Hotel Roma is in a good location right on the Piazza Santa Maria. It's far enough from the train station and the Duomo so you don't hear the noise of those areas, but just a quick walk away for both. Room was very spacious, and had a huge bathroom. The hotel staff were very helpful in making us reservations and finding us a wonderful restaurant right around the corner. On the weekends there is a fresh food market in the piazza which is a very impressive spread. Definitely plan on checking that out!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dklascell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Maria Novella
Santa Maria Novella Hotel
Santa Maria Novella Hotel
#29 of 411 in Florence
1,625 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Grand Hotel Minerva
Grand Hotel Minerva
#50 of 411 in Florence
1,927 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel L'Orologio
Hotel L'Orologio
#42 of 411 in Florence
1,281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Maria Novella
Domus Florentiae Hotel
Domus Florentiae Hotel
#192 of 411 in Florence
368 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel de La Ville
Hotel de La Ville
#66 of 411 in Florence
760 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Rivoli Boutique Hotel
Rivoli Boutique Hotel
#67 of 411 in Florence
1,599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Roma? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Roma

Property: Hotel Roma
Address: Piazza Santa Maria Novella 8, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Maria Novella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#66 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#112 Family Hotel in Florence
#122 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,878 - ₹ 21,255
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Roma 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Roma is a 4-star hotel in the centre of Florence. It is housed in an ancient 18th-century palazzo overlooking Piazza Santa Maria Novella, one of the not-to-be-missed places for those visiting Florence. The hotel is the ideal place for every type of stay: for artistic and cultural tourism, business, fun and shopping. Hotel Roma of Florence is in an excellent location and has all the amenities while preserving the charm typical of historic Florence hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Roma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roma Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing