We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stay away from Hotel bug palace!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Machiavelli Palace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Machiavelli Palace
Ranked #197 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
72 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Stay away from Hotel bug palace!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2012

Stayed here for 2 nigths, oh man!! We regreted badly...

Room stinked, it smelled like dirty bathroom, i never complain about smells anywhere but trust me our room stink, old weird furniture, hard uncomfortable bed, ackward shower, small old tv.

If that wasnt bad enought; first nigth we found one bug on the side table, we overlooked it... we figured it was just an isolated incident BUT second nigth round midnigth after we turned off the ligths, we were waken up by a bug in my pillow!! to our surprise when we turn the ligths on we found 3 big black bugs in the bed sheets!!! we asked for another room, gross!! tired and disgusted, we moved all our stuff to a new room but we couldnt sleep after that, thankfully it was our last night! we couldnt wait to get out that bug hole!. We wanted a refund, it was despicable that we were told that it was our own fault for not asking for another room the first nigth that we saw a bug in the room, Seriously?

Breaskfast was included but it was bad, old bread rolls, old ham n chesses, i was just remembering the bugs from the room, hmmmm i wonder if the food was safe from bugs?

Staff wasnt friendly not helpful either.

It was a good location but horrible hotel. To be clear we werent expecting luxury at all, but for the pricey price we paid, we at least expected a clean, safe, decent place to sleep, this AINT it.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gipsy828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
APM-GUESTSRELATION, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Machiavelli Palace, responded to this review, 15 September 2012
We are pride ourselves on our property upkeep and attention to detail, but clearly we were not up to standards on your stay and for that I am truly sorry. I have shared your comments with my management team for review and will take your cue from your complaints to improve service. We hope to see you again so soon, and to regain a positive comment, as most of the customers has given us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,100 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    190
    448
    296
    99
    67
See reviews for
206
475
64
95
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2012

Location to Train station was great was only a 5 minute walk, and also very close to other sights.
Room was average size however bathroom was tiny and shower was ultra small. I struggled to close the door and manuvoure around and i am not big!
We didn't get free wireless because we didn't book directly through the hotel but it wasn't working anyway. They told us that it would be working by the evening but it never came up.
Breakfast was below average compared to other 3 star hotels we have been. We would rather have had free wireless then get breakfast included.
Can get a bit noisy at night as the hotel is in quite a busy area.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Annie Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
APM-GUESTSRELATION, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Machiavelli Palace, responded to this review, 15 September 2012
Thanks on behalf of the entire staff for your kind review. These comments lead us every day to improve and work better in order to satisfy the wishes of our customers. We hope to see you soon and thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2012

We stayed for three nights at the end of May. The hotel has a great location very near the railway station with all attractions in walking distance (2 mins to San Lorenzo market, 5 mins to Academia and only 10 mins or so to the other main attractions).
The room was nicely decorated, spotlessly clean and made each day. The only downsides of the accommodation was the bathroom (the shower enclosure was very small and rather cramped) and pretty thin walls (which made it a bit noisy in the mornings).
Breakfast was fine with a good selection of cereals, pastries and fruits. However, the coffee was pretty grim, though there are plenty of places nearby where one can get a very decent cup at 1 euro.
Staff were very helpful and willing to help out with directions. There is an Italian restaurant called Osteria All’Antico Mercato just up Via Nazionale on the same side of the road as the hotel (walking away from the train station). Great food and a special arrangement with the hotel (no covers with free water and bread). Plus, do not miss “Venchi” ice cream about 200 meters before reaching Pont Vecchio - wonderful quality ice cream and not at the rip off prices found nearer the bridge.
Overall, the hotel a good base for a short break and we enjoyed it very much.

Room Tip: We had a fourth floor room overlooking a side street, so it was pretty quiet (singing drunks on a Fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wimbledonjoshis86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ATLPALAC, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Machiavelli Palace, responded to this review, 7 August 2012
Thanks on behalf of the entire staff for your kind review. These comments lead us every day to improve and work better in order to satisfy the wishes of our customers. We hope to see you soon and thanks again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2012

Great location hotel staff where help full enough can get a bit noisy at night

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ugertie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ATLPALAC, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Machiavelli Palace, responded to this review, 7 August 2012
Thanks on behalf of the entire staff for your kind review. These comments lead us every day to improve and work better in order to satisfy the wishes of our customers. We hope to see you soon and thanks again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Hotel Atlantic Palace
Hotel Atlantic Palace
#129 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,087 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Paris Hotel
Paris Hotel
#126 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,337 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Sempione
Hotel Sempione
#136 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Hotel Corona D'Italia
Hotel Corona D'Italia
#128 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 766 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Delle Nazioni Hotel
Delle Nazioni Hotel
#186 of 421 in Florence
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,272 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Cosimo de'Medici
Hotel Cosimo de'Medici
#81 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 957 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Machiavelli Palace? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Machiavelli Palace

Property: Hotel Machiavelli Palace
Address: Via Nazionale 10, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #197 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,952 - ₹ 14,078
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Machiavelli Palace 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Florence and built on a Templar church, just a few hundred metres from Santa Maria Novella train station and the Fortezza da Basso, the Hotel Machiavelli Palace is the ideal location from which to explore the city's secrets and reach all the major museums and monuments on foot in only a few minutes.Multilingual staff 24h.Rich buffet breakfast.Air conditioned.Exchang service.Wi-fi service and internet point. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Machiavelli Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Machiavelli Palace Florence
Machiavelli Palace Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing