We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Machiavelli Palace
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Sempione(Florence)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Eden(Florence)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Breakfast included
  • Free Internet
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Free Internet
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Hotel Alinari(Florence)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (1,302)
Filter reviews
1,302 results
Traveller rating
243
528
332
116
83
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
243
528
332
116
83
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstrain stationvia faenzawithin walking distancemain stationaround the cornerexcellent locationconvenient locationthird floorsan lorenzocroissantscentral marketminute walk to the duomoroof terracebreakfast was includednice breakfastthe air conditioningsmall hotel
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
403 - 408 of 1,302 reviews
Reviewed 5 June 2012

Location to Train station was great was only a 5 minute walk, and also very close to other sights.
Room was average size however bathroom was tiny and shower was ultra small. I struggled to close the door and manuvoure around and i am not big!
We didn't get free wireless because we didn't book directly through the hotel but it wasn't working anyway. They told us that it would be working by the evening but it never came up.
Breakfast was below average compared to other 3 star hotels we have been. We would rather have had free wireless then get breakfast included.
Can get a bit noisy at night as the hotel is in quite a busy area.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annie Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
APM-GUESTSRELATION, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Machiavelli Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2012

Thanks on behalf of the entire staff for your kind review. These comments lead us every day to improve and work better in order to satisfy the wishes of our customers. We hope to see you soon and thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2012

We stayed for three nights at the end of May. The hotel has a great location very near the railway station with all attractions in walking distance (2 mins to San Lorenzo market, 5 mins to Academia and only 10 mins or so to the other main attractions).
The room was nicely decorated, spotlessly clean and made each day. The only downsides of the accommodation was the bathroom (the shower enclosure was very small and rather cramped) and pretty thin walls (which made it a bit noisy in the mornings).
Breakfast was fine with a good selection of cereals, pastries and fruits. However, the coffee was pretty grim, though there are plenty of places nearby where one can get a very decent cup at 1 euro.
Staff were very helpful and willing to help out with directions. There is an Italian restaurant called Osteria All’Antico Mercato just up Via Nazionale on the same side of the road as the hotel (walking away from the train station). Great food and a special arrangement with the hotel (no covers with free water and bread). Plus, do not miss “Venchi” ice cream about 200 meters before reaching Pont Vecchio - wonderful quality ice cream and not at the rip off prices found nearer the bridge.
Overall, the hotel a good base for a short break and we enjoyed it very much.

Room Tip: We had a fourth floor room overlooking a side street, so it was pretty quiet (singing drunks on a Friday night aside!). There was an unexpected and lovely view of the Duomo, San Lorenzo market and Florence skyline from the small balcony, making the rooms worth asking for.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wimbledonjoshis86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ATLPALAC, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Machiavelli Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2012

Thanks on behalf of the entire staff for your kind review. These comments lead us every day to improve and work better in order to satisfy the wishes of our customers. We hope to see you soon and thanks again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2012

Great location hotel staff where help full enough can get a bit noisy at night

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ugertie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ATLPALAC, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Machiavelli Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2012

Thanks on behalf of the entire staff for your kind review. These comments lead us every day to improve and work better in order to satisfy the wishes of our customers. We hope to see you soon and thanks again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2012

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
ATLPALAC, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Machiavelli Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 18 May 2012

A good no-frills place to stay in Florence, it's just a couple of minutes from the train station and a 5 minute walk to the Duomo or a 10-15 minute walk to the Palazzo Vecchio and Ufizzi.

The room was really small with a tiny shower area but I guess that's what you can expect in a low budget hotel in such a great location. AC was decent but the mini-fridge didn't appear to be working. If you're expecting luxury this is not the place for you, it was clean and comfortable though.

The staff was very helpful and some of them could speak a little english, the only problem I had was during the last couple of days when a Spanish couple with a small child were staying in the room next to mine and the child would yell 24/7, the front desk told me they could not move since they didn't have any available rooms, unless I were willing to pay for an upgrade.

Breakfast was also very good, plenty of choices and really good cold cuts. The breakfast room is also very interesting and it has some old style frescoes.

I would definitely stay again at the Machiavelli Palace.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rfzappala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ATLPALAC, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Machiavelli Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2012

Thanks on behalf of the entire staff for your kind review. These comments lead us every day to improve and work better in order to satisfy the wishes of our customers. We hope to see you soon and thanks again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews