We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a nice reception !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Rivoli Boutique Hotel
Ranked #70 of 411 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Creve Coeur, Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Not a nice reception !”
Reviewed 4 May 2012

I made a reservation in their internet site, twin beds, two people. The price was of course higher than for a single reservation. The confirmation came for a twin...for ONE person. I called over the phone, sent an email to info@rivoli, got a response stating the room was paid for TWO people. Upon arrival, the front desk attendant said I had reserved for ONE person. I told him about my clarification. The supervisor consulted, said NO ! I had to open my laptop and showed the email with the confirmation...and then no apology offered, the clerk stating it was "a Best Western error". The answer was from their own employee ! It took half an hour to check in ! No manners, really !

Room Tip: A room not facing the street would be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Letsgoblues1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirezioneRivoli, Responsabile reception at Rivoli Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 5 May 2012
Dear guest,
thank you for leaving here your comments, it is always a great opportunity for us to learn from our Guests. I just take the opportunity to point out a few things. I was personally here when you checked in and I can assure you that my collegues where just explaining you that you booked a double room for single use instead of a double for two people, for which, by the way, you have NOT been charged for the difference.
On the booking engine, it is very clear that guests can book different kind of rooms:
single room (1 person at the basic rate)
double for single use (1 person that chooses to book a bigger room at a higher rate for a more comfortable stay)
double classic ( 2 people in a room and at a higher rate that double for single use)
Probably by mistake you booked the double for single use and when you arrived the reception staff was correctly informing you about the mistake. When you pulled out you computer to show us the mail (which by the way we don't seem to have received, maybe because the mail address you indicate in your comment is not our mailing address), I agreed not to charge the difference and as I trusted you I didn't require to see any mail. My collegue then proceeded with the check in. Altogether all of the above didn't honestly take longer than five minutes. In the following days, I have seen the staff being at your disposal for all the questions and help you needed, so I hope your opinion on the service offered was improved. I look forward to welcoming you at the Rivoli the next time you will visit Florence.
Best Regards
Daniele Torrini - Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,605 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    776
    616
    149
    40
    24
See reviews for
363
743
53
137
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Argostolion, Greece
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2012

Searched for a long time to find the right hotel in Florence. I am never that impressed with Italian hotel generally but this one was different. The hotels character shines from the moment you walk in. We were greeted by friendly staff and a reception with great character. Our rooms were of all shapes and sizes but this only added to the hotels charm. Breakfast was well organized, staff served cappuccino coffees and were very attentive. We all enjoyed a long soak in the jaccuzzi after a long days walking and sightseeing. If I had to find something to complain about then our bathroom was very small, but it was only our one as the rest of our party had a reasonably large one. Not keen on the white wood flooring either but I'm nit-picking now.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, PA USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2012

Staff extremely friendly and helpful. Beautiful hotel with great common areas both inside and out. Hotel restaurant Benedicta was very good for both breakfast and dinner. Location of hotel is perfect. A block away from bus and train station close to Santa Maria Novella but within 10 minute walk of central Florence.

Room Tip: Some rooms on second floor have private residences above which can be noisy at times. Never at nigh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirezioneRivoli, Responsabile reception at Rivoli Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 28 April 2012
Dear Guest,
thank you for leaving your comments on TA and sharing your experience with thousands of "clients". I printed out your comment and show it to all my collegues; all of us would like to thank you for your nice words.
I hope to welcome you once again at the Rivoli and just say Arrivederci!
Daniele Torrini
Ass. Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockton On Tees
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2012

I have just spent 2 nights at this hotel in a triple room with some girlfriends. The hotel is ideally located within walking distance to the station and the town. Rooms clean staff friendly and helpful. We did not eat at the hotel just breakfast which was fine. The gallery's get very busy so we never managed them but saw plenty walking. Would stay here again good value for money.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DebbieStocktonOnTees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirezioneRivoli, Responsabile reception at Rivoli Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 27 April 2012
Dear Guest,
thanks for your comments that I printed out for the staff.
Hoping to welcome you once again at the Rivoli, from all of us best regards and Arrivederci!
Daniele Torrini
Ass. Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Britain, Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Hotel Rivoli was everything we wanted and then more. It is easy walking from the train station (5 minutes with suitcases), walking distance (10 or at most 15 minutes) to all the tourist areas of Florence. Our room came with a balcony with a table and 2 chairs overlooking the courtyard, complete with blooming flowerpots. The place was spotlessly clean: good bed, new plumbing, plenty of hot water, enough closet space, very nice buffet breakfast. If one had extra time, there are lovely garden spaces and lobby spaces to sit. The street included several reasonable restaurants, (some with free wifi) and a launderette. However, most outstanding was the help we received our last night there from the desk clerk to confirm an unexpected change in our next hotel reservation. She made the call in Italian for us to confirm the change and get us directions for finding the hotel in Venice, let us use the desk phone to confirm the change with our agent in the US and was caring and supportive while we dealt with the problems. Excellent place to stay! Grazie, Hotel Rivoli!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ACS-NB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Maria Novella
Grand Hotel Minerva
Grand Hotel Minerva
#53 of 411 in Florence
1,935 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Adler Cavalieri
Adler Cavalieri
#83 of 411 in Florence
829 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Santa Maria Novella Hotel
Santa Maria Novella Hotel
#29 of 411 in Florence
1,632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Alba Palace
Hotel Alba Palace
#73 of 411 in Florence
1,464 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel L'Orologio
Hotel L'Orologio
#43 of 411 in Florence
1,283 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Laurus al Duomo
Hotel Laurus al Duomo
#69 of 411 in Florence
1,618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rivoli Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rivoli Boutique Hotel

Property: Rivoli Boutique Hotel
Address: Via della Scala 33, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Maria Novella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#44 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#60 Business Hotel in Florence
#66 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#82 Family Hotel in Florence
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,870 - ₹ 26,912
Hotel Class:4 star — Rivoli Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the old town of Florence, the Rivoli Boutique Hotel offers class hospitality with charm, as well as spacious and elegantly decorated hotel rooms and suites. The Rivoli Boutique Hotel is a 4-star superior hotel that is set inside a restored 14th-century Franciscan convent, where guests can breath the charming and unique atmosphere of this ancient historic building in the city of Florence. The restoration has highlighted the architectural details dating back to 1500 such as arches and vaults, coffered ceilings and stone columns. Guests are welcomed in an enchanting setting full of cozy atmosphere, embellished by refined common areas, which are conceived as an oasis of tranquility away from the hectic pace of the city. The Internal Patio, which was obtained from a complete renovation of the Franciscan cloister, is now dedicated to relaxation and wellbeing, featuring an unforgettable 20 sqm-whirlpool that is also open during the winter with a constant water temperature of 36° C. The location could not be better, a few steps from the Santa Maria Novella railway station, the Duomo Cathedral, Ponte Vecchio Bridge, opposite the ancient and famous Officina Profumo di Santa Maria Novella, and the most important museums. In addition to the interior elegant and spacious patio, the Rivoli Boutique Hotel guests can enjoy the quiteness of the small "garden of medlar", an exceptional lounge where to spend moments of real relax; in summer time the garden is available for breakfast and dinners prepared and served by Benedicta Restaurant , 3 Michelin forks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rivoli Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Rivoli
Best Western Florence
Florence Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing