We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Savoy - strongly reccomend”
Review of Hotel Savoy

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Savoy
Ranked #26 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 May 2012

The room had appropriate size as for one person. It was nicely decorated with the splendid bathroom and all facilities that should be in the rooms of this standard. The view from the window was splendid, I could have seen the dome easily - I was staying at the 5th floor. Concierge is splendid, their help and advice really help me not only once.
The location of the hotel is splendid as well. I was really satisfied also with the waiting staff - efficient and polite. That is the thing you expect choosing such places.

Room Tip: The higher - the better, i has a great view for the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank saragra G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,036)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

601 - 605 of 1,036 reviews

Reviewed 10 May 2012

For me, Firenze is watching the world stream through the Piazza della Republica from a second floor balcony of the perfectly located Savoy.
All day and all night one can be enveloped at an ever-changing throb of tourism, business and history below.
For years I avoided the Savoy staying at the nearby comfortable and quiet Helvetia & Bristol because I thought who wants all those crowds; all those people.
Last year I relented and tried it. I liked it. A LOT. This year I tried it again and liked it again.
The room was small. And distorted by a ceiling were so high that the room felt higher than wide, and you had to exhale to get into the well appointed but under shelved tiny, tiny bathroom; but when doors as high as the ceilings, double paned to prevent the noise, were opened and the word was at my feet; the stay was magical.
For longer stays, especially in the summer heat, I’d probably elect to stay at the Four Seasons with their quiet park and pool, but for shorter stays other than July and August I love throbbing sense of Florence from the Savoy’s second floor, or any other room with a balcony.
P.S. It did not hurt that they also served a fabulous vitello tonnato from their ringside seat café.

Room Tip: It's the balcony, stupid!!!! Try he second Floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank venamo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2012

Very very central hotel for everything. View of the room was great of the piazza della repubblica. Very spacious room more like a apartment, it had two bathrooms a very large closet, a lounge area with sofa and two chairs, then a king size bed in a seperate bedroom, along with a steam shower room. Marble floors throughout. Although in the steam shower there was a drain odour.

Excellent service from the doorman, and reception staff.

We had breakfast here which the staff were not so great they seemed confused with there own menu. The breakfast was overpriced for a bowl of cereal and toast!

Sheets on the bed weren't as great as other hotels I have stayed at, although clean. No walk in showere they shower was over the bath in both bathrooms.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NJBrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2012

We arrived and were pleasantly surprised to be greeted by or names by the doorman. Our suite was huge and beautiful...having nice views....the bed linen wasnt as soft and the beds were on wheels which keep shifting whenever u turn... If u expect hot room service in the night, it's not available... The location of this hotel is best among any hotel In Florence.... Living ere I realised one of its main usp's is its location and friendly staff....would I prefer it over the st. Regis or our seasons next time I visit...most definitely a YES!

Stayed: April 2012
Thank SRDJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2012

Central location in an touristy, but energetic area. EVERYTHING is walking distance. The concierge is helpful but verify their restaurant recommendations because there are better cheaper places in Florence.

Room was clean but small for the price in our opinion. Bathroom was nicer than the room. Anyway, you prob won't be staying in the room much. This makes the price even less palatable

Room Tip: Some rooms with "a view" are not of the piazza but of the building next to the hotel and p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anil V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
Palazzo Vecchietti Suites and Studios
Santa Maria Novella
The St. Regis Florence
The St. Regis Florence
#14 of 410 in Florence
1,298 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Brunelleschi
Hotel Brunelleschi
#24 of 410 in Florence
2,833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Golden Tower Hotel & Spa
Golden Tower Hotel & Spa
#15 of 410 in Florence
1,285 reviews
San Marco
Four Seasons Hotel Firenze
Santa Maria Novella
The Westin Excelsior Florence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Savoy? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Savoy

Address: Piazza della Repubblica 7, 50123, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Duomo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Florence
#22 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#23 Family Hotel in Florence
#28 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range: ₹ 38,047 - ₹ 65,814 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Savoy 5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The five-star Hotel Savoy offers luxury and style in the heart of Florence. Located on the Piazza Repubblica, close to Florence's renowned landmark the Duomo, the hotel is just a short walk from the Uffizi Gallery and the Ponte Vecchio. Just steps away from the main Florence fashion houses, the Hotel Savoy is the ideal base from which to visit the key attractions of this beautiful and historic city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Savoy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rocco Forte Savoy
Forte Hotel Florence
Forte Florence
Florence Forte

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing