We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful accommodations in the heart of Florence” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Savoy

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Savoy
Ranked #24 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Melville, New York
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“wonderful accommodations in the heart of Florence”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2012

Spotless room, albeit small. Wonderful staff! Very easy to get around.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dawn13169
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

957 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    675
    204
    55
    16
    7
See reviews for
196
465
46
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2012

A little late with my review, but I guess its better than never. Over the summer of 2011, my boyfriend and I got a chance to travel to Italy and spent two nights at the Hotel Savoy in Florence.... it was by far the best hotel that we stayed at in Italy. The hotel in general is OUTSTANDING and the service can't be beat! With a location in the heart of Florence it is easy to walk around and see all the major sights! The hotel staff was VERY HELPFUL in pointing us in the right direction (in english) and also reserving a private car for us to drive us to see the leaning tower and other sights around Florence. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants an amazing stay in the Florence area. We usually stay at all AMERICAN EXPRESS Fine Hotel & Resorts when we travel (which this hotel is a part of) and will definitely provide great feedback to AmEx for their amazing choice of hotel in Florence! Safe travels to all of you!

PS. The room service was SOOOO amazing and the view from the balcony overlooking the heart (square) of Florence... simply to fabulous! :)

Room Tip: We had a room near the corner of the hotel which allowed us to see both the street leading away from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NateM5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights and loved it. The location is excellent, right in the middle of a convenient piazza with plenty of shops nearby. The breakfast is solid with your typical fare of pastries, cured meats and smoked fish, etc. The room was solid, nothing particularly fancy, but nothing to fall short. We did have an awesome view of the Duomo. I think rooms on either side of the hotel would have good views - either the Duomo or the Piazza. The bathroom was small but met our needs. Great shower with solid water pressure. The service was excellent as the staff were extremely attentive to our every needs. The concierge got us reservations at a great restaurant in demand at the exact time we wanted. They also got us our train tickets to Rome without any problems at all. The hotel has a more boutique feel to it, which is what we tend to prefer when traveling. Little things made the difference, such as the staff and doorman always remembering our names when greeting us. We hung out at the bar/restaurant downstairs both nights and had drinks while people watching in the piazza, which was alot of fun. Try the negroni!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NYCoug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bingham Farms, Michigan
Level Contributor
97 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2012

Thank you Savoy for saving our visit to Florence!!

Having initially been checked in to 'The Hotel J & J', we were first taken to a 'J & J' room which was hot and stuffy, and were told that the air conditioning was broken. There were starving mosquitoes flying about the room, excited by our arrival, with screenless windows opened and welcoming of more. After being told there were no more rooms available, we were compelled to pay for the night's stay despite the unacceptability of the room condition. Having been fortunately booked into The Savoy by our Amex agent, we arrived late in the evening to this stunning and friendly lodging within this magical city.

The Savoy is located in the Square of Florence, allowing its patrons the privilege of having easy access to the City's most cheished sights. The Savoy staff was professional, courteous, and exceptional, and the rooms were clean and splendidly appointed. There is a lovely outdoor cafe with a classic bar overlooking the Square, and the entire 'feel' of The Savoy is one of European elegance!

If you wish to have the City in your hands, and accomodations that match the architectural brilliance of Firenze, this place is a jewel!

Room Tip: The Savoy is about a five minute ride to the Train Station, and within an easy walking distance of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DrThought
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
49 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2012

Just stayed 5 nights in the middle of the coldest winter Italy has seen in decades. The Savoy is incredibly well located in the center of town. The front desk and doormen were the most helpful I've ever seen, handling the tiniest need perfectly and very fast. Breakfast was pastries and meats unless you ordered off the a la carte menu, which was good but expensive, natch. There was one rude server at breakfast. The bar area (also the breakfast area) is small but very nice for cocktails and has an extensive martini menu. The beds could be a little softer, but the rooms are very well appointed and comfortable, fabulous bathrooms with tubs perfect for a hot bath after walking around in 20degree weather and snow. Definitely recommend. Street noise is a slight problem if you are going to bed early, but this is the case with any well located hotel and did not affect our stay. Go for the location, stay for the amazing service!

Room Tip: I'm guessing a higher floor would be further from the noise of the square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JillyConQueso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Maria Novella
JK Place Firenze
JK Place Firenze
#22 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 605 reviews
Duomo
Golden Tower Hotel & Spa
Golden Tower Hotel & Spa
#15 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,110 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
The St. Regis Florence
The St. Regis Florence
#10 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Maria Novella
The Westin Excelsior Florence
Uffizi
Portrait Firenze
Portrait Firenze
#3 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
San Marco
Four Seasons Hotel Firenze
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Savoy? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Savoy

Property: Hotel Savoy
Address: Piazza della Repubblica 7, 50123, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Duomo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Florence
#21 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#23 Family Hotel in Florence
#28 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price range (per night): ₹ 26,341 - ₹ 58,686
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Savoy 5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The five-star Hotel Savoy offers luxury and style in the heart of Florence. Located on the Piazza Repubblica, close to Florence's renowned landmark the Duomo, the hotel is just a short walk from the Uffizi Gallery and the Ponte Vecchio. Just steps away from the main Florence fashion houses, the Hotel Savoy is the ideal base from which to visit the key attractions of this beautiful and historic city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Prestigia, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Savoy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rocco Forte Savoy
Forte Hotel Florence
Forte Florence
Florence Forte

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing