We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Hermitage
Nearby Hotels
US$ 327
US$ 278
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Grand Hotel Minerva(Florence)
US$ 384
US$ 372
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$ 185
US$ 160
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$ 565
US$ 421
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$ 287
US$ 279
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$ 721
US$ 371
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$ 460
US$ 416
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$ 533
US$ 454
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
US$ 368
US$ 313
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hilton Florence Metropole(Florence)(Great Value!)
US$ 156
US$ 125
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Reviews (657)
Filter reviews
657 results
Traveller rating
350
245
44
14
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
350
245
44
14
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop terraceponte vecchiogreat locationlovely sitting roombreakfast roomarno riveruffizi galleryquaint hoteltiny elevatorcan't beat the locationrooms are smalltop floorpastriespitti palaceshort breakwithin walking distancestayed here for nights
Filter
Updating list...
326 - 331 of 657 reviews
Reviewed 13 February 2012

The hotel is ideally situated- the bedroom had a fantastic view over the river . Staff could not be more helpful, and the breakfast was really good.
Bedrooms and bathroom were small but well appointed.
A real discovery- would recommend this hotel without question.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aac2266
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2012

All these positive reviews from experienced Tripadvisors can't be wrong. Hotel Hermitage has a fantastic location, but it doesn't disappoint on its service either!

For the location alone - literally less than 100 yards from the Ponte Vecchio - I'd suggest you give it some serious consideration for your first visit to Florence. It was my fifth visit to Florence and I wondered why I hadn't stayed there before. The hotel makes it so easy to access the Uffuzi, the great restaurants and shopping both north and south of the Arno (check out the women's boutique Marcel just before Piazza Pitti and La Badia shoe store just east of Piazza Signora).

From the late hour we checked in at the hotel - the service was always prompt and courteous. Do keep in mind, however, that this is not a 5 star hotel -- this is more similar to a bed & breakfast. So in some ways the service is more personal (such as asking for a late night drink from the honor bar after arrival) and in other ways, less "full" service (they won't be able to arrange a taxi pickup FROM the airport, though no problem on a taxi TO the airport). There's is always one person at reception and a porter during the day time.

Note that there is a set of steps both into the building of the hotel and then a larger set of steps from the building entrance up to the lift. Lift is very small just fits 3 persons without luggage - so if arriving with large luggage, best to ask for the porter.

We arrived at a slightly peculiar time for Florence. There was a big winter freeze (down to 10 degrees below freezing at night) and this did affect our stay and experience at the hotel.

Perhaps like many other older buildings in Europe, the insulation of the building left us cold during the big chill. Despite leaving the room heater on full-blast, we felt a constant cold draft in both the room and the always freezing bathroom. We ended up asking for extra blankets the second night, which helped.

It was way too cold during our stay to use the terrace, though we really enjoyed the decor of the reception room. Made us feel like we were in the living room of a local home, which is part of the charm of this hotel.

The decor of the rooms are also slightly older - not necessarily lush furniture or bedding, though there are modern TV's and a safe in the room. No mini-bar or fridge though. Everything was very clean and it showed that someone's paying attention -- the hotel is being well looked after.

We stayed on the 2nd floor and although we didn't experience any noise from other rooms, we did get woken up early Saturday morning by the emptying/dumping of glass bottles from facing the 'courtyard' -- really the back of several establishments and some car parking. No noise problems fortunately on Sunday.

The included breakfast is from 7am to 10am, though the hotel made allowances for us to stay and linger over breakfast after 10am. Good spread of breads, cheeses, yogurts and fruits. Coffee, teas, and cappuccinos made to order and again always served with courteous smiles. Hot items can be ordered separately for an extra charge.

For the price of EUR100/night, highly recommend this hotel based on the location and service for a short sightseeing/shopping/romantic trip to Florence.

Room Tip: higher floor - perhaps facing the duomo side.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Neconoir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2012

My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at The Hermitage. We cannot stress enough about it's location....SUPERB!. Walking distance to most of the sights in Florence...The Duomo, the Basilica Santa Croce, Boboli Gardens and even Piazzale Michelangiolo. A stone's throw from Ponte Vecchio and the Uffizzi. We would like to express our thanks to Jolanda for making our stay a delight. The breakfast spread was great. The rooms are very clean. It's a very quaint and cosy hotel. This will be our hotel of choice the next time we find ourselves in this beautiful city and we highly recommend this establishment to anyone visiting Florence.

Room Tip: Our room # 307 was excellent. We also noticed a family of four ( a couple and two kids) had a room at the roof top where the terrace is. We like the view from the terrace.
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Skaramoosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2012

We have stayed in this lovely, wonderfully loaded hotel right not he Arno very near the Ponta Vechio several times in the past 30 years. The staff are wonderful; breakfast is included and varied and large, the living room makes it a cosy place in cold weather and the roof garden makes it divine in the warmer weather - and the views from the roof top are superb. We have had jr high age children with us there as well as 40 year old children with us there - they all LOVE it. Our most recent stay was late November 2011

Room Tip: ask for one away from the road along the Arno if quiet is especially desired
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank carefree85377
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2012

We stayed at the Hotel Hermitage at the beginning of January 2012 for 3 nights. We took two rooms, one for my wife and myself, the other for our teenage sons just across the corridor. We weren't lucky enough to get rooms with a view of the river but they were well-furnished with good firm beds, an excellent bathroom (the jacuzzi bath a nice touch) and plenty of space.

The oddness of having the reception at the top of the building could make it awkward for those with a lot of luggage as the lift is very small, but it's a minor issue. For those with difficulty walking there is a short flight of steps to the lift.

The welcome was excellent with all of the staff friendly and polite. I'd recommend taking an aperitif in the bar to unwind if you've had a long journey getting to Florence, as we had. The hotel is excellently situated, the Ponte Vecchio is just outside the front door, Uffizi a 2 minute walk, 5 minutes to the Duomo.

Breakfast (included with the room) was functional and would set you up for a day's gallery-going. You could get a more extensive selection for a few euros more. Restaurants immediately in the area were a bit touristy but it's hard to get a bad meal in Italy.

On the whole I would say this is a well-run hotel and was worth going slightly over our usual budget to be in such an ideal location for a short stay.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GeoffLevett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews