We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Experience”
Review of Villa Cora

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Villa Cora
Ranked #4 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 October 2017

I perfect way to feel luxury in Florence, if you want to expend some quality time with your love this is the place. Villa Cora will give you a space to see and feel the 19 century in a way you can enjoy and feel part of it.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with The Leading Hotels of the World
1  Thank Lucas O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Villa C, Direttore generale at Villa Cora, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2017

Dear Lucas
Thanks you for your amazing review.
We will be more than pleased to give you our welcome back!!!
My warm regards
Simone Giorgi - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,043)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

44 - 48 of 1,043 reviews

Reviewed 13 October 2017

They say that only the best works of art stand up to repeated scrutiny and the same could be said of great hotels. Villa Cora thrives and thrills not on one single visit alone but on several, successive ones; for the pleasures enjoyed on each occasion and the pleasures redoubled on building them collectively!

Make no mistake, there are hotels and then there are hotels. This is more than just a place to stay when visiting Florence. They are famous for remarking to their guests, whom they treat as revered friends, that this is their 'second home from home' when in Florence and while that might initially make some readers baulk at what could sound corny or cheap. It is not. It is a true testimony to the brilliance of everything that Villa Cora boasts and their deep-rooted wish to make you feel at home throughout your stay.

We first visited in August 2015 during insufferably hot conditions where sitting by the pool was a liability even in the shaded temperatures of 40 degrees! We returned in October 2015 and then with a hiatus of two years came back this October (2017) for a foretaste of paradise!

It has not only maintained its eminence as the jewel of all hotels, if not all hotels in Florence, but it has also surpassed expectations of unrivalled brilliance.

The staff are their gorgeously charming, helpful, courteous and benevolent selves whose personalities manage to peep through the professional dignity and decorum with which they conduct themselves. Smiles are perpetually on hand as much as genuine, sincere interest in your welfare and pleasure.

Everybody excels, without exception! On our first visit, this was not always the case. There were a few exceptions but since then, Simone Giorgi (the General Manager) has managed to gather a collection of people that many rival hotels would give their eye-teeth to poach.

Once the staff know your quirks and requests, nothing becomes too much for them. We have very fussy dietary requirements for various reasons and they met them without making an issue both at breakfast and dinner, without needing to remind any member of the team.

When we requested our favourite mineral water (without fluoride) they sent out for a pack of six bottles which were lodged in the room within the hour. Likewise, a minor plumbing issue with the toilet was remedied swiftly and efficiently.

Perfection is not possible in most things but Villa Cora comes dangerously close to providing it because even if a problem arises they will tend to it and remedy the problem like no other establishment. Nothing feels like it is an exertion for them or a hinderance, and if you are not pleased they are not pleased!

Rooms continue to be as well-kept, beautiful and immaculately cleaned by the sweetly modest and smartly dressed housekeeping staff. Breakfast is as plentiful and nourishing as ever and, on this occasion, dinner service has improved immensely. It was something of a let down in the past for not being varied enough. Those days have gone, mercifully, and the team under the watchful command of Patrizia now offers a varied menu (including vegan options) with wondrously mellow and fruity red wines as well as swifter service on display than when we were first staying at VC.

The entrance to VC is entrancing! It is also outstanding. From the moment Alfredo (the great, with his suitably great moustache) opens the door with a beaming smile, looking something like a cross between a Fellini cast member and a younger John Cleese (minus any snide undertones), you are immediately entering the inner sanctums of effortless courtesy and warm expertise. His colleague; the sweet-smiling, innocent-faced Sarah, will greet you with an endearingly beautiful welcome or bid you a farewell for the day that sets you up for the sunny weather with an appropriately sunny disposition.

Concierge supremos include Lorenzo the truly Magnificent! Unlike Firenze's Lorenzo of Medici fame, he is not 'lording it over others', but good-natured; good-humoured and well-versed on the places to see and shops to frequent in Firenze. He is also efficient and adept at remedying any issues with genuinely apologetic concern. He is truly exemplary and a true pleasure to know. The quintessential concierge, for sure.

Likewise, Alessandro with his dignified demeanour and interests in various elements of Italian culture, is a trove of great conversation and professionalism. This is equally matched in Antonio with his disarming smile and in the guise of Marco who will always extend a greeting whenever he sees you no matter how busy he is.

There is nothing to criticise about VC and only cornucopias of praise to heap upon this most remarkable of places. Everything about it, from the relaxed elegance of the surroundings and the villa itself to the unprecedented, unsurpassable cordiality of the team, makes VC unique which is why we returned for the third time and why so many other guests do the same.

We will definitely be back but the only problem with coming to Villa Cora repeatedly is that with each successive visit it becomes increasingly harder to leave!

One thing is for sure, you can leave Villa Cora, but its variegated charms will never leave your memories.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank RichardG123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Villa C, Direttore generale at Villa Cora, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2017

Dear Richard,

your rewiev is very appreciated and i thank you for your time you spent! (a lot of..)

Your comments regarding the attention to the detail from the staff and the management is very important for all the Team of Villa Cora! Your are our GUEST and more and more...Villa Cora is like a second Family....

It' s very important you put the attention to the empathy....

All your second Family is waiting for your next visit........your home in Florence.....I r

Warm regards

Simone Giorgi - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2017

This hotel was for a long time on my bucket list and I was finally able to stay there. The location with the main house is beautiful. I also like the pool area as well as the restaurant located at the pool. The food is very good and we had a very nice evening. I also visited the Spa and my rose ritual was relaxing and I felt like new afterwards. The interior is fantastic and the rooms are beautiful. You obviously have to like this opulent style but for me it was just perfect. Thanks also to Lorenzo and his team who made my stay very pleasant and I will surely come back to this place.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Doro W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Villa C, Direttore generale at Villa Cora, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2017

Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor.
We will be more than pleased to give you our welcome back!!!
My warm regards
Simone Giorgi - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2017

Stayed one night last week before moving to private accommodations in Florence. Very attentive and friendly staff eager to please. We had a luxurious room in the annex building containing the spa. Arrived early in the morning and room wasn't ready but the manager had coffee and pastry delivered pool-side while we waited. We were made to feel very special, even though we were only guests for a single night. Main building is gorgeous, and roof-top lounge has a fabulous view of the city. Thoroughly enjoyable stay!

Room Tip: Rooms in the annex building are further away from the street and slightly quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Newsuburban1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Villa C, Direttore generale at Villa Cora, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2017

Dear Guest,
thank you very much for your nice review .
We are so glad of course that yours was a positive comment about the Hotel and its facilities.
We will be more than pleased to give you our welcome back!!!
Warm regards,
Simone Giorgi - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2017 via mobile

This hotel is amazing. It is beautiful, elegant and very comfortable. We arrived after our visit to Rome and the Amalfi Coast looking for a few short days in Florence, what we found was a lovely hotel where we wanted to staycation. We gave up a day in the city to stay by the pool, visit the wellness center and relax before heading back home. The customer service was impeccable. The restaurant was amazing ! We will definitely return here

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank nanette z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Villa C, Direttore generale at Villa Cora, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2017

Dear Guest
Thanks you for your amazing review!!
We are so glad of course that yours was a positive comment about the Hotel and its facilities.
We will be more than pleased to give you our welcome back!!! I wish to thank you personally....
My warm regards
Simone Giorgi - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Hotel David
#1 of 410 in Florence
3,349 reviews
Hotel Lungarno
#6 of 410 in Florence
1,361 reviews
Duomo
Palazzo Vecchietti Suites and Studios
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Four Seasons Hotel Firenze
Four Seasons Hotel Firenze
#10 of 410 in Florence
1,668 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Spadai
Hotel Spadai
#2 of 410 in Florence
1,537 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Brunelleschi
Hotel Brunelleschi
#23 of 410 in Florence
2,950 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Cora? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Cora

Address: Viale Niccolo Machiavelli 18, 50125, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Florence
#1 Business Hotel in Florence
#3 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#11 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range: ₹ 20,480 - ₹ 75,999 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Villa Cora 5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
VILLA CORA is a 5 star resort located in a 19th century mansion with a large park, bordering the gardens along Viale dei Colli, within walking distance from Boboli and Oltrarno and considered the "grand lady" of Florence southern hills. Its 46 rooms and suites, heated pool in the park, Gourmet's Restaurant and Spa make it the ultimate, exquisitely sophisticated "city resort". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Villa Cora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Florence
Grand Hotel Cora

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing