We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding Bliss”
Review of Villa Cora

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Villa Cora
Ranked #7 of 411 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wedding Bliss”
Reviewed 18 June 2012

My fiance and I visited Florence in 2011 to find a venue for our wedding, as soon as we visited Villa Cora we knew that this was the place to celebrate our wedding.

The place is just beautiful, from the different themed floors to the beautiful bedrooms. The grounds whilst not particularly extensive are very pretty with a lovely pool.The Villa is close enough to central Florence to see all of historical Florence, whilst being quiet enough to also enjoy a romantic break. There is also a spa for the use of guests.

We returned in May 2012 with 45 guests to celebrate our wedding, we and our guests all had a fabulous time. The attention to detail of the staff, their helpfullness and even the wedding breakfast were great with the most amazing wedding cake I have ever tasted! The mirrored room was just perfect for the wedding service.
If you are thinking of marrying in Florence you can do no better than Villa Cora. Yes it's expensive, but having stayed in numerous 5* hotels I can say without reservation this is the best Hotel I have ever stayed in.

Thank you again Villa Cora.

Anna & Paul

Room Tip: All the rooms are beautiful, but if you want a really great view ask for a room overlooking historic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AnnaMBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Direttore generale at Villa Cora, responded to this review, 29 June 2012
Dear Mrs. Anna and Mr. Paul,

There are no words to thank you enough for this wonderful review!

We are very happy that you and your guests had a fabulous time with us on the occasion of your wedding celebration.

Thank you so much for your words and for describing so accurately our Villa. We try to do our best for taking care of every details both in the service and the ambience.

knowing that we had helped you to make Your wedding bliss like a dream is the best satisfaction for me and my staff!

I will be pleased to share your comment with my team.

We really hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in a near future!

Warmest Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

907 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    789
    84
    17
    7
    10
See reviews for
185
484
12
57
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2012

This property is even more beautiful than the pictures would ever convey. I felt like we were staying in a museum but totally comfortable with modern amenities. We had a duplex room with a huge bed in the main room, two! bathrooms, and two twin beds in a loft area that was cozy but large enough. The sitting area in front of the bed was spacious and there was more closet space than we could ever use. Nice firm mattress.
The whole property is very peaceful with beautiful rose gardens. The pool area is lovely, water was 80 degrees which was warm enough to swim if the sun was out during our stay.
We didn't use the spa but it looked lovely.
We ate two dinners overlooking the pool and both meals were fantastic. The breakfast buffet was far more than I expected including made to order omelets, a wide variety of breads, pastries, cereal, fruit, yogurt, meats, cheeses, etc. plus fresh squeezed juice and great coffee.
We used the shuttle several times which was very nice. I wished they offered service through the whole day and later into the eve, but a taxi back was around 10 Euro, so not a big deal.
More than anything, the service here was above and beyond! From the check in, to the shuttle driver, to the wait staff, everyone was genuinely friendly and helpful. My son's Nintendo Ds charger wouldn't work despite our adapter, and they tried theirs with no success, so one gentleman brought in his son's from home and let us borrow it a few days. That kind of service is priceless. Yes it is a pricey hotel, but we left feeling like we got value for our money and a one of a kind hotel experience. My son wants to return to Italy just to stay here, and I hope we can in the future.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank noagent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clarissa18, Direttore generale at Villa Cora, responded to this review, 11 June 2012
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your nice review .

We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and were satisfied with our services.

I will be pleased to relay your beautiful comment to our staff; this kind of comment really makes us happy, as our aim here at Grand Hotel Villa Cora has always been to make feel our guests at home!

We are already looking forward to welcoming you back soon !

My warmest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2012

My partner and I decided on a whim to finally take that trip to Italy we had been talking about for two years. Neither of us had ever been before, so we chose Florence as our first destination. We had no idea where to stay, so we immersed ourselves in Trip Advisor reviews and Expedia availability. I found the Grand Hotel Villa Cora here, and it sounded lovely, so we took a chance, and we are SO glad we did.

Everything about this hotel and its surrounding grounds was completely magical. The hotel itself has a feeling like you are a special guest in someone's gorgeous villa. I kept telling my partner that I felt like we were in the villa from the Sound of Music. The common rooms are just that stunning. And the staff make you feel totally welcome. They are right there when you need them, but they are completely invisible when you don't. They are about the best hotel staff I have ever experienced, and I have stayed in a lot of hotels.

Our room was gorgeous, too. So quiet, so peaceful, and so impeccably decorated. They even bring you bags of cookies as a part of their turndown service.

The food in the restaurant was amazing, as well. Both my partner and I are vegan, and the restaurant staff went out of their way to accommodate us, even cooking us a special pasta dish table side one evening. The restaurant itself is gorgeous, too, while at the same time, feels cozy and welcoming.

We actually loved the location, which was about a 10-15 minute walk from the center of Florence. If you take their shuttle, as we did a couple of times, it's about 5 minutes. I also went for a morning jog through the area surrounding the hotel and then into Florence. The hotel will give you a map of the area for jogging and hiking, too. And it was lovely to get to spend time in a gorgeous area of Florence we probably would not have gotten to see otherwise.

There are beautiful hotels in the center of Florence, but none were as magical as Villa Cora. If you have the chance, I highly encourage you to stay here. You will be so glad you did.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a higher floor away from the elevator. We did, and it was wonderful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clarissa18, Direttore generale at Villa Cora, responded to this review, 5 May 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you again for your feedback and we do hope that you will continue to make many more enjoyable visits to the Grand Hotel Villa Cora.

We very much look forward to seeing you again.

Yours sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2012

I booked a 4 night stay at the Villa Cora with my partner for 4 nights via BA.com (flights from Gatwick to Pisa) as a little treat for his 40th birthday. We stayed from 26 - 30 April 2012. It is not a cheap option for a break away, but if you book a 5 star hotel, you should be prepared to pay the prices. We booked a private car transfer to Florence which I recommend as we were whisked straight to the hotel (mercedes and chauffer), this is about 255 euros but if you can afford it, its worth the direct route. Upon arrival and check in, we were shown around the hotel and offered a complimentary soft drink at the poolside bar. We stayed in the villa by the pool in a smaller room (1st floor), but this was perfectly fine as our view of the pool was lovely and we were out and about most of the time. The staff were very friendly and gave great service of what you would expect from a 5 star establishment. The food was AMAZING, we ate at the poolside restaurant on Sunday night and the staff arranged a birthday cake which was a great surprise! The meal was impeccable, the restaurant manager talked us through the menu as you would expect and he gave recommendations for foods of the Tuscan region and where the ingredients were sourced, and the wine list was well stocked and the choice excellent. The meal was about 250 euro's for 2. Luckily, we had good weather, so we managed to laze by the pool after sightseeing in Florence. We chose to walk in to town each day (about 30 mins down the hill and take a right until you pass over the bridge) or taxi is 10-15 euros. The hotel also provided a free shuttle bus which you could book and we did so when we went for dinner at 'Golden View' which overlooks the Arno (highly recommended). We also visited Siena, which is about 1.5 hours away and you can get tours from around the train station. So in summary, if you want a break away and to have an oasis of charm in Italy, BOOK the Villa Cora. We fell in love with the hotel and have made plans to book it for our wedding, do consider this venue for private functions as it would suit all needs and your guests would be well looked after (46 rooms and they can cater for 100 guests). Thank you Villa Cora! We will be back and we will send our friends to see you. We look forward to having our wedding with you in 2014. And a little tip - if you ask the staff to see the 5th floor, they will take you to a private terrace where you can view Florence from the top of the hotel - STUNNING.

Room Tip: If you want the true Villa experience, ask to stay in the main house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LadyLomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clarissa18, Direttore generale at Villa Cora, responded to this review, 5 May 2012
Dear Guest,

we are very pleased to learn how much you enjoyed your stay with us and we would like to thank you for sharing your feedback with the Trip Advisor community.

We are already looking forward to welcoming you back soon, and of course for your wedding in 2014!

Yours sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swiss
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2012

Florence is a wonderful city, but even off season it can be a bit chaotic, with so many tourists and intense traffic. Villa Cora's core appeal is that it's located in a quiet villas area not far from the upper side of the Boboli Gardens, which means the city center is reached in 10 min with the complimentary shuttle or 8 to 15 EUR with a taxi. Sleep quality is very good, and when you have enough of the crowds you are quickly back in a relaxing environment.

The other quality which stands out is the friendliness of the staff, always keen to help and quickly relating to us in a personalized way. Faultless performance from a quite young team.
The property itself is quite amazing, no need to describe it - just have a look at the pictures....
We also loved the restaurant: we initially were planning to just have one dinner, and then explore other restaurants in Florence. We ended up with 3 out of 4 evenings on site.... Again the mix of relaxing environment and service quality makes it a very compelling value proposition. Food is great and actually good value-for-money (incl. the breakfast, which was a positive surprise in Italy)

Anything we did not like? Maybe the bathrooms were a bit too small in our connecting double rooms, but then this is an old property with history..

Overall a great experience and definitely a property we would recommmend

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lupoch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clarissa18, Direttore generale at Villa Cora, responded to this review, 5 May 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your recent experience at The Grand Hotel Villa Cora.

The team and I were delighted that you enjoyed the stay and found the service that you received from the staff to be good.

We hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you again soon.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Marco
Four Seasons Hotel Firenze
Four Seasons Hotel Firenze
#10 of 411 in Florence
1,480 reviews
Ville sull'Arno Hotel
#18 of 411 in Florence
779 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
The St. Regis Florence
The St. Regis Florence
#11 of 411 in Florence
1,259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Uffizi
Portrait Firenze
Portrait Firenze
#4 of 411 in Florence
510 reviews
Hotel David
#2 of 411 in Florence
3,171 reviews
San Lorenzo
Palazzo Castri 1874
Palazzo Castri 1874
#8 of 411 in Florence
905 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Cora? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Cora

Property: Villa Cora
Address: Viale Niccolo Machiavelli 18, 50125, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Florence
#1 Business Hotel in Florence
#6 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#11 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price range (per night): ₹ 24,356 - ₹ 88,785
Hotel Class:5 star — Villa Cora 5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
VILLA CORA is a 5 star resort located in a 19th century mansion with a large park, bordering the gardens along Viale dei Colli, within walking distance from Boboli and Oltrarno and considered the "grand lady" of Florence southern hills. Its 46 rooms and suites, heated pool in the park, Gourmet's Restaurant and Spa make it the ultimate, exquisitely sophisticated "city resort". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Villa Cora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Florence
Grand Hotel Cora

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing