We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our favourite restaurant in Firenze”
Review of Bistro del Mare

Bistro del Mare
Reserve with
Bistro del Mare is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #127 of 2,717 Restaurants in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 17 - US$ 67
Cuisines: Italian, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Uffizi
Description: Our Fish Restaurant is located in a wonderful position, inside Palazzo Gianfigliazzi in Firenze, very close to Ponte Vecchio e next to Via Tornabuoni. It's a very modern place, accurte in every details, managed by young men who will make you feel at home. Bistro del Mare is the only restaurant in Florence that guarantees you great food at extremely affordable prices
Norway
Level Contributor
72 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Our favourite restaurant in Firenze”
Reviewed 13 April 2012 via mobile

This place is definitely very different from the average traditional Tuscan restaurants that you will find the most of in Firenze. It is an old building with a very modern interior. The old and new is mixed in a way that makes a very successful blend. We went here twice during our week in Firenze, once for lunch and once for dinner. Our experience is that it is not always easy to find good seafood in Firenze, but we found it here. The service was extremely friendly, helpful and efficient. We'll come back here our next time in Firenze.

Helpful?
Thank pebe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

828 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    456
    269
    72
    21
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ontario
Level Contributor
55 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“great local cuisine”
Reviewed 22 March 2012

Loved the very contemporary decor and the staff were very attentive and good. I would go back in a heart beat the food and ambiance are so good. Great value!!!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Beverley N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Do not taste grill”
Reviewed 9 March 2012

All grilled food was over burned. And takes a bitter taste.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sambeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
145 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Impressively good food”
Reviewed 3 March 2012

Visited for a Valentines day dinner.
This restaurant was again recommended by our hotel (the Berchielli) - it was also very close, say 150 metres along the river.
They were offering a fixed price deal of up to 4 'taster' starters, plus a main course & dessert per person for 48 euro each. We also had a bottle of very good local wine & alot of bread !
The quality of the food was excellent; all the starters were very well cooked & prepared; the only down side was we had to order the same main course - in our case salt cod in a local speciality sauce (which was very good).
The only drawback maybe was that we had a bit of a wait until they remembered us for dessert (with a little prompting); however they were by then almost full & the atmosphere was very pleasant.
The staff were pleasant & (mostly) efficient.
Maybe not a place just to 'pop into' but for a more special occasion certainly worth considering.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chrishel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florence, Italy
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“It's very good but don't eat too much bread!”
Reviewed 16 February 2012

My wife, daughter and I went to Bistro del Mare on Valentines Day 2012 for lunch. The bistro's grand entrance facing the Arno river, impresses and exudes class. The interior of the bistro is fresh and modern and beautifully styled with racks of wines surrounding many tables. We were the last diners for lunch and a local Florentine business crowd were just finishing up. The waiters were very friendly, professional and attentive and made us feel welcome. My wife and I ordered from the lunch specials menu - 2 courses for 13.90 euros - very reasonable. The wine list was extensive and prices per bottle started at 18 euros. We had a lovely crisp Pino Grigio for 20 euros. My wife had the mushroom risotto(tasty and creamy) and then a squid stew. I had a pasta fruti di mare (bit bland), then grilled fish (bit fishy and slightly burnt). I overdid it with the bread(the best bread I have had in Italy) while we waited for our meals. The long and the short is that the food was OK, but the surroundings were much better than expected and the service impeccable. I would definitely recommend this bistro - but don't eat too much bread!

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stephen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bistro del Mare also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to Bistro del Mare? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing