We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect”
other travellers have booked this property
The hall
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The hall
The hall
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
81 reviews
The hall
The hall
The most famous owner of the palace
The hall
The hall
Sight on the Medici Chapels from the hall
The hall
The corridor
Sight on Piazza dell'Olio
The Black Eagle Hotel where W.A.Mozart stayed during his first Italian Grand Tour seen from home
The Kitchen
The kitchen
The kitchen
The kitchen
The main bedroom
The main bedroom
Double bedroom
Double bedroom
Dining room, fire place
The dining room
The dining room
The dining room fire place
Florentine paintings
Florentine paintings
Night sight of the Dome
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Florence, Tuscany

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 81 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Italian first
Any
English first
jamerston...
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed 26 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Pros:
- Great location. We walked with 2 roll-along suitcases from the train station no problem. Florence is not a sprawling mass so it was easy to get everywhere on foot from the apartment's location.
- The owner is an absolute pleasure to deal with. Mario escorted us from the train station and was careful to explain the apartment, it's history and how to get the most from our stay.
- Brilliantly equipped, very spacious apartment furnished and decorated in a Florentine style of times gone. The rental price was exceptional value in our view.
- The bells...just throw the windows open in the morning and lay a while in bed listening to the bells of Duomo. Very memorable.
- Great view from the shower!

Cons:
- Just that the air-con unit in the main bedroom would not work for us (the one in the second bedroom was fine). Guess it just needs fixing.

Tips
- Visit the the little cafe just down the road for breakfast. Right out of the exit door then follow the laneway a short walk until you get to the small piazza...the cafe is in the corner. It served great coffee and pastries at cheap prices.
- Buy your tickets to see 'David' the day before your intended visit.
- Only scale the Duomo dome if you are fit and don't mind confined spaces.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Sep 2015
Dear J.,

thank you so much J. for your review, I'm happy for you enjoyed your stay. Only, it would have helped if you had told me to fix that problem. The security interruptor on the wall was switched off, sorry.

I hope to see you again in Florence to give the best hospitality I can,

cheers, Mario
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, Canada
Reviewed 17 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
18 Sep 2015
Dear K.,

thank you for the excellent review! Also thanks for the advice, given I don't use the microwave I didn't think to it ... thanks again for all, hope to meet you again, Mario
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
mariekea1...
County Dublin, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Location, comfort, space, history - this place is perfect!”
Reviewed 13 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015
2
people found this review helpful

From the moment we met Mario at the train station, I knew we had picked the perfect place with the perfect host! Not only did we get a personal reception at the train station but Mario spent more than an hour with us; showing us the apartment, telling us of its fascinating history, giving us recommendations for where to eat, what to see, etc. The apartment itself surpassed my expectations (and they were already pretty high!!) ... The attention to detail and the care that has gone into the restoration shines throughout this beautiful and surprisingly large apartment. Indeed the photos don't do justice to the bathroom and kitchen which are very modern and pristine in condition. I particularly loved the view of the Medici chapel from the shower! The children loved the space to run around and even discovered a bookcase with children's books which kept them entertained. Of course location is another major plus for the apartment: with a 2 yr old and a 4 yr old we didn't want to have to walk far to see the wonderful sights of Florence and we certainly didn't need to here- the duomo is literally a stone's throw away, as well as all of the major attractions of the city. Mario, thank you so much for making us feel at home and I will definitely recommend your apartment to anyone I know heading in that direction! :)

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Sep 2015
Dear M.,

thank you so much, your review is spectacular ... I'm very proud of your words! Hope to see you again in Florence, possibly when also the lower floor of the palace has been restored!!!
My best regards, ciao, Mario
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gradywatt
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect apartment to enjoy the attractions of Florence"”
Reviewed 1 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014
1
person found this review helpful

My wife, teenaged daughter and I enjoyed four wonderful weeks in Mario's beautiful apartment - a hop, skip and jump from the Baptistery and Duomo. We based our selection on the many favourable reviews, excellent location, and our positive interactions with Mario through correspondence. Our experience exceeded even our high expectations! As a host, Mario is faultless - helpful, courteous, scrupulously fair and very friendly. For example, when we had to bring forward our departure by a couple of days, Mario could not have been more helpful and understanding. The apartment is spacious, elegant and very well set up for a stay of just a few days or, as in our case, for four weeks (can one do justice to Florence and surrounds in less time?). I cooked quite a bit after shopping at the nearby Mercato Centrale and found the kitchen to be fully functional. Our teenaged daughter enjoyed the second bedroom, which is somewhat apart from the lovely main bedroom and provides great privacy for a teenager. The beds were comfortable, which was important to us. We all enjoyed the lounge (wi-fi and satellite television) and dining rooms after long days of sightseeing, and we made good use of the laundry too. And the view from the bathroom window of the Medici Chapel as one took a shower was memorable, as was waking each morning at 7:00 to the beautiful sound of the bells ringing from Giotto's nearby campanile. All in all, as good as accommodation gets in our experience, and all down to Mario's thoroughness, professionalism and genuine concern for his guests' comfort and welfare. And very reasonably priced, too. Thank you, Mario, and see you again next time we're in Florence!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and amenities
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Jan 2015
Dear D.,

very many thanks for your review! It is a pleasure to be an host when guests are so well endowed of culture and respect as you are!
I look forward to meet you again, should you decide that something has left to be seen in Florence. All my wishes for a Happy New Year, sincerely yours, Mario
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chibibest
Tampa, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Awesome unique place with a great host Mario”
Reviewed 10 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014

Wonderful apartment accompanied by a great owner, who met us in the train station and walked us home,
Mario was a gracious owner, very detail oriented, about all the history of the apt, he gave us suggestions of great restauranf locally,
Unique historical apt but modern kitchette and shower....lovely, spacious room , nice to have a lift at the end ofthe day...no complaints all utensils are complete,...wonderful..fantistic..
Pls visit us in Florida one day ...
Ciao Mario
Grazie

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Nov 2014
Dear A. and F.,

thank you so much for your superlative review, it enhances my property a lot but mostly I'm happy for your stay was fine. Hope to see you again!

My best regards, Mario
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing