We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It just made Florence all the more special”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
J & J Historic House Hotel
Ranked #169 of 411 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
malta
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
“It just made Florence all the more special”
Reviewed 7 January 2012

The J&J made our trip to Florence all the more special. It is only a short distance away from the Duomo and close to a number of interesting places. It was a lovely surprise! A converted monastery, complete with frescoes, even in our room. Simply picture-perfect in every sense.

Room Tip: If you can opt for one of the suites, it's a definite plus!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank caranastasi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

441 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    183
    155
    60
    21
    22
See reviews for
73
263
11
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2011

Had a nice stay at the J&J. It's only a short stroll to some of the best resturants in Florence. We found it within easy walking distance of all the major Florence sights , and only 15 mins walk from the station.
The hotel it's self was in a narrow side street. It looks small and unimpressive from the outside , but once inside it's very quaint. Staff were more than helpful with a great breakfast and as mentioned before, free wine in the evening before you venture out to fab resturants.
This is not a hotel for someone who likes the "Major hotel " experience, but it was just what we were looking for. We were initially dissapointed by our room ( room 20 ) but we had booked using travel points so maybe other rooms were better ( they looked a bit more upmarket on the web site ).
However, we would recommend the J&J and would certainly stay again if in Florence.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westcliff-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2011

We really enjoyed our stay at J and J. There was a relaxing and friendly atmosphere and large spacious rooms. We had a room attached to a little courtyard and seating area, a lovely surprise. The hotel is situated down a side street slightly away from the hustle and bustle but we feel this was in its favour. It was a short5-10min to the Duomo and centre, yet we found wonderful shops, bars and restaurants very close by. This also meant it has a less tourist feel to the area. Breakfast was always fresh and tasty and staff always friendly and helpful. The room was clean and comfy, great shower too. Would definitely recommend J and J's!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heather A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2011

My favorite hotel on our trip. Very helpful staff. Large, clean room. Free wine in the evenings. Very nice breakfast. It was an Oasis after many 3 star hotels! Close walk to the main site in Florence. We will be back!

Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Randi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2011

My hubby and I stayed in a number of amazing hotels while we were exploring Italy and the J and J Historic House was definitely one of our favorites. When we drove up, I’ll admit I was a bit scared. Located on a tiny side street and somewhat off the beaten path. My husband warned me not to judge a book by its cover, and thankfully I didn’t. The inside was welcoming and warm; we were greeted by a happy staff that immediately made us feel at home. J and J was converted from a convent and updated with all the modern amenities one could possibly need. Cool. Weird. Fabulous.
We were upgraded to a massive room with high ceilings, a living room and a huge bed. Thank you LuxLyfe! The breakfast was fresh and tasty with local fruits, breads, cheeses and pastries. Every night there was complimentary wine and snacks from 6-9pm where guests could mingle and share stories about their adventures in Italy or swap dinner recommendations. We definitely took advantage of that added bonus and met some great people along the way.

www.LuxLyfe.com

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LuxLyfe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Pitti
Pitti Palace al Ponte Vecchio
Duomo
NH Collection Firenze Porta Rossa
Duomo
Hotel Monna Lisa
Hotel Monna Lisa
#87 of 411 in Florence
1,180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Croce
Hotel River
Hotel River
#93 of 411 in Florence
855 reviews
Duomo
Borghese Palace Art Hotel
Borghese Palace Art Hotel
#121 of 411 in Florence
773 reviews
San Lorenzo
Relais Hotel Centrale Residenza D'Epoca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to J & J Historic House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about J & J Historic House Hotel

Property: J & J Historic House Hotel
Address: Via di Mezzo 20, 50121, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Croce
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#91 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#143 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,770 - ₹ 22,593
Hotel Class:4 star — J & J Historic House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming 4 star hotel located in the historical centre of Florence... wonderful buffet breakfast, Free Wi-Fi internet and a charming and accomodation staff are what awaits you at our wonderful hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Prestigia, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotel.de, HRS, HotelQuickly and ACCOR so you can book your J & J Historic House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel j And
j And Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing