We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel dei Macchiaioli

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel dei Macchiaioli
Ranked #41 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
NYC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2012

We stayed at this beautiful hotel for 5 nights and couldn't have been happier. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. They were able to answer all of our questions, make reservations for us, and get taxis for us. The hotel is in a PERFECT central location, only a short walk to the Duomo and several other attractions in Florence. Our room wasn't huge, but it was still very nice, clean, and had air conditioning. The continental breakfast was typical but still great to have. We would definitely recommend this hotel!

Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank rgshine18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
macchia_fi, Responsabile reception at Hotel dei Macchiaioli, responded to this review, 24 August 2012
Dear Guests,

thank you for the review !

All the staff is very happy to know that we were able to let you have a nice stay :)

Best

Paolo

Hotel dei Macchiaioli (Florence)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

831 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    546
    246
    33
    4
    2
See reviews for
172
445
32
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2012

I had the pleasure of staying at the Hotel July 5-8th 2012 in a triple room with my two teenage daughters . The staff was incredibly friendly and helpful, the Hotel and the room was immaculate, the breakfast was nice ( only negative Coffee could have been better, but problem easliy solved all over Florence!).The location was perfect for exploring all parts of the city.
The highlight of our of entire two week trip was our private excursion with Marco. He could not do enough to please us and customized every detail I asked.....can't wait to go back and do it again!Next time I vist Florence I know where I will be staying!!IWe felt almost at home!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Phil G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
macchia_fi, booking at Hotel dei Macchiaioli, responded to this review, 24 August 2012
Dear guest,

thank you for the nice words about our Hotel and about Marco and his tours :):)
He is a very prepared driver and his tours have a lot of success !!

Kind regards

Hotel dei Macchiaioli (Florence)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2012

This hotel is richly decorated with lots of special touches. We stayed July 2-5, 2012 and loved the breakfast ambiance. Location was perfect as it was only a few blocks away from the Duomo, Uffizi, and the Accademia. This allowed us to make quick stops to the hotel for forgotten items or for mid-day naps. The proprietor was very warm and welcoming. Will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fatwings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
macchia_fi, booking at Hotel dei Macchiaioli, responded to this review, 24 August 2012
Enchanting....wow !!

Thank you very much dear friends :)

Who knows, maybe we will see each other again !!

Best

Hotel dei Macchiaioli (Florence)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
31 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2012

My wife ,son and I stayed here from 6/30/12-7/4/12. We were very satisfied with our stay.
First of all, it is a ten minute walk from the train station. We took a Taxi there which cost $10 Euro. We walked back when we left. If money is short, walk to the corner of Via Cavour and Via Guelfa and look down Via Cavour (Towards the Arno) for the WHITE "HOTEL" sign on the building facades (100 feet away) and your there:)
They are on the second floor and offer to take your bags up and have a wheel chair access lift. The staff, ALL of them were very friendly. Sometimes, people act nice....the staff here WERE nice. They were helpful with every inquiry we brought to them. A+++ for service. This becomes more important as a long trip gos on as we dealt with some pretty grumpy people here and there.
We were given our own wing with two rooms which was perfect. The rooms were nice and our bathroom was beautiful. The only quibble I have is the AC could have been a little better in room 114 A. Our son was in 114 B and his AC was rocking. We were there in the middle of the heatwave and I believe it got close to 100 one of the days. We found AC to be an afterthought in many places in Italy so at least we had some:)
The breakfast they put out was perfect. They had a selection of fresh meats, fresh fruits, milk, coffee, fresh juices and a GREAT selection of about 8 different cereals running the gamut of kids to health concious. It was one of the nicest we've seen in years.
They had a sitting room with free Wifi and a computer you could pay ($5 eu) to use.
The location was very good also. We were an easy five minute from the Duomo, ten to the Arno and two to the Academie(David).
Lastly, the price was good. We visited our friends hotel, which was nicer with a roof top terrace but was also $200 plus dollars more per night....oooof. For the price this hotel was a Steal!!!
I absolutely recommend this hotel!!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maciprich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
macchia_fi, booking at Hotel dei Macchiaioli, responded to this review, 24 August 2012
Dear guest,

thank you for the review .

We are sorry that the AC in your room was not strong enough for you.
We will do our best to let it never happen again .

It seams to us that the rest of your stay with us was very good and we are very happy for that :)

Kind regards

Hotel dei Macchiaioli (Florence)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

My wife and I stayed here in May 2012 as part of a short holiday in Italy, and were very impressed with the hotel. The friendly welcome was very much appreciated and continued throughout our stay. They bent over backwards to help us with taxis and whatever else we needed.

The location is fabulous. It is only a few minutes' walk from Il Duomo, and the rest of the centre of Florence - a perfect location from which to walk around the city. Although our room was a little small, we had been previously warned by e-mail because it was the last room available. And in fact, it was perfectly adequate for what we needed.

We availed ourselves of the hotel's city guide, Paolo, who e-mailed us separately soon after we had made the reservation. He was BRILLIANT! We loved his tour of Florence and learned so much about the history of this beautiful city. We would highly recommend his services to anyone visiting Florence (even if you are not staying at the hotel!).

The only downside is that the reception is up a flight of stairs, but of course, staff would help if needed.

If we're back in Florence at any time, we would be more than happy to stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RoyAM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
macchia_fi, Responsabile reception at Hotel dei Macchiaioli, responded to this review, 24 August 2012
Dear Friends,

I thank you so much for your great review !!

I am happy to read that you liked so much your stay in our Hotel and of course I am very happy to know that you liked the Walking Tour with me. Thank you.
I liked it too , you are very kind people and having the tour with you was great.

Thank you for the nice words about me :)

Hope to welcome you again !

Warm regards

Paolo

Hotel dei Macchiaioli (Florence)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Il Guelfo Bianco
Il Guelfo Bianco
#28 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,191 reviews
San Lorenzo
Residence La Contessina
Residence La Contessina
#45 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 755 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Perseo
Hotel Perseo
#43 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Uffizi
Hotel Alessandra
Hotel Alessandra
#38 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,682 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Rapallo
Hotel Rapallo
#25 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,813 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Casci
Hotel Casci
#34 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel dei Macchiaioli? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel dei Macchiaioli

Property: Hotel dei Macchiaioli
Address: Via Camillo Cavour 21, 50129, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,976 - ₹ 22,832
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel dei Macchiaioli 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel dei Macchiaioli is a brand new 3 star hotel located in Florence's beautiful historical centre, the perfect choice for those looking to spend a holiday in the very heart of the city known as the cradle of the Renaissance. The hotel is situated in the historic Palazzo Morrocchi, centrally located on via Cavour, one of the city's most prestigious streets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Hotel dei Macchiaioli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing