We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect getaway from the bussle of downtown Florence”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Mulino di Firenze
Ranked #29 of 409 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 August 2017

You definitely need a taxi to get to this hotel. It's tucked away up in the back streets of Florence and sits along a tranquil river with a pool - amazing views! The staff, especially Gianfranco, was so friendly and really made our trip. The rooms were fabulous and bathroom was roomy for Italy. The restaurant at night has great views of sunset but the staff was not too friendly, which took away from the experience a bit. Food was good and took forever to get bill after asking more than 8 times.

Breakfast was included in price and had a great selection and make over medium eggs upon request!

The grounds are beautiful and relaxing and the shuttle bus into town was very, very nice.

Room Tip: Ask for water view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Doreen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giancarlo_Carniani, Direttore at Hotel Mulino di Firenze, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2017

Dear Guest,
Thank You for taking the time to share Your experience of Mulino with other Travelers!
I am pleased to read You had a nice stay with us and I hope to welcome You soon again in occasion of Your next trip to Florence,
My best regards
Giancarlo Carniani
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,133)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

22 - 26 of 1,133 reviews

Reviewed 26 July 2017

The hotel is beautifully located by the river bank with a picturesque view. Our room and bathroom were spacious and comfortable. The outdoor pool is big and not too deep. The hotel is located a little remote from the city center of Florenze, but the hotel offers shuttle service (3 departures in the morning and 3 departures in the late afternoon/early evening). The taxi back to the hotel is around EUR 30.
The breakfast is sufficient, but as other hotels in Italy improvements can be done. The staff are competent and offer great hospitality

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Henrik D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giancarlo_Carniani, Direttore at Hotel Mulino di Firenze, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2017

Dear Guest,
Thank You for taking the time to share Your experience of Mulino with other Travelers!
I am pleased to read You had a nice stay with us and we will treasure of your advice.
I hope to welcome You soon again in occasion of Your next trip to Florence,
My best regards
Giancarlo Carniani
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2017

We stayed here for a couple of weeks in late June early July and used the hotel as a base to visit other places around Tuscany including of course Florence itself. The hotel was fairly easy to find and upon arrival we were helped with our bags up to the room. The location of the hotel was pretty good for our needs allowing quick access to the main roads and motorways and only a couple of miles away from Florence city centre. On one occasion we decided to walk into the city along the river and it only took us 45 minutes walking at a reasonable pace. Going back took a little longer as it was extremely hot (around 35C) and we were feeling pretty tired. We would have done this again had the temperatures come down but they didn't. Our room overlooked the river and was decorated in typical renaissance style. The bed was very comfortable and overall it was a pleasant place to stay. The only criticism we had was a lack of storage space but this was a relatively minor issue. We drove to Italy so one thing we needed was somewhere to park our car and the hotels underground car park always had spaces available and was very secure. Breakfast was a feast with plenty of hot and cold options and we really enjoyed sitting out on the terrace in the morning planning the days activities. We ate dinner in the restaurant a few time and the food was excellent. One evening they had laid on a barbecue which we both had and the meat was superb especially the sausages. Having a pool to jump in after a hard days walking/touring was another reason for choosing this hotel. Despite the hotel being pretty full while we were there we always found loungers available and clean towels were plentiful. The standout feature of this hotel was the staff. Everyone was helpful and seemed genuinely pleased to see you especially the guys serving breakfast who were determined to teach us some useful Italian phrases everyday. If we go back to Florence we would have no hesitation in staying here again it really was a pleasurable experience.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Miopyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giancarlo_Carniani, Direttore at Hotel Mulino di Firenze, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2017

Dear Guest,
Your beautiful review makes me feel like we are working in the right direction to let Guests have a unique experience of Florence and of Mulino di Firenze: me and all the Staff we want to thank You for Yours nice words.
It will be a pleasure for all of us to welcome you again here on the Arno river bank!
Best regards,
Giancarlo Carniani
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2017

This is the second time I stayed at Mulino de Firenze. The last visit was during the summer of 2011. I absolutely love the panoramic view of Tuscany and the sunset. The hotel grounds have improved. There is now a large outside pool, which did not exist in 2011. Breakfast is good and we loved the Nutella packages, which we took to go for a power snack with fruit for our son. We love that this hotel is within walking distance of Ristorante Bettolina, a great place to eat Italian Seafood.

TIP: We were unsure about returning to the hotel on the last return bus. If you do not reserve it, you can call the hotel while downtown Florence indicating that you want to reserve seats for the last bus returning to the hotel. Our wishes were accommodated by the front desk when we made the last minute decision.

Thumbs up for the service!

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ROB_DIANA_LEO12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giancarlo_Carniani, Direttore at Hotel Mulino di Firenze, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2017

Dear Guest,
Your beautiful review makes me feel like we are working in the right direction to let Guests have a unique experience of Florence and of Mulino di Firenze: me and all the Staff we want to thank You for Yours nice words.
It will be a pleasure for all of us to welcome you again here on the Arno river bank!
Best regards,
Giancarlo Carniani
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2017

I had a lovely stay at Mulino di Firenze. The location was very scenic, making eating breakfast outside in the mornings a real treat. My room was clean, light and airy, and the bed comfortable. Reception staff were polite, friendly and helpful. Best of all, there was a beautiful outdoor swimming pool which I spent an inordinate amount of time in as the weather was so hot. Guests also have free access to the sauna and steam rooms, which is good if you like that sort of thing.

Had I come with a car, I may have been tempted to give the hotel 5 stars, but for a single person who is a non-driver the location was just a little bit inconvenient. The shuttle bus, while helpful and a much appreciated service, only did six journeys a day each way, and these had to be booked in advance. There was no late night shuttle (last bus back to the hotel was at 7.30pm), meaning had I wanted to do something in the city in the evening (a theatre or opera performance, for example) I would have had to spend 20 Euros on a taxi, which is expensive for a single person. Obviously, my lack of a car isn't the hotel's issue, but the frequency of the shuttle is worth noting for people in my situation.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled solo
2  Thank Mhairi W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giancarlo_Carniani, Direttore at Hotel Mulino di Firenze, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2017

Dear Guest,
Thank You for taking the time to share Your experience of Mulino with other Travelers!
I am pleased to read You had a nice stay with us and we will treasure of your advice.
I hope to welcome You soon again in occasion of Your next trip to Florence,
My best regards
Giancarlo Carniani
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Hotel David
#1 of 409 in Florence
3,318 reviews
Art Hotel Villa Agape
#13 of 409 in Florence
557 reviews
San Lorenzo
Il Guelfo Bianco
Il Guelfo Bianco
#27 of 409 in Florence
2,383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ville sull'Arno Hotel
#19 of 409 in Florence
863 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Orto De Medici
Hotel Orto De Medici
#41 of 409 in Florence
2,201 reviews
San Lorenzo
Firenze Number Nine Wellness Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mulino di Firenze? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mulino di Firenze

Address: Via di Villamagna 119, 50126, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 409 Hotels in Florence
Price Range: ₹ 7,962 - ₹ 16,376 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Mulino di Firenze 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Mulino di Firenze reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing