We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,225)
Filter reviews
1,225 results
Traveller rating
912
252
45
12
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
912
252
45
12
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews shuttle bus water mill arno river shuttle service water wheel beautiful hotel jacuzzi bath sister hotel tuscan countryside our honeymoon superior room the hotel offers quiet location highly recommend this hotel stayed longer favorite hotel pastries
Filter
Updating list...
562 - 567 of 1,225 reviews
Reviewed 29 July 2012

Being that this was our first time in Italy, we had used TripAdvisor to find Hotel Mulino. What we expected and what was actually presented was so far beyond our imagination. The staff was extremely friendly and fluent in English; they helped us with every request. Dining at the restaurant was spectacular (thanks Aldo for your professionalism and charm). The fact that breakfast was included made it all the better. The pool was unique and refreshing. After a long day touring the city of Florence, we could not wait to get back to the tranquility of Hotel Mulino.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveling G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2012

My wife and I together with our 16 year old daughter stayed at this fabulous hotel for 7 days during late July. From the moment we pulled into the underground car park, we had the feeling that the place would live up to its reputation. Arriving through the imposing entrance gates across the cobbled courtyard to reception only heightened those impressions. To cut what could be a long story short, we had a wonderful time. Our room was excellent and on the top floor overlooking the pool and river Arno (Room 202). Our daughter had a delightful room near the road which was not a problem. From arrival to dinner on the last night, we were made to feel very relaxed by the extremely helpful staff. Superb breakfast buffet each morning on the patio followed by dinner in the evening watching the sun set in the distance.. Superb and we were sorry to leave.

Room Tip: Go for an upgrade/river view.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gadget61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mulinofirenze, Direttore at Hotel Mulino di Firenze, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2012

Dear Guest,

we like to thank you for your kind review and let you know that we really appreciate when some of our guests spend a time to write about their stay in our Hotel because this means that they really felt so well.

Thank you very much and we'll be waiting for you again at the Mulino.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2012

Our family of 5 Americans plus one Italian friend spent three nights at this hotel in two triple rooms. I booked the hotel after reading the previous reviews here, but am now somewhat confused as our experience was quite different from the vast majority. The hotel itself was lovely, the food was wonderful and the pool was fantastic. However, with the exception of the very friendly bartender, the employees seemed disinterested in us, and slightly annoyed by our presence at their hotel. We are not loud, boisterous or demanding and caused no trouble, but were met with mostly forced smiles and blank looks from the minute we walked in to the minute we left. The lady at the front desk seemed especially bored by our presence and disliked having to answer questions. The phone at the front desk went unanswered for long periods and we had issues with the TV in our room which were never resolved. We felt uncomfortable at the hotel, which was a shame for the amount of money that we spent there. All all six of us felt exactly the same way and were very relieved to move on to the next phase of our trip. As our experience was not typical, I'm not sure what caused this coldness on the part of the staff. Perhaps we are simply not the right type of people to frequent that type of establishment. We moved on to another, cheaper hotel in Austria and felt much more comfortable there. I cannot say that I wouldn't recommend this hotel to anyone - I'm sure that it is a wonderful experience for most people, it just wasn't for us.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank kmuenster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mulinofirenze, Direttore at Hotel Mulino di Firenze, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2012

Dear Guest,
we are really sorry and surprised about your review.

Usually our staff have a wonderful feeling with all the guests, so that's the reason why we are sorry that your experience is been totally different from the majority of our guests.

We shared your review with the staff and most of them, including the girls at the desk, can remember you and your family and they are really surprised because from their point of view they had a nice feeling with all of your family.

We can understand that the same experience can be perceived differently from one person to another so we hope that next time, if we'll have the pleasure to have you again as guest in our hotel, you'll give us the chance to make you feel at home like we usually like to do.

Thank you for the kind words spended about our pool and restaurant too and we'll ensure you that for the next future we'll try to do even more better than now in order to make this kind of things do not happen anymore.
Thank you again and have a nice summer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2012

We stayed for a long weekend for our tenth anniversary in May (just got round to writing this.) The hotel is full of beautiful artworks and scultures. It is interesting and unique - unlike anywhere we've ever stayed. Our room was small but adequate for us and had a beautiful view of the Arno. Reception staff are friendly and efficient, but special mention must go to the restaurant team. At breakfast (lovely and so much choice) and dinner - all were really friendly and welcoming, while being totally professional, and also not remotely pompous. There was no snobbishness about our wine questions, and no formality, or pompousness, yet they made it feel special. A very rare feat and we hope the management values them all hugely. They seem to genuinly get on and work well together. Lovely background music too.
And the barman, well, he is a one off and to be treasured.
Re getting to and from Florence: if the shuttle isn't convenient try the bus. The bus stop is a pleasant ten minute walk from the hotel and the bus goes several times a dayto Florence and back - reception has the timetable. We ate once or twice in the bistro in the village on the way back from the bus stop in the evening - lovely - as a change from the hotel.
The only suggestion we have is that perhaps the sitting areas could have some soft cushions to sink into, or maybe some drapes, to make it seem a little more 'homely' or 'cosy.' But we don't mean that as a criticism, we're glad we spent this special time there.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank swamp-pokey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2012

This was a great hotel. Helpful staff, wonderful location on the river with beautiful views. Pool, Spa, wonderful artwork everywhere, beautiful place to stay for a relaxing time. The restaurant was great, and the food marvelous. The only negative, if you can call it that, is that it is not in the heart of the old city. Florence can be hot, noisy and dirty, however, so I view the location in this quieter neighborhood on the river as a plus. They run shuttle buses throughout the day, and you can be in Florence whenever you wish. One of my favorite hotels, I recommended it. Rooms were a bit small, but the hotel is so lovely and has so many places to sit, why would you stay in the room?

Room Tip: Our room had an outside entrance, near the entrance to the hotel, a bit of a problem in the rain, but a minor consideration
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GreatArtlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mulinofirenze, Direttore at Hotel Mulino di Firenze, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2012

Dear Guest,
thank you very much for your kind review, we really appreciated.

Most of our guests show us the same feelings about being a little bit out of the hustle and bustle of the city so we are happy that this is appreciated.

We provide a shuttle bus service to give the possibility to let your car in our covered garage and just relax with the worderful view while our gentle driver bring you up to the city center.

We are also happy that you mentioned our common spaces because the original purpose of all this areas was just to make peolple not to stay in the room but have a look around and interact with the tuscan culture and, why not, also with other guests!

Thank you again and see you nex time, we hope, in our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews