We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Mulino di Firenze
Ranked #29 of 409 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 February 2012

The hotel is in a very odd location and is quite difficult to find. However, the hotel is really lovely and overlooks the river. The hotel provides a free shuttle bus to the city at 10:00 a.m. and at 1:00 p.m. and return to the hotel at 5:30 p.m. Since we stayed in the city later than 5:30, we returned to our hotel by bus (the #23b bus, which is at the far end of the train station). This bus runs about every 20 or 30 minutes. I'm only giving these details, since it took us about 30 minutes to find the correct bus stop. Bus 23, 23a and 23b are not at the same bus stop.

The hotel restaurant is excellent. We had dinner at the restaurant every night for our three night stay. The service was excellent. Aldo gave us suggestions on where to go to see different Tuscan towns. We followed his plan exactly and we saw beautiful places we wouldn't have considered visiting. Breakfast was also outstanding.

The room was small, but very comfortable. The shower was the best shower I have ever seen in a hotel. It was a jacuzzi shower with a million settings.

My only complaints are that the wi-fi didn't work during our visit and the shower curtain in the bathroom was very sheer and there were no shutters on the windows. The lack of internet was somewhat of a problem, since we planned our trip as we traveled and booked all our rooms online. When we had to use the bathroom at night, we felt exposed, since our room faced other rooms and the sidewalk along the river where people took strolls.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AtlTravelalot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,133)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

570 - 574 of 1,133 reviews

Reviewed 27 February 2012

I went on my honeymoon and picked this charming hotel due its location (just outside the center of Florence). I knew it was going to be hot in Italy during May so mad sure each of our hotels had a pool to escape the humidity. When we arrived and only after we checked in did we realise that the pool was empty and was undergoing a refurbishment. To top it off the air-con in the room was set not to go below a certain temp and fan speed controlled.
the restaurant was lovely and friendly service at the bar kept me from being to hostile but left after one day as was too hot. They were happy to cancel but charged me for the extra day and night on the day of departure which is normally understandable if you leave early as cannot get anyone in for that night at such late notice but I did feel that they should not have due to not informing us of the fact that there would be no pool for the duration of our stay. Poor and although beautiful location would be nervous to go here again due to misleading information and lack of accountability,.

Room Tip: River side and with view, size is small but normal in Italy. Check Pool!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank TravellerRussell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mulinofirenze, Direttore at Hotel Mulino di Firenze, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2012

Dear Guest,

You are right, last year our pool was not ready in early May. It is indicated and advertised we open our pool only on from May 15th onwards since it's not heated.

Anyway we are sorry for the misunderstanding and the inconvenience caused. I can see from your reviews you were moved to our sister hotel Villa Olmi Resort and had a nice stay there (you rated it 5 stars). So...we hope to have been helpful.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2012

We stayed at this hotel for one night with our dog. The hotel has been renovated in the Tuscan manner and is positioned on the river with lovely views. The restaurant was very good and in summer it must be lovely to sit outside. The free car park opposite is safe. On the other side of the river are good walks for a dog.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Schlieps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2012

Just been there with my partner for Valentines. The location is excellent, 10mins from city center and lying exactly on the river banks. Views are breathtaking, very quiet and peaceful. The Hotel is clean and personnel very nice and helpful. Regarding food and style ... it's Florence - just expect the best. Will definately visit again.

Room Tip: Room with river views. Very Romantic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Muserfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2012

I went there during a business travel to Florence. The hotel is an old water mill on the banks of the Arno river. It was totally renovated and the rooms are spacious and some with a terasse facing the river. It is well decorated and the staff is friendly. They have a restaurant on site, for the ones that are laisy to go to the old town for dinner. The hotel is difficult to find, inclusivelly if you have a GPS. You need to ask for directions at the hotel. They have a shuttle to the city, but in the low season, it leaves the hotel once in the morning and pick you up om the afternoon. The decoration is very nice. They have also a sauna and turkish bath. I enjoyed my stay there.

Room Tip: The rooms 112 & 114 have a terrace with chairs facing the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RioMontreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Hotel David
#1 of 409 in Florence
3,315 reviews
Art Hotel Villa Agape
#13 of 409 in Florence
553 reviews
Ville sull'Arno Hotel
#19 of 409 in Florence
860 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Il Guelfo Bianco
Il Guelfo Bianco
#26 of 409 in Florence
2,381 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Orto De Medici
Hotel Orto De Medici
#40 of 409 in Florence
2,195 reviews
San Lorenzo
Firenze Number Nine Wellness Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mulino di Firenze? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mulino di Firenze

Address: Via di Villamagna 119, 50126, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 409 Hotels in Florence
Price Range: ₹ 8,120 - ₹ 16,239 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Mulino di Firenze 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Mulino di Firenze reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing