We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very good experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Palazzo Guadagni

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Palazzo Guadagni
Ranked #56 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“very good experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2012

Palazzo Guadagni was reasonably priced, clean, comfortable and very well located. Our room was air-conditioned (very important, given how hot it was) and quiet (also very important). The staff was helpful and the hotel provided a nice breakfast. Hard to ask for more than that. I'd suggest requesting a quiet room if you're not a sound sleeper as the hotel is on a square and I gather it can be noisy if you're in certain parts of the building.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kn0wswhatsg00d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,018 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    690
    257
    51
    13
    7
See reviews for
172
619
46
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2012

We had booked 2 Superior rooms, which in themselves were large and comfortable, however they were removed from the rest of the hotel by several floors and set in amongst what appeared to be offices. As a result we had to climb flights of stairs to get to the hotel, breakfast room and terrace. Possibly because we were on a lower floor of the building, and at the front, we also found the noise from the Piazza was loud and went all night as well. There are what appear to be resident homeless who seem to sleep all day and party hard and loudly all night. The location is fantastic, and we would return but would be asking a lot of questions about the room we had been allocated.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms on the same floor as reception and at the back, not facing the Piazza.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston,TX
Level Contributor
217 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2012

My wife and I just returned home from a two week vacation in Italy. We visited Florence from June 20th through June 24th and stayed in the Hotel Palazzo Guadagni during this time. Look no further! This is the place to stay. The Palazzo Guadagni is located on the Piazza Santo Spirito in the Oltrarno area across the river from the heart of Florence. We chose this location, and was not disappointed, to be able to enjoy the complete culture of Florence and experience areas other than the busy downtown area. The walk from Palazzo Guadagni was a short 5-10 minutes to the Ponte Vecchio bridge and on into the heart of Florence. The Pitti Palace and Boboli Gardens was just two short blocks from the hotel. Many restarants and trattorias on the Santo Spirito square. Excellent dining at the Casalinga Restaurant just around the corner from the hotel. The Uffizi Gallery and Accademia were a very short walk from the hotel as well.

What really makes the Hotel Palazzo Guadagni are the staff employees such as Rita and Atish. Upon our arrival, no hesitation on checking our luggage and taking it directly to our room (#15) upstairs. They both were outstanding each morning in preparing our breakfast and bringing my wife and I freshly brewed coffee in a pot with cups to our outside table on the beautiful terrace area. Outstanding breakfast with many choices to choose from. My compliments and sincere appreciation to both Rita and Atish for making this a very memorable stay.

In the evening on the terrace with a glass of wine in hand made for a beautiful sunset to end a long day after walking and touring the city of Florence. The view outside our window each morning and evening was unbelievable. The Duomo and city center were absolutely beautiful each day of our stay.

No hesitation here for next time in Florence. I would recommend the Palazzo Guadagni to anyone visiting the Florence area and we will be staying there again when we return.

Thank you Hotel Palazzo Guadagni for the wonderful memories in Florence during our stay!

Bob and Christi
Houston, TX

Room Tip: Awesome location, excellent service, beautiful orginal palace hotel with awesome facilities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank texag80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
san francisco
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2012 via mobile

We were more than pleased with our choice of the Palazzo Guadagni, after a long long flight from San Francisco which got diverted to Pisa...we arrived exhausted but hungry after 9pm, and were directed only steps away from the hotel, to a charming outdoor cafe/restaurant, and happily consumed pasta and vino, before falling into bed and a great sleep. The room was very large very high ceilings, frescoes, charming furnishings, and comfortable bedding. The breakfast was perfect and we took it out on the terrazza in the mornings and enjoyed the views and the great start to the day. We were en route to a wedding in Tuscany, so sadly only had two days there, not nearly enough, but will be back again.
Highly recommended for ambience, location, staff and price.

Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MVChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2012

This hotel is spectacular in all areas: from the spectacular guest rooms with frescoes on the ceilings and antique furniture to the lovely terrace from which you can sip wine and gaze upwards to the Tuscan hills. Owners, Laura and Ferdinando, go out of their way to be welcoming and accommodating to all their guests. There are many local restaurants to sample. Gusto's pizza (the best in Florence) is just a few steps away. Also, casalinga is very very good. Make sure you ask the hotel to make reservations at casalinga as people line up out the doors waiting for a table. Quattro leoni is a little farther away from hotel (3-4 block walk) but well worth the journey. Ask for Byron as a waiter. He is excellent. Also, be sure to make a reservation.
We were in Italy for our daughter's wedding and the staff at the hotel were most gracious. Planning a destination wedding from the USA was quite a daunting task but the hotel was extremely helpful and allowed me to personally select each room for my family in advance.
Laura, you are fantastico! We will see you in Octobre!

Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank camps258
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Pitti
Hotel Restaurant  La Scaletta
San Lorenzo
Il Guelfo Bianco
Il Guelfo Bianco
#27 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,196 reviews
Uffizi
Hotel Alessandra
Hotel Alessandra
#35 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Hotel Davanzati
Hotel Davanzati
#9 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,399 reviews
San Lorenzo
Residence La Contessina
Residence La Contessina
#45 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 757 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Orto De Medici
Hotel Orto De Medici
#49 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,918 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Palazzo Guadagni? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palazzo Guadagni

Property: Hotel Palazzo Guadagni
Address: Piazza Santo Spirito 9, 50125, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santo Spirito / San Frediano
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,276 - ₹ 16,529
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Palazzo Guadagni 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Palazzo Guadagni is located in the Oltrarno district, in a characteristic piazza in the historical centre of Florance, a nighbourhood full of antique shops andold artisans' workshop, just a few minutes walk from the Pitti palace and the Boboli Gardens.The rooms are spacious and rich in atmosphere, found in Palazza Guadagni designed by Simone del Pollaiolo in 1505,have ceilings with frescos, fire places and a wonderful views that looks out onto Florence and the most important buildings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Nozio Netplan srl, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Hotel Palazzo Guadagni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing