We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“A Touch of Class” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rosso 23

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Rosso 23
Ranked #117 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A Touch of Class”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2012

This hotel was a real "find" and made our 3-day stay in Florence a wonderful experience. A refurbished older building (like most hotels in Florence) it has a very tasteful and modern interior, a contemporary classic decor based on grey, white and red (hence the name Rosso). We had an extremely spacious room (with a balcony) overlooking Piazza S. Maria Novella with super comfortable bed and particulary nice bed-linen all in near-new condition. A nice touch is the little red velvet pillow, which you can purchase to take home! The bathroom was superb, spacious with lots of marble and first-class plumbing fixtures. Breakfasts at the Rosso were amazing whether enjoyed inside or in the little internal courtyard, with a specially good range of warmed, fresh pastries and a great selection of fresh fruit, cereals, breads and the like.
The location of the Rosso is also very good. It is about 5 minutes walk from the main railway station, easy to find, and only minutes from the Duomo. In our opinion this hotel is excellent value and deserves to be rated 4-star!

Room Tip: Rooms on Piazza side are larger with views. Book early to get one of the two rooms that have balconi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Graham U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

734 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    252
    319
    120
    28
    15
See reviews for
85
437
26
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
50 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

I enjoyed the location so much, with view to Santa Maria Novella church and in the heart of the city. the rooms are spacious and comfortable. A very pleasant stay

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diana1601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2012

We stayed 4 nights at Rosso 23. We arrived by train and found Rosso 23 only 5minutes walk from the station. Our room on the top floor opened onto Santa Maria Novella Piazza which was a very pleasant view. With our windows open we enjoyed listening to the music in the Piazza at night and we enjoyed sampling the various food stalls in the Piazza. We were able to walk to all locations we wanted to visit. The staff were helpful. The breakfast was very good. Our only complaint was that the air conditioning had not yet been adjusted after Winter to cool the rooms and we therefore had to keep the windows open at night to cool the room. Otherwise we had a great stay and would return.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IMcV_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
o
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2012

this hotel was a decent hotel. i travelled with school mates and when we arrived after having the reservations for months. they didn't have our reservations and were only able to give us 3 rooms. the rest of the people had to go to another hotel down the street which was said to be at the same level... it was horrible lime green walls bright orange bedrooms.. for me i enjoyed the hotel rosso 23 but was extremely unhappy with their lack of service.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank J F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2012 via mobile

This was the most awful hotel that we stayed at throughout our trip! The room was tiny even for Europe standards and was filthy! On the first night we stayed there we were bitten by bugs and even found them festering under the bed! We told reception about it and they said they would spray the room but that same night we found them again and got bitten again!! These bites were huge! The breakfast was average! Hotel staff weren't very friendly! Good thing about the hotel is the hot water and restaurant right outside the front door (to your right!) location wise it was pretty good - 5 min walk from the station and pretty central to most attractions!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Woogie13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rosso23, Responsabile reception at Rosso 23, responded to this review, 11 June 2012
Dear Woogie13,
Firstly, please accept our apologies for what you encountered during your trip. However, we’d like to say that our housekeeper checked the room and found no bugs or no evidence of any bugs. Are you sure you weren’t bitten by mosquitos?
Concerning rooms we have various types of rooms at different prices, Superior rooms with view (the biggest), Superior room with king size bed and Superior Room with French bed and the price varies according to the size. With the smaller rooms the price is very competitive for a hotel in Florence.
Concerning Hotel’s staff we are surprised hearing that and apologize again if someone weren’t friendly but we can assure you that normally this is not our standard of service.
We hope you have a more pleasant stay the next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Garibaldi Blu
Hotel Garibaldi Blu
#109 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Universo
Universo
#253 of 421 in Florence
3.5 of 5 bubbles 490 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Alba Palace
Hotel Alba Palace
#72 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Maria Novella
Grand Hotel Minerva
Grand Hotel Minerva
#55 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,791 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Cosimo de'Medici
Hotel Cosimo de'Medici
#87 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 894 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel L'Orologio
Hotel L'Orologio
#38 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rosso 23? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosso 23

Property: Rosso 23
Address: Piazza di Santa Maria Novella 23, 50123, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Maria Novella
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #117 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,374 - ₹ 13,654
Hotel Class:3 star — Rosso 23 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
3 stars hotel located in the heart of Florence, nearby the Santa Maria Novella railway station. On recent and meticulous refurbishing, the Hotel Rosso23 offers 42 comfortable accommodations of different typologies, some of them with a breathtaking view on Piazza Santa Maria Novella. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Rosso 23 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rosso 23 Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing