We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great trip with the stuff to amazing pizzeria!”
Review of Garibaldi's Relais

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Garibaldi's Relais
Ranked #270 of 333 Speciality Lodging in Florence
Reviewed 2 November 2013

In was a holiday trip in Florence. We arrived to the city late, but manager of the hostel was waiting for us. First night we had in a tent in the garden, which about I was not that happy, but on the morning we got a nice double room for the same price as a tent, where we were staying with a friend for a couple days more. The stuff is very friendly, and helpful - showed us around - we went together to Villa Montalvo and on the other day to amazing pizzeria in Vernio (40 km north of Florence).
Room was nice and clean, internet connection was good too. There are club just in a few minutes walk and a nice pizzeria.
The hostel is placed close to airport, and it's just 20 min by bus from train station.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vasily88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (44)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 44 reviews

Reviewed 30 September 2013

im not being overly dramatic ... do not ever think about going there
sleeping in a dirty tent
mosquitoes everywhere
no internet connection
[--] host closes the building on 12:00 u can not go even to the bathroom
worst experience ever

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Yahya Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Otedis, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Garibaldi's Relais, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2014

The tents we change often, we have many different solutions for customers. As for the bugs, we applied earlier in the season pest of a whole area dedicated to the customers to avoid what she said. The connection is excellent in all areas. As for entry, we applied a door with automatic entry, keep in mind that we apply restrictive policy for times of check-in. Staff Otedis Garibaldi.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2013 via mobile


Do not stay here EVER, not even if you are homeless.

Okay from the top...
We booked our "camping " through the hostel bookers website (reviews lie). It was sold to us as a lush green garden for camping, what we arrived too was a mosquito infested brown dark dirt patch, however there were 2 spots to choose from!

When we arrived the hotel was locked up with no doorbell etc. after going around the building we were eventually greeted by a creepier version of mr bean who took our money, checked us in and showed us around.

First was the shared bathroom, the other reviews don't lie it's horrendous! I wouldn't wish it upon any enemy!

We were told the front doors open at 7am and are closed at 12pm ( bare in mind there is no handle on the outside). So if your camping, outside of "these times" your screwed. On the day we needed to leave early for the Pisa train we were stood outside from 7.30-8am knocking on the front door to use the bathroom.

We were then showed the shambolic garden when we would be staying, he even pointed to the hose pipe and said it would be okay to use. CHEERS!

We set up our tent after doing our best to rake as much rubbish as possible from the area whilst being bitten to death and decided to go into town for as long as possible.

I don't know who gave it any stars but they should be sacked. The hotel claimed to have the following, none of which we can comprehend:

Swimming Pool
(I think we saw a puddle by the hose)

Indoor Swimming Pool
(The floor the bathroom after a shower maybe?)

Outdoor Children's Activities
(If anything it's child cruelty)

Health Spa / Massage
(More like a health hazard, I think I have lost a few years off my life due to this place)

24 - Hour Front Desk
(Doors are only open when the can be bothered waking up)

Baby / Child Care
(HAHAHA)

Dry Cleaning / Laundry Service
(No sign of any of this barring the hose pipe and sink)

Lounge / Bar / Nightclub
(There is a awful vending machine)

Meeting / Banquet Facilities
(I have no idea who would ever use this facility for such an occasion)

Pets Allowed
(There was some form of reptile unless he keeps flies)

Room Service - Limited Hours
(Meaning none at all)

This is just laughable it's completely false!

It has most definitely tainted our florence experience although trying to stay away from the hotel for as long as possible did mean we saw all the sights!

I hope this review is helpful for you to make your decision on weather the budget price justifys the appalling conditions you will have to withstand.
We left at 6am this morning feeling grateful that the whole experience was over!


  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Kenpops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2013

DO NOT GO THERE!!!!! Do not go there. Do not even think to go there. All bad informations/ratings given from other travellers are not true - the hotel is worse than all ratings together.
Dirty, no aircondition, no minibar, no chair in room, no table in room, dirty wardrobe, bed linnen seemed to be used before, the reception is a great mess so as the highlighted garden and all others.
my worst experience ever at any hotel and I travel the world not only to its best places but also to the middle of nowhere at Asian countries like China etc.

Room Tip: do not choose any room - just stay away
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Eckardt H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2013

We stayed in this hostel our last night in Florence and we'd chosen it due to its proximity to airport, because we had a early flight next morning, (and its actually 5 min walk) Well, the hostel in general is in very poor conditions, the photos from the web does not match the reality, as you will see from the pick I took there, the room was very dark, with old furniture, with dirty walls, the bedlinen definitely was not of the white color, the door to the bathroom didnt close. And actually I would not care at all as Im not very picky and it was our last night in florence, BUT THE SMELL. The smell in the hostel is so strong that you cant think of nothing else. They just have to do something about it. It unbearable!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Koshichka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Hilton Florence Metropole
#153 of 411 in Florence
2,086 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Brunelleschi
Hotel Brunelleschi
#23 of 411 in Florence
2,917 reviews
Hotel David
#1 of 411 in Florence
3,341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
FH Calzaiuoli Hotel
FH Calzaiuoli Hotel
#52 of 411 in Florence
1,466 reviews
San Lorenzo
Plus Florence
Plus Florence
#14 of 333 in Florence
2,602 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Orto De Medici
Hotel Orto De Medici
#39 of 411 in Florence
2,248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garibaldi's Relais? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garibaldi's Relais

Address: Via Pratese 34, 50145, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #270 of 333 Speciality Lodging in Florence
Price Range: ₹ 1,595 - ₹ 9,509 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Garibaldi's Relais 2*
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing